Briscoe Center Guide to Civil Rights and Social Justice Materials

Manuscript collections are collections of paper record, photographic material, physical artifacts, and other items used to document the history of a specific individual, group, or organization. These materials are generally created or gathered by the individuals, groups, or organization. These materials are generally created or gathered by the individuals, groups, or organizations over the course of their life time and can include items such as correspondence, financial and legal documentation, business records, family histories, scrapbooks, and newspaper clippings. The collections listed below are a partial listing of collections.

• Austin Women’s Suffrage Association Records, 1908-1915 (2 items) - contains a constitution, list of charter members, and minutes of meetings of the association. 

• Tony Bell Papers, 1950-1993 (ca. 2 feet) - documents Bell’s artistic and professional life and activities. Specifically, the papers pertain to Bell’s work with models for the Lyndon B. Johnson Library and Museum and for Austin Precision Models, Tony Bell’s Belize Journals (illustrated accounts of his trip to Belize, ca. 1990), and specifications for the Alamo Cannon. 

• Caruthers Gholson Berger Papers, 1967-1977 (6 feet) - consists of legal materials, correspondence, newspaper clippings, newsletters, and research notes reflecting the work of Berger, a trial attorney for the U. S. Dept. of Labor (1961-1979). The collection reflects her volunteer legal work for the cause of women's rights, her participation in women's organizations, and her work for the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment. 

• Bread and Roses School for Socialist Education Archive, 1975-1979 (7 feet, 6 inches) - Materials include newsletters and educational materials from around the world and are arranged with a public education focus. 

• Citizens United for the Rehabilitation of Errants (C.U.R.E.) Records, ca. 1947, 1972-2014 (17 feet) - Correspondence, newsletters, legal material, videotapes, photographs, and printed material comprise the Citizens United for the Rehabilitation of Errants (C.U.R.E.) Records, ca. 1947, 1972-2014, documenting the work of the organization at the international, national, and state levels. 

• Michael Eakin Papers, 1952-1981 (3 feet) - documents the reporting career of Eakin and his interest in energy resources and other topics.  

• Dorothy Emerson Collection, 1977-1991 (12 feet, 1 inch) - consists of materials collected by Dorothy Emerson. The collection includes newsletters, pamphlets, brochures, catalogs, broadsides, and newspaper clippings, which relate to feminist and holistic health oriented groups around Texas and the U.S. The collection also includes Emerson’s classified files concerning Our Lady’s Mission, a feminist spirituality network. 

• Melissa Hield Papers, 1889-1991 (38 feet, 6 inches) - includes college and graduate school notes from 1968 to 1980, notes, letters, reports, newsletters, and topic files relating to the South Central Women's Studies Association (1979-82), the University of Texas Women's Studies Committee (1976-80), National Women's Studies Association, Coalition for Western Women's History (1981-84), Texas Women's History Project (1979-84), Texas Foundation for Women's Resources (ca. 1983), and People's History in Texas, Inc.  

• Barbara Hines Papers, 1972-1974 (1 ¼ inches) - artwork, journals, programs, clippings, videotape, and government records documenting Hines' involvement in feminist and civil rights activities in Texas. Also included is the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s examination of Hines’ activities as a clerk working for the Internal Revenue Service. 

• Bonnie D. Huval Papers, 1977-1992 (ca. 12 feet) - Huval’s classified files pertain to the National Organization forWomen (NOW), the NOW South Central region, and Texas NOW, including national board meetings and other NOW sessions, the 1987 NOW Convention in Philadelphia, NOW elections, and membership. The materials document NOW board activities and include organizational records such as the NOW policy manual, and relate to Huval’s activities with Texas NOW and as the NOW South Central Regional director along with some personal activities. 

• Jack Jackson Papers, 1942-1943, 1958-2004 (ca. 49 feet) - Collection documents the work of Jack Jackson ("Jaxon"), artist, illustrator, author, and historian, and reflects the popular culture of Austin, Texas, and San Francisco, California, during the late 1960s and early 1970s.  

• Frances Jalet-Cruz Papers, 1966-1986 (34 feet) - documents Jalet-Cruz's activities as a Texas attorney and activist for criminal justice and prison reform. The bulk of the material relates to Fred Cruz and his lengthy legal battle with the Texas Department of Corrections over prisoners' rights.  

• Lesbian-Gay Rights Lobby of Texas Records, 1980 - 1990 (12 feet) - Printed material, legislative documents, files, artifacts, correspondence, audio tapes and periodicals document gay and lesbian issues in general and to the political activities of the Lesbian/Gay Rights Lobby of Texas and its work in support of legislation relating to gay and lesbian communities in Texas. 

• Lesbian Issues Collection, 1975-1991 (3 feet) - includes newsletters, magazines, correspondence, clippings, and ephemera pertaining to women’s issues, equal rights, gay and lesbian issues, and socialist movements. Some journals and magazines of note in the collection include Amazon Quarterly, Moonstorm, Lesbian Tide, Black Belt Woman, Socialist Review, and Plexus.  

• Live Oak Fund Records, 1984 - 1987 (5.67 feet) - Correspondence, grant proposals, memorandums, financial records, meeting minutes, clippings, brochures and photographs comprise the Waterloo Counseling Center Records, 1982-1997, documenting the ongoing goals of the center to meet the mental health needs of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered communities of Austin, TX. 

• Jana Pellusch Papers, 1952-1992 (7 feet) - Newspaper clippings, printed material, serials, letters, audio cassettes, quasi-publications, and writings (1952-1992, bulk 1969-1980) collected and created by Jana Pellusch document her membership in the Oil, Chemical, and Atomic Workers Union from 1974-1989; her involvement in political, social, and economic organizations in Kansas and Texas; her campaign for Texas Railroad Commissioner; and her writings for The Militant. 

• People’s History in Texas Records, 1976-2005 (44 feet, 3 inches) - contains a wide range of materials relating to topics such as Texas labor unions, women in Texas history, the 1938 Hot Oil War in East Texas, and the records of the People's History in Texas organization. Much of the collection centers on oral history audio and video projects overseen by organization leaders Melissa Hield and Jim Cullers.  

• Lawrence C. Pope Collection, 1961-1989 (90 feet) - Correspondence, newspaper clippings, legal documents, reports, financial records, and printed materials were gathered by Pope from 1961 to 1989. The materials focus primarily on the Texas Department of Corrections, providing information on most apsects of prison operations and conditions. 

• Sprinkle (G.K) Papers, 1973-1991 (20 inches) - Materials include NOW meeting/conference agendas and minutes, NOW chapter bylaws and policy issues, correspondence, newspaper articles, brochures, publications, budgets, interview transcripts, and speeches. The materials focus on the operation of NOW at the state level, but also include Sprinkle’s activities as Texas NOW President and her research and gathered material on the Equal Rights Amendment, abortion, and women’s political vote in the presidential election of 1984.  

• Ruiz Case Office of Special Master Records, 1976-1993, (222 feet) - comprised of correspondence, pleadings, exhibits, motions, reports, orders, plans, and official publications relating to the work of the Office of the Special Master. The office was created to oversee compliance with and implementation of the rulings of the federal courts in the landmark case of Ruiz et al. v. State of Texas.  

• Steve Russell and Donna Mobley Papers, 1959-1992 (24 feet) - Comprised of correspondence, newspaper clippings, meeting minutes, teaching materials, campaign brochures, printed materials, and notes, the materials document Russell’s career as a lawyer, activist, and trial court judge as well as Mobley’s career as a union organizer and activist. 

• Shalan Foundation Records, 1973-1992 (56 feet, 3 inches) - The collection pertains to both the day-to-day functioning and administration of the Foundation, and to individual projects and grants undertaken by the Foundation. Items of note include materialspertaining to the California Project, 1982-1991, grants for the Pacific News Service, the Women’s Economic Agenda Project, the Seattle Workers Center, and the Environmental Health Coalition. 

• Solar (Susan Lee Campbell) Papers (no finding aid on TARO/Aspace) 

• Texas Human Rights Foundation, 1978-1992 (43 feet) -  includes office files, correspondence, printed material, newspaper clippings, financial records, and audio and video cassettes. These records pertain to human rights and gay rights case law, public policy, human rights events and awards, gay and lesbian issues, AIDS awareness, fundraising, and grants.  

• Texas Lesbian Conference Records, 1987-1992 (3 feet) - contains the organizations founding documents and material related to planning the annual conference. 

• Texas Resource Center Records (no finding aid on TARO) 

• Texas Woman’s Christian Temperance Union Scrapbook, 1922-1941 (1 inch) - Comprised of newspaper clippings that document the activities of the Texas’ chapter of the WCTU and its president Lala Fay Watts, primarily during Prohibition. The clippings discuss the chapter’s annual conventions, elections, meetings, as well as the national organization’s golden jubilee and conventions in Texas.  

• Waterloo Counseling Center Records, 1982-1997 (5 feet, 8 inches) - Correspondence, grant proposals, memorandums, financial records, meeting minutes, clippings, brochures and photographs comprise the Waterloo Counseling Center Records, 1982-1997, documenting the ongoing goals of the center to meet the mental health needs of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered communities of Austin, TX. 

• Frieda Werden Papers, 1968-1985 (ca. 27 feet) -  includes correspondence, literary productions, research notes, articles published by Werden throughout her career, and other printed materials relating to avant-garde arts in Texas, public radio production, the gay community in Austin, Texas and elsewhere, Texans in New York, poets and poetry in Austin and Texas (including Werden’s own compositions), feminist poets, small press publishing in Texas, women and religion (specifically Unitarianism and Judaism), feminist movement, and journals and newsletters about feminism in Texas.  

• Ruthe Winegarten Papers, 1912-2004 (108 feet, 2 inches) - Research files, correspondence, photographs, printed material, posters, books, clippings, speeches and literary works document the educational, social and cultural interests, as well as the life and career of Ruthe Winegarten. 

• Mariann Garner Wizard Papers, [ca. 1940s]-2014 (7 feet, 4 inches) - Composed of correspondence, printed material, creative works, legal documents, diaries, artwork, and photographic materials, the Mariann Garner Wizard Papers, [ca. 1940s]-2014, are divided into two subgroups, the Mariann Wizard Papers and the George Vizard Papers. The first subgroup documents Mariann Wizard's involvement in Austin radical politics, her personal relationships, and her literary endeavors. The second subgroup documents a volatile period at UT, involving student protests for free speech and free assembly (1962-1967). 

• Woman’s Commonwealth Archive, 1760-1993 (5 feet) - documents the history, development, membership, and activities of the Woman’s Commonwealth during its years in Belton, Texas, and Washington, D.C. (ca. 1860s-1920s).