Briscoe Center Guide to Civil Rights and Social Justice Materials

The Briscoe Center's library collection is cataloged as part of the University of Texas at Austin library system, which includes the collections of the primary University of Texas at Austin libraries and several of the affiliate special collections libraries like the Harry Ransom Center and the Benson Latin American Collection. The catalog includes all books, e-books, newspapers, recordings, and scores owned by the UT libraries and can be an important resource in locating research material. 

More information on accessing the University of Texas at Austin library system will be available in the Accessing Our Materials libguide. 

The books listed below represent a small selection of topics in our collections. 

• Bochenek, Michael. Hatred in the Hallways : Violence and Discrimination Against Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Students in U.S. Schools / Human Rights Watch. LC 212.82 H37 2001. 

• Burr, Beverly. History of Student Activism at the University of Texas.  LD 5336 B877 1988. 

• Carpenter, Dale. Flagrant Conduct: The Story of Lawrence v. Texas: How a Bedroom Arrest Decriminalized Gay Americans. KF 224 L39 C37 2012. 

• Hobby, William Pettus. Suffrage Ratification Proclamation. 324.3 T312S. 

• Day, Samuel H. Crossing the Line: From Editor to Activist to Inmate: A Writer’s Journey. U 264 D39 1991 

• Dreyer, Thorne, Alice Embree, and Richard Croxdale. Celebrating The Rag: Austin’s Iconic Underground Newspaper. PN 4888 U5 R323 2016. 

• Espinoza, Dionne and  María Eugenia Cotera. Chicana Movidas: New Narratives of Activism and Feminism in the Movement Era. E 184 M5 C395 2018. 

• Esquibel, Catrióna Rueda. With Her Machete in Her Hand: Reading Chicana Lesbians.  

• Garvy, Helen. Rebels With a Cause: A Collective Memoir of the Hopes, Rebellions, and Repression of the 1960s.  LA 229 G28 2007. 

• Helms, Douglas. He Loved to Carry the Message: The Collected Writing of Douglas Helms, 1979-2010. S 624 N8 H47 2012. 

• *McArthur, Judith N. and Harold L. Smith. Texas Through Women’s Eyes: The Twentieth-Century Experience. TXC-ZZ Collection HQ 1438 T4 M36 2010. 

• *McCrindle, Jean and Sheila Rowbatham. Dutiful Daughters: Women Talk About Their Lives. TXC-ZZ Collection HQ 1595 A3 D87 1977B. 

• *McElhaney, Jacquelyn Masur. Pauline Periwinkle and Progressive Reform in Dallas. TXC-ZZ Collection PN 4874 P435 M34 1998. 

• Mann, Philip A. and Ira Irscoe. Reflections on a Peaceful Demonstration. LA 372 A95 M366. 

• Melosi, Marvin V. Garbage in the Cities: Refuse, Reform, and the Environment, 1880-1980. TXC-ZZ Collection TD 893 M44. 

• Mims, Evelyn Hornsby. Saving Colorful Texas: A Little of “This and That” of Timely Interest Pertaining to Wildflowers, Conservation, and Texas State Parks. 917.64 M656S. 

• Perlman, Judith. Citizen’s Primer for Conservation Activism: How to Fight Development in Your Community. TXC-ZZ Collection GE 195 P47 2004. 

• Shields, F.S. Prison Reform: Its Principals [sic] and Purposes: What It Has Accomplished: The Work Yet to Be Done. Natchez Trace Collection HV 9305 L8 S493 1906. 

• *Sklar, Kathryn Kish. Women and Power in American History: A Reader. HQ 1410 W643 1991. 

• Quesada, Uriel, Letitia Gomez, and Salvador Vidal-Ortiz. Queer Brown Voices: Personal Voices of Latina/o LGBT Activism. HQ 76.8 U5 Q44 2015. 

• *Shaw, Anna Howard. The Story of a Pioneer. TXC-ZZ Collection JK 1899 S6 A3. 

• *Small, Sasha. Women in Action. HD 6079 S62 1935. 

• *Stanton, Elizabeth Cady, Susan B. Anthony, and Matilda Joslyn Gage. History of Woman Suffrage. JK 1896 H57 1889. 

• Texas Legislature Joint Committee on Prison Reform. Final Report of the Joint Committee on Prison Reform of the Texas Legislature.  HV 7293 A6 1974. 

• Tinsley, Omise’eke Natasha. Beyoncé in Formation : Remixing Black Feminism. ML 420 K675 T56 2018. 

• Werden, Frieda. The Lady in Pink. PS 3573 E73 L33 1979. 

• *Winegarten, Ruthe. Black Texas Women: 150 Years of Trial and Triumph. E 185.93 T4 W55 1995. 

• Zipter, Yvonne. Ransacking the Closet. PN 6231 L43 Z57 1995b.