LibGuides: International Relations & Global Studies: Track IV: International Political Economy

International Political Economy

The IRG program describes this track as dealing with questions of international trade, investment, and finance, as well as matters concerning the distribution of resources within countries and across the globe. This track encompasses not only the functioning of markets, but also their intersection with politics—that is, the way in which governments direct their economies and interact with multinational corporations and international organizations. Courses investigating the efforts to coordinate and direct regional and global economic affairs fall within this track, along with efforts by state- and non-state actors to foster development around the world. Courses that investigate the legacy of imperialism around the globe are especially critical in setting the context for the struggles of today’s emerging economies. The debate between globalization’s adherents and its discontents is of central importance to this track.

Databases

EconLit
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Includes subject indexing and abstracts to over 620 journals in economics. Also has books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Foundations and Trends in Business and Economics
Unlimited users.
This package includes the following journals: Foundations and Trends® in Accounting; Foundations and Trends® in Econometrics; Foundations and Trends® in Entrepreneurship; >Foundations and Trends® in Finance; Foundations and Trends® in Marketing; Foundations and Trends® in Microeconomics; Foundations and Trends® in Technology, Information and Operations Management; and International Review of Environmental and Resource Economics.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
Levy Economics Institute of Bard College
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The Levy Institute's research and activities serves the wider policy-making community in the United States and the rest of the world by enabling scholars and leaders in business, labor, and government to work together on problems of common interest. To stimulate discussion of economic issues, it disseminates its findings through publications, conferences, workshops, seminars, congressional testimony, and other activities to an international audience of public officials, private sector executives, academics, and the general public.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Unlimited users.
SEE ADDTIONAL INFO SECTION FOR REGISTRATION INFORMATION
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data, containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Available data can be browsed by topic or searched.
In order to download datasets and documentation, UT users must create an account and login using their @utexas.edu or @austin.utexas.edu email account, in order to be recognized as being affiliated with a member institution.
Political Database of the Americas
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides a comprehensive source of documentary and statistical political information on Latin American politics. Useful for students, academics, policy analysts and government officials.
Labordoc
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains references to a wide range of print and electronic publications, including journal articles, from countries around the world, on all aspects of work and sustainable livelihoods, and the work-related aspects of economic and social development and human rights.
ILOSTAT
Unlimited users.
A database on labour statistics operated by the International Labour Organization Bureau of Statistics, a United Nations specialized agency which seeks the promotion of social justice and internationally recognized human and labour rights. Includes statistics of employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labour cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts and economically active population estimates and projections. Dates vary on statistic coverage.
World Bank Publications
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.
The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries.
Business Source Complete
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Introductory Resources

World Development Indicators (WDI) Unlimited users.Updated quarterly. An extensive collection of data about global development. Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can access the data through the dataBank.
International Debt Statistics Unlimited users.Updated annually. Provides a comprehensive view of prospects from the global economy along with the implications for developing countries' external finance. Presents detailed data for 128 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
UN Comtrade Unlimited users.Updated regularly. Allows users to find information on any commodity from any country. Includes larger overviews of imports and exports by country and main categories of commodities, such as food or fuels or machinery.Also includes annual data from more than 130 countries. The data is searchable by commodity and partner country. All values are converted to US dollars and metric units. Coverage varies by country, but dates as far back as 1962 and go up to the most recent year.Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, 2002 version, but the data are available in multiple classifications.
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database Unlimited users.Updated regularly. Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, 2002 version, but the data are available in multiple classifications.