LibGuides: GIS &amp; Geospatial Data Services: UT Libraries Databases

Accessing Geospatial Data from UT Libraries Databases

The UT Libraries subscribes to several databases that provide convenient access to a wide variety of geospatial datasets that can be explored within the database provider's online platform or downloaded for use in GIS software.

Data Axle This link opens in a new window
1996 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States. Information includes name of business, address, telephone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, yellow pages headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume. Also includes some federal, state, and municipal offices.
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
1867 - 1970. Unlimited users.
A collection of large-scale, detailed maps from 1867-1970 depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities.
The available states on our site are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.
Access to this resource is funded by the Littlefield Fund for Southern History.
OnTheMap This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
OnTheMap is a web-based mapping and data application that shows where workers are employed and where they live, produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. It also provides companion reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, and sex. To begin, type a place name or Zip Code in the search box. Additional information on the underlying data is available on the Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics web site.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
1790 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:
- Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
- Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
- Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
- Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods
Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.