LibGuides: Social Work Research: Scholarly Articles

Recommended Resources

Databases

PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1895 - present. Unlimited.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
1966 (selected full text from 1993) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

See all social work databases here.

High Impact Social Work Journals

Top 5 social work journals with the highest 5-year impact factor rankings in Journal Citation Reports.

Trauma, Violence & Abuse Devoted to organizing, synthesizing and expanding knowledge on all forms of trauma, violence and abuse. Dedicated to professionals and advanced students in clinical training who work in all forms of trauma, violence and abuse and is intended to compile knowledge that impacts practice, policy and research.
Child Maltreatment Reports the latest scientific information and technical innovations relating to child abuse.
Child Abuse & Neglect Provides an international multidisciplinary forum on all aspects of child abuse and neglect, including sexual abuse, with emphasis on prevention and treatment.
Child Abuse Review Provides a forum for all professionals working in the field of child protection, giving them access to the latest research findings, practice developments, training initiatives and policy issues.
American Journal of Community Psychology Features quantitative and qualitative research on community psychological interventions at the social, neighborhood, organizational, group, and individual levels.
More Social Work Journals

What is a library database?

Your instructor or subject librarian may throw around the term "library database" a lot, but what exactly do they mean? This video from RMIT University in Australia explains the term and how you can use databases for research.

Transcript available through YouTube.

Check UT Libraries Bookmark

Need to check if UT Libraries subscribes to a journal? Add the Check UT Libraries Bookmark to quickly redirect your browser to access from UT Libraries.

Add Tool

Follow your browser's menu options for creating a bookmark on your bookmark bar.
Set the bookmark URL or destination to: javascript:void(location.href="http://ezproxy.lib.utexas.edu/login?url="+location.href)
Set the bookmark name to: Check UT Libraries

Use Tool

When browsing the web and you encounter a paywalled journal article, click on your Check UT Libraries bookmark.
The browser should redirect and allow access if UT Libraries subscribes to the content. If UT Libraries does not subscribe, you will still see a paywall.

Troubleshooting

This bookmark requires specific browser settings to operate as intended. Make sure your browser is configured to:

Allow third-party cookies
Allow pop-ups
Accept javascript

The tool works better on some browsers than others. Some restrictions to note are:

Mac users:
- Chrome will not allow the bookmark to operate if you are running some operating systems (e.g. High Sierra, Mojave)
- Safari works more consistently than Chrome

Other Sources

Campbell Collaboration of Systematic Reviews

Texas ScholarWorks This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Holds digital works and provides related services that constitute an institutional repository for the University of Texas at Austin. Archives and provides persistent and reliable access to the digital works of faculty, staff, and students and aims to provide the greatest possible dissemination and recognition to these works as possible. Digital works include research and scholarship, as well as works that reflect the intellectual and service environment of the campus.

Search for Journals

Journal Search
Search by title or ISBN to see if UT Libraries has access to a particular journal.

Troubleshooting Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources: Troubleshooting
Is an article you're trying to access not loading correctly in your browser? Try some of these troubleshooting tips.