LibGuides: Comparative Literature: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the library guide for research in Comparative Literature! On this guide you'll find links to relevant library resources, such as databases of scholarly journals, ebook collections, reference tools, and others.

Due to the interdisciplinary nature of Comparative Literature, you may need the expertise of multiple subject liaison librarians. Links to relevant subject guides are provided on the left side menu. If you are unsure where to start your research or who to contact, please reach out Gina Bastone, Humanities Liaison Librarian.

Top Library Research Tools

Ready to dive into your research?
Below are links to the top reference tools, scholarly databases with journal articles, and other library resources. If you'd like to go deeper with your research, use the tabs along the side.

MLA International Bibliography
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Updated quarterly. Covers words from across the English-speaking world and offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and phonetic pronunciation. Corresponds to the print Oxford English Dictionary published in 1989 and the three Additions volumes published 1993-1997.