Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Marine Science

Reference Resources

Selected Resources

Aquaculture Outlook - USDA/ERS
Bycatch Management Information System - open resource; focuses on bycatch mitigation and management
Census of Marine Life
Center for Tropical and Subtropical Aquaculture
CoRIS: Coral Reef Information System (NOAA)
FAO FishFinder Species Identification and Data Programme
Field Guide to Ambergris Caye, Belize
Field Guide to Anemone Fishes and Their Host Sea Anemones
FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes
GulfBase - Resource Database for Gulf of Mexico Research, Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Handbooks - U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
The Harmful Algae Page
Harmful Algal Blooms (Texas Parks and Wildlife)
Howard T. Odum Center for Wetlands
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
International Coral Reef Action Network
International Coral Reef Initiative
International Coral Reef Symposium Proceedings
International Society for Reef Studies
National Marine Mammal Laboratory Image Gallery
National Marine Sanctuaries
NOAA Fisheries, Office of Protected Resources
NOAA Marine Environmental Buoy Database
NOAA National Data Buoy Center
Red Tide in Texas - Texas Parks & Wildlife
ReefBase: A Global Information System for Coral Reefs
Science and the Sea (University of Texas Marine Science Institute)
Sea-Beans & Drift Seeds
Species 2000
Texas Marine Mammal Stranding Network
Underwater Field Guide to Ross Island & McMurdo Sound, Antarctica
Washington State, Dept. of Natural Resources, Aquatic Science

The followng books are held at the Marine Science Library. Search within the library catalog for materials at other locations.

Offering access to articles without requiring user registration or fees.

Bycatch Management Information System - open resource; focuses on bycatch mitigation and management

Bioline International
Not-for-profit electronic publishing service committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.

BioMed Central
Full-text archive of peer-reviewed articles in fields of biology and medicine.

Coastal Bend Bays & Estuaries Program (CBBEP), Publications
Publications library housing studies, reports, publications, management plans and other documents for download.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (compiled by Lund University Library)
Free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Free Medical Journals
Free full-text access to medical journals.

Global Open Access Portal (GOAP)
Presents a snapshot of the status of Open Access (OA) to scientific information around the world.

Highwire Press (Stanford University)
Largest archive of free online full-text articles.

Latin American Journal of Aquatic Mammals (LAJAM)
LAJAM publishes scholarly articles concerning research, management and conservation of aquatic mammals in Latin America.

Open Access Publishing, Scholarly Communication
Alternatives to traditional publishing

PubMed Central
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 

Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
Free full-text Latin American journals.

Memorial Resolutions honor the academic accomplishments, the pedagogy, and the lives of deceased UT Austin Professors. These tributes are sponsored by the Office of the General Faculty and written by committees of faculty members.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.