LibGuides: Advertising: Faculty &amp; PhD Resources

Scholarly Communications, Data and GIS

Scholarly Communication Services provides resources and expertise surrounding the scholarly publication cycle – from initial stages of data management planning through the dissemination and archiving of scholarly works.

Consultations available for:

Author Rights
Copyright Assistance
Open Scholarship

SHERPA RoMEO is an online resource that aggregates and analyzes publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis.

Research Data Services supports UT faculty, students, and staff across all disciplines in the management of research data. They work with partners across campus to connect researchers with the appropriate tools, resources, and expertise for dealing with data at every stage, from the earliest planning phase, through dissemination and archiving.

Consultations available for:

Data Management Planning
Data Organization & Curation
Data Sharing & Publishing

GIS and Geospatial Data Services provides UT researchers with support for searching and manipulating geospatial data. From Austin to Texas to the United States to the World, if your research involves geographic data, this is where you should start your research. Consultations are also available.

Funding Resources

Office of Special Projects
The Office of Sponsored Projects (OSP) serves as the coordinating office for externally funded research and sponsored projects at The University of Texas at Austin. The goal of the OSP is to assist faculty and professional research staff in their efforts to secure and ensure proper stewardship of external funding
Office of the Vice President for Research
Great place to get started in a funding search or to gather information on policies and procedures.
OSP - Research Alerts
Alerts, spotlights, and news about research and funding opportunities.

Pivot This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Pivot brings together research opportunities, funding, and people providing access to a comprehensive global source of funding opportunities, researcher expertise, and more.
See the Pivot LibGuide for additional information.

Regional Foundation Library
The RFL is an outstanding resource for the UT community. Their collection includes core sources related to funding, including access to the Foundation Directory Online. An appointment is recommended.
VPR - Finding Funding
Links to resources for finding funding courtesy of the Office of the Vice President for Research. Includes resources for graduate students.
VPR - Policies
Links for university, state, and federal policies.
Texas Grants Resource Center
The TGRC contains core publications from The Foundation Center, the leading source of philanthropy information, as well as other major materials in fund development, grants, and nonprofit management. It provides free access to multiple Foundation Center online funding research tools.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Database of federal programs offering funding.
Department of Education
Agency funding site.
Department of Energy
Agency funding site.
Department of Health and Human Services
Agency funding site.
Environmental Protection Agency
Agency funding site.
FedBizOpps
Database of federal contracting opportunities.
Federal Register
When a new federal funding opportunity is made available, it is first announced here along with deadlines, eligibility requirements and other rules/criteria. Limit your search by date and to the notice section.
Grants.gov
Main search portal for federal funding. Sign up to be alerted when new funding opportunities arise.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Agency funding site.
National Endowment for the Humanities
Agency funding site.
National Endownment for the Arts
Agency funding site.
National Institute of Health
Agency funding site.
National Science Foundation
Agency funding site.

Graduate and Postdoctoral Extramural Support (GRAPES)
Database of graduate and postdoctoral funding opportunities. Managed by the University of California at Los Angeles.
NSF - Specialized Information for Graduate Students
The NSF maintains a list of funding and research opportunities specifically available to graduate students and post docs.
NSF - Specialized Information for Postdoctoral Fellows
The NSF maintains a list of funding and research opportunities specifically available to graduate students and post docs.

Texas.gov
Offers a complete list of state agencies. Scan relevant agencies sites for funding opportunities.
Texas Department of State Health Services Funding Information Center
Offers many resources for those seeking funding, including a funding alerts database, funding alerts newsletter, and grant writing resources.
Texas eGrants
Main portal for locating competitive funding opportunities from the Texas State agencies.
Texas Register
Where new state funding opportunities are first announced and detailed.

990 Finder
Links to foundations 990 tax forms, which you can review to see the type of research projects they often fund.
The Foundation Center
Has a mission to "strengthen the social sector by advancing knowledge about philanthropy." Find help here to get the information you need to succeed in securing funding.
GuideStar
Gathers and disseminates information about IRS registered nonprofit organizations.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
Philanthropy News Digest
Latest news in philanthropy.

Policy Information

IES, NIH, NSF Policies

IES Policy Regarding Public Access to Research: The Institute of Education Sciences is committed to advancing education research through the sharing of publications and scientific data that emanate from funded research. This page provides an overview of expectations for providing public access to publications and data along with links to more detailed information regarding these requirements.

NIH Policy & Compliance:The information provided on this website is designed to assist the extramural community in understanding the compliance obligations of their grant award, and understand the proper use of grant fund.

NSF Policy Office in the Division of Institution and Award Support is responsible for developing, implementing and issuing proposal and award policy for the programs of the National Science Foundation and is available to assist you with questions involving policy related issues.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required