LibGuides: International Relations & Global Studies: News Sources

News Sources

The databases below are useful for finding articles in newspapers and other news sources of interest to International Relations & Global Studies. For additional language or country expertise, see Regional information.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Collection of articles from newspapers worldwide. Use Region or Language limiters to generate non-English language results.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly called LexisNexis. Well-known collection of newspaper and wire articles worldwide.

Tip for non-English language searching:
1. Select Advanced Search;
2. Choose News Tab;
3. Scroll down to Language filter, select as needed;
4. Add keywords / topics in search box & search;
5. To further refine after search, select Sources limiter at left, scroll for specific publication titles.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Up to 60 days archive only. 3 user limit.
30-60 days of current newspapers and magazines from around the world. Options to search by language or country.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic, minority and indigenous press in America (some international coverage), with focus on American experience.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
1995 - 2013. Unlimited users.
Contains materials provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources. Compiled from thousands of worldwide media sources.
Al-Monitor: The Pulse of the Middle East This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A new media site that provides access to newspaper articles from independent media partners throughout the Arab World, including Turkey, Israel, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, and Iraq. Each day, editors translate Arabic, Hebrew, and Turkish reporting and commentary on politics and religion, business and economics, society and culture, and the arts and sports. The service has an international editorial board and also provides original reporting and commentary.
Latin American Newsstand This link opens in a new window
2005 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries with complete articles in ASCII format. Includes papers from Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. Content is in Spanish and Portuguese.
Key newspaper titles include El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nacion (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Economico (Brazil), and Portafolio (Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
A complete title list is available.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1805 - 1922. Unlimited users.
Provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Covers the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region.
LAN represents the first collection of the World Newspaper Archive, a partnership between the Center for Research Librariesa community and Readex, a division of NewsBank, to systematically create an extensive Web-based collection of international newspapers. CRL will guarantee the long-term availability of this news content for the CRL community.

All Newspapers & Newswires from UT Libraries