Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Briscoe Center Guide to Civil Rights and Social Justice Materials

Books

Books

The Briscoe Center's library collection is cataloged as part of the University of Texas at Austin library system, which includes the collections of the primary University of Texas at Austin libraries and several of the affiliate special collections libraries like the Harry Ransom Center and the Benson Latin American Collection. The catalog includes all books, e-books, newspapers, recordings, and scores owned by the UT libraries and can be an important resource in locating research material. 

More information on accessing the University of Texas at Austin library system will be available in the Accessing Our Materials libguide. 

The books listed below represent a small selection of topics in our collections. 

  1. Allen, Ruth Alice. The Great Southwest Strike. 331.892 AL54G. 

  1. American Federation of Labor. The Case for Industrial Organization. TXC-ZZ Collection HD 6511 C65. 

  1. Byrkit, James, W. Forging the Copper Collar: Arizona’s Labor Management War of 1901-1921. TXC-ZZ Collection HD 6515 M72 B563. 

  1. Cartter, Allan M. and F. Ray Marshall. Labor Economics: Wages, Employment, and Trade Unionism. HD 4901 C34. 

  1. Coalson, George O. The Development of the Migratory Farm Labor System in Texas, 1900-1954. HD 1527 T4 C6. 

  1. Foner, Philip S. History of the Labor Movement in the United States.  TXC-ZZ Collection TZZ 331.880973 F732H. 

  1. Glasrud, Bruce A. and James C. Maroney. Texas Labor History.  HD 8083 T4 T356 2013. 

  1. Goodenow, George. Rights of Workingmen in Texas. 331.809764 G614R. 

  1. Gordon, Evelyn B. Weaving the Future. TXC-ZZ Collection HD 6515 T4 G67 1937. 

  1. Guild, Curtis. Address of Curtis Guild: The Eight Hour Day for Children Under Sixteen. TXC-Z Collection HD 6250 U3 G794 1913. 

  1. Hutchins, Grace. What Every Working Woman Wants. TXC-ZZ Collection HD 6053 H87 1935. 

  1. Langdon Emma F. The Cripple Creek Strike, 1903-1904. Vandale Collection HD 5325 M8 1903 C6. 

  1. Lichtenstein, Nelson. State of the Union: A Century of American Labor. TXC-ZZ Collection HD 8066 L53 2002. 

  1. Mills, C. Wright. White Collar: The American Middle Classes.  HT 690 U6 M5 1956. 

  1. Montoya, Daneen and Susan Drake. Farm Workers 20th Year Celebration. TXC-ZZ Collection -Q- HD 1485 N346 F37 1982. 

  1. Pecan Workers Union of San Antonio, Local No. 172. San Antonio’s Pecan Shellers Present Their Case. TXC-ZZ Collection -Q- HD 8039 P386 P4 1939. 

  1. Potts, Charles S. The Convict Labor System of Texas. TXC-Z Collection TZ 331.5 P857. 

  1. Sowards, Stacey K. ¡Sí, Ella Puede! : The Rhetorical Legacy of Dolores Huerta and the United Farm Workers. HD 6509 H84 S68 2019. 

  1. Rosales, F. Arturo. Chicano: The History of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement. E 184 M5 R634 1997. 

  1. Reid, Debra A. Seeking Inalienable Rights: Texans and their Quests for Justice. F 395 A1 S44 2009. 

Briscoe Center for American History

Contact

The Briscoe Center Reading Room is open for research 10:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. No appointment is necessary.

For assistance, please contact the Briscoe Center reference department:

(512) 495-4166

cah.reference@austin.utexas.edu

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.