Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

International Relations & Global Studies

LibGuide for the International Relations & Global Studies program

Track I: Culture, Media & the Arts

Culture, Media & the Arts

The IRG program describes this track as dealing with the understanding of transnational cultural issues through a number of analytical perspectives and themes, such as race, gender, class, language, religion, food, and entertainment/sport. In these courses, the nation is not the central analytical framework for the investigation of cultural questions. Instead, matters of cultural identity are placed within a regional and even global context. These courses investigate both the cultural connections among peoples across national boundaries as well as the tensions that such contact may engender. Courses in this track may be concerned with the effects of modern media—radio, television, film, and the Internet—upon shaping cultural identity, as well as the impact of artistic expression, such as through literature, painting, drama, and music.

Databases and LibGuides

See below for a top-level list of databases. For a full list of databases by topic see:
Communication Studies
Jurnalism and Media

For specific LibGuides by topic see:
Communication Studies
Jurnalism and Media

See below for a top-level list of databases. For a full list of databases by topic see:
Art & Art History
Architecture

For specific LibGuides by topic see:
Art & Art History
Architecture

See below for a top-level list of databases. For a full list of databases by topic see:
English Literature (includes resources in translation)
Comparative Literature

For specific LibGuides by topic see:
English Literature
Comparative Literature

See below for a top-level list of databases. For a full list of databases by topic see:
Music

For specific LibGuides by topic see:
Music

See below for a top-level list of databases. For a full list of databases by topic see:
Radio, Television, and Film
Film & Video

For specific LibGuides by topic see:
Radio, Television, and Film
Film & Video

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.