Skip to Main Content
Selected Statistical Resources
- Global Health Observatory Data Repository, from World Health Organization, is "... the WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others."
- FAOSTAT is an on-line, multilingual database currently containing more than 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, and Population.
- United Nations Statistics Division
- WHOSIS (World Health Organization Statistical Information System)
- ICPSR Data Archive The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data.
- AHRQ Data and Surveys (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)
- American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
- 2010 Census Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor)
- Census State Data Centers (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Current Research Information System (CRIS)This USDA Research Database contains the information on ongoing and recently completed projects sponsored or conducted primarily within the USDA and State university research system. The database also includes projects on human nutrition research of the Federal agencies.
- HCUPnet is an online statistical tool created as a part of the Health Care Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), an initiative of the US Department of Health and Human Services Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR). HCUPnet allows users to generate customized statistical reports in order to identify, analyze, and track national data on "hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes."
- Medicaid/Medicare Statistics (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
- MMWR Weekly Reports is a weekly listing of all deaths for 121 selected cities, as well as noticeable diseases for the nation. Includes annual survey.
- National Health Expenditure Data—measures spending for health care in the U.S. by type of service delivered (hospital care, physician services, nursing home care, etc.) and source of funding for those services (private health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, out-of-pocket spending, etc.). Developed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (formerly the Health Care Financing Administration).
- National Center for Health Statistics (Center for Disease Control)
- The National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics
- OSHA Statistics & Data (Occupational Safety and Health Administration)