Alex Marden is part of the Research Data Services (RDS) team within Research Support & Digital Initiatives (RSDI) and started his position as GIS and Geospatial Data Coordinator with UT Libraries in September 2023.
Alex will be supporting all members of the campus community who are engaged in geospatial research and instruction while also helping expand our capacity to share the geospatial data in the UT Libraries' collections.
Please contact Alex if you need assistance and schedule a Zoom meeting to discuss the use of geospatial data in your research or applications of GIS in marine science research. Find all of his GIS related resources in one central location: https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/gis and schedule a time to meet or contact him via email regarding any GIS questions you might you have.
A very comprehensive list of marine science data portals can be found at https://www.marinedatascience.co/data/. The table below highlights some of the portals featured on that list and includes others that may be relevant for those engaged in the study of coastal and marine environments.
| Name | Data Download Site(s) |
|---|---|
| AquaDocs |
Joint open access repository of the UNESCO/IOC IODE and IAMSLIC with support from the FAO Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; thematic repository covering the natural marine, coastal, estuarine / brackish & fresh water environments |
| Catalogue of Life |
A single integrated species checklist and taxonomic hierarchy; holds essential information on the names, relationships and distributions of over 1.8 million species. |
| Encyclopedia of Life |
Database with search funtion; aims to include all species on earth. |
| GBIF - Global Biodiversity Information Facililty |
International network and research infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data all types of life on Earth. Data can be accessed from within R using the package rgbif. |
| NOAA National Hurricane Center and Cental Pacific Hurricane Center | https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gis/ |
| OBIS - Ocean Biodiversity Information System |
Global open-access data and information clearing-house on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development. |
| WHOI Data |
Great collection of regional to global data & repositories based at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. |
| World Ocean Database |
World's largest collection of uniformly formatted, quality controlled, publicly available ocean profile data. |
| WoRMS |
World Register of Marine Species - authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms. |
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.