LibGuides: Comparative Literature: Physical Archives

Finding Archives

Finding archival collections relevant to your research can be tricky! UT has several archives on campus, and Austin is home to additional archives. You might even need to visit archives in other states. Below are some resources for finding archives, and if you have questions, don't hesitate to ask Gina Bastone for help!

On campus

Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)
Use TARO to search archival collections from institutions across the state of Texas. Be sure to note where the archive is located (not all of them are in Austin). Let us know if you have questions about access!
Alexander Architectural Archives
The Alexander Architectural Archives is an architectural research center of national importance situated within UT's Architecture and Planning Library, supporting research and education about the history of the built environment by acquiring and preserving research collections and by making them accessible.
Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library
The LBJ Presidential Library is one of 14 presidential libraries administered by the National Archives and Records Administration. It houses Johnson's papers from his presidency, and papers from his service as a U.S. Congressman, U.S. Senator, and Vice President.
Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection
The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection is one of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latin@ Studies. The Benson's world-class archival collection includes manuscripts, art, maps, letters and other one-of-a-kind materials. The Gloria E. Anzaldúa (co-editor of This Bridge Called My Back) papers are held at the Benson.
Briscoe Center for American History
The Briscoe Center houses a large number of collections on U.S. and Texas history. The center collects, preserves, and makes available documentary and material culture evidence encompassing key themes in Texas and U.S. history.
Harry Ransom Center
The Ransom Center is an internationally renowned humanities research center. The HRC's extensive collections provide unique insight into the creative process of some of our finest writers and artists, deepening the understanding and appreciation of literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts.

In Austin

Austin History Center
The Austin History Center's mission is to procure, preserve, present and provide the historical records that make up Austin's unique story.
Texas State Library & Archives Commission
The Archives and Information Services Division (ARIS) preserves and documents the shared heritage and culture of Texas by identifying, collecting, and making available the official archival records of Texas government.

Beyond Austin

ArchiveGride
ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions such as documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. It also provides contact information for the institutions where these collections are kept.

Preparing to Use Physical Archives

Before you visit an archive, it helps to be prepared so you can make the most of your time. The following resources guide you through what to do ahead of time to get ready for research.

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research
This guide from the Society of American Archivists outlines the functions and procedures of archives, and is designed for first-time archives users.
Tutorial for Archival Research on Women's Human Rights
This tutorial is designed to help you research women's human rights using the archives at UT Austin.

If you have questions about finding archival collections for your research and preparing to use them, contact Gina Bastone, the Humanities Librarian at the PCL.