The South Asian Studies collection of the University of Texas Libraries compromises material covering the countries of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan. The majority of the material in our collections was acquired through the P.L. 480 Program, and the South Asia Cooperative Acquisitions Program, both of which administrated by the Library of Congress, but there has also been significant additions through direct purchasing and gifts. We actively collect material in all formats. Our South Asian Collection also participates in cooperative collection development efforts, including the open access digital project through the SAMP Open Archives Initiative.
Our South Asian Languages Collection is numerically the second largest in the nation. It encompasses all South Asian languages although we currently actively collect material in Bengali, Hindi, Malayalam, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. Among some of our most distinctive material are the collections in Malayalam, Sanskrit and Urdu, as well as the emerging collection of Popular and Pulp Fiction. On campus, the Harry Ransom Center houses archival and manuscript material of South Asian authors such as Mulk Raj Anand, Anita Desai, E.M. Forester, Zulfikar Ghose, William Jones, Rudyard Kipling, R.K. Narayan, and Rabindranath Tagore, among others.
The South Asian Collections supports and works most closely with the South Asia Institute and the Department of Asian Studies.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. An online collection of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. Content is presented as full text page images which can be viewed online or downloaded as PDF documents. When complete, more than 33 million pages of material will support full text searching. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.
Unlimited users.
Provides full text access to primary source documents from the British Empire (the Empire encompassed Africa, the Americas, Australia, Oceania, and South Asia). Documents include travel accounts, the literature of Empire, photography and illustration, religious material, and records on issues of race and class in the colonial context.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
Unlimited users.
Provides documents covering the history of South Asia between the founding of the East India Company to the granting of independence to India and Pakistan. Includes original manuscript material, comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.
Access to this resource is funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
Unlimited users.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides online access to a select group of newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from a variety of South Asian countries. Covers the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region.
AN represents the another collection of the World Newspaper Archive, a partnership between the Center for Research Libraries a community and Readex, a division of NewsBank, to systematically create an extensive Web-based collection of international newspapers. CRL will guarantee the long-term availability of this news content for the CRL community.
Access to this resource is funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.
Unlimited users.
The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India.Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
Covers key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear power. And, it provides coverage of sports, the Indian film industry, and other stories of everyday life.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
