The Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database indexes over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent, with some full text.
The African Women Bibliographic Database indexes books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations; a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes; and contains over 35,000 citations from 1985 to present.
The Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa Database indexes almost 2000 citations from 1763 onward. The resource also links to African Journals Online (AJOL), African Studies Abstracts Online (ASA), the catalog of the African Studies Centre of Leiden, and the Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA) project.
AJOL provides access to over 200 open access journals from 25 African countries. Tables of contents available for other journals. These journals cover the full range of academic disciplines with strong sections on health, education, agriculture, science and technology, the environment, and arts and culture.
Updated monthly. Includes Series I and Series II, and provides more than 50 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from in a variety of African countries. Covers the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region.AN represents the another collection of the World Newspaper Archive, a partnership between the Center for Research Librariesa community and Readex, a division of NewsBank, to systematically create an extensive Web-based collection of international newspapers. CRL will guarantee the long-term availability of this news content for the CRL community.
Contains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
Updated quarterly. The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a leading specialist bibliography of African Studies. It contains 140,000 entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015, and about 4,000 new entries will be added every year. The bibliography is searchable by authors, editors, titles, publication years, ISSN/ISBN, keywords, full text, and categories such as regions and countries or the African Diaspora
Struggles for Freedom - Southern Africa focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It includes more than 190,000 pages of primary source documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral histories, and speeches.
Updated regularly. Contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Includes citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (before 1992), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Corresponds in part to the print Bibliography of Asian Studies.
Updated daily. China Academic Journals is part of the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI net) and is produced by Qinghua University. The searchable, full text database covers numerous journals from the People's Republic of China, including English language publications. Indexes, bibliographic information, and abstracts are accessible for articles published in the years prior to UT’s subscription dates and for sections (subjects) that UT does not subscribe to.
The library has access to the following sections of the database:
Section F (Literature/History/Philosophy) 1915-current
Section G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law) 1915-current
Section H (Education & Social Sciences) 2009-current
Section J (Economics/Management) pre-1949
The recommended web browsers are Internet Explorer (version 10 or higher), Firefox and Chrome. To view articles in pdf format, Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.x or above and its Simplified Chinese Font Pack must be installed.
Updated regularly. Provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. Several languages dictionaries, reference books, and journals have already been digitized. Search for reference resources, images, maps, statistics, bibliographies and union lists, indexes, books and journals, and other Internet resources.
This project builds upon work funded by the Association of Research Libraries' Global Resources Program with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Participants in the Digital South Asia Library include U.S. universities, the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, the Association for Asian Studies, the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, MOZHI in India, the Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in India, Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya in Nepal, and other institutions in South Asia.
Updated regularly. Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Tōyō Bunko and Shūkan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases. Also includes its sub-series: 日本歴史地名大系 and 国史大辞典.
Includes bibliographies for Buddhism, Hinduism and Islamic Studies.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History is a dynamic online research encyclopedia which provides access to state-of-the-art research and also connects readers to the full range of internet resources for research and teaching, including audio, visual, video materials, digitized archives, and other primary sources. Articles are written by professional historians and independent scholars from around the world and their essays provide a comprehensive overview of each subject and a brief historiography; entries are periodically updated in response to feedback from readers and new developments in the field.
Updated monthly. Provides online access to a select group of newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from a variety of South Asian countries. Covers the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region.AN represents the another collection of the World Newspaper Archive, a partnership between the Center for Research Librariesa community and Readex, a division of NewsBank, to systematically create an extensive Web-based collection of international newspapers. CRL will guarantee the long-term availability of this news content for the CRL community.
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. SAOA addresses needs in all academic disciplines, from the humanities through the sciences. The initial emphasis is on colonial-era materials from South Asia.
The EBSEES (European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) covers European scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
Database updates ended in December 2007. The end date for each country’s contribution varies.
Updated monthly. Covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Updated daily. A new media site that provides access to newspaper articles from independent media partners throughout the Arab World, including Turkey, Israel, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, and Iraq. Each day, editors translate Arabic, Hebrew, and Turkish reporting and commentary on politics and religion, business and economics, society and culture, and the arts and sports. The service has an international editorial board and also provides original reporting and commentary.
Exploring complete runs of Foreign Office files, this collection reveals the UK’s exhaustive interest in the Middle East during the 1970s. Addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia. Commercial interests are also scrutinised, with in-depth analyses of Middle East nations’ economic stability and reviews of international arm sales policies.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
Includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
Updated daily. Offers brief English translations taken from the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. Covers key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces.
To search by country and/or topic, select Archives Search, Advance Search button in the right screen column.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again. And while the screen might request login information at other times as well, our access does not require any additional authentication.
Provides access to full-text searchable news reports from Latin America translated into English between 1974-1996 by the now defunct Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), which gathered open source intelligence for the United States’ Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). FBIS gathered news reports from radio broadcasts, news services, and clandestine broadcasts.
Please note, although the home screen appears to allow searches covering multiple regions of the world, we only have access to reports on Latin America.
Updated annually. A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Provides access to documentaries produced in Latin America, by some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The documentaries cover Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and more. The collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
Provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Covers the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region.LAN represents the first collection of the World Newspaper Archive, a partnership between the Center for Research Librariesa community and Readex, a division of NewsBank, to systematically create an extensive Web-based collection of international newspapers. CRL will guarantee the long-term availability of this news content for the CRL community.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries with complete articles in ASCII format. Includes papers from Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. Content is in Spanish and Portuguese.
Key newspaper titles include El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nacion (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Economico (Brazil), and Portafolio (Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves approximately 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. Questions explore political and social attitudes, as well as demographic and economic characteristics. The survey is conducted by the Latinobarómetro Corporation, a nonprofit NGO based in Santiago, Chile.
Click "Data Bank" to download the annual data files in SPSS (.sav), STATA (.dta), or SAS format, or click "Online Analysis" and then "Begin Analysis" to quickly browse survey data for selected years. The site also contains various documents and publications analyzing the survey results, including an official report for each annual survey found by clicking on "Reports" just under the main toolbar.
Updated regularly. Provides a comprehensive source of documentary and statistical political information on Latin American politics. Useful for students, academics, policy analysts and government officials.
Provides access to a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. The archive includes historical monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, and maps from the archives of the United States and Europe.
Updated regularly. Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and the 1990s, including titles from all 50 states. Search by dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
A gateway into one of the great conversations in history. These newly prepared digital editions of the papers of many of the major figures of the early republic are presented in a fully searchable and interoperable online environment.
The Adams Papers
The Papers of Alexander Hamilton
The Papers of Andrew Jackson
The Selected Papers of John Jay
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson
The Dolley Madison Digital Edition
The Papers of James Madison
The Papers of John Marshall
The Papers of George Washington
The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution
Updated regularly. This collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels and archival and public affairs footage. The full runs of newsreels from United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel from 1929 through 1967 are included. On 14th September 2012, American History in Video was updated. As of this update there are 6,002 videos (including 3,211 documentaries) equaling 1,616 hours in American History in Video.
Updated regularly. Includes every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses. Complements the digital U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. A source of primary material on wide-ranging aspects of early American history.
Provide access to source materials on the development of the American West. Contains a wide range of documents, including original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works. Topics covered include Native Americans, pioneers and homesteaders, mining, the Mormon Exodus, transportation, outlaws, the environment, and border issues.
Updated quarterly (until completed). Contains early accounts of exploration, discovery, travel, environment, peoples, and cultures in North America. Currently contains 1,076 authors and approximately 83,000 pages of material. When complete the product will include more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico.
Updated quarterly (until completed). Provides a view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. When completed, will include more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Currently contains 342 authors and approximately 37,500 pages of information.
Updated regularly. Provides a standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Expands and revises information provided in Historical Statistics of the United States, previously produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census, and includes thirty years of new data and scholarship. Footnotes and explanatory information provide instructional information about the data and sources of the data.
Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting particular areas of interest. Data is downloadable in Excel or CSV; also download entire groups of tables as a zip file.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in xls or pdf format.
Divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns.
Questions about a specific region? See guides below!