LibGuides: Nursing: Articles & Data

... Articles & Data

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for biomedical literature with over 37 million citations, has full text articles too. Login to maximize functionality.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for nursing literature and finding current peer-reviewed, full text articles.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
Embase This link opens in a new window
1974 - present. Unlimited users.
Embase provides coverage of the biomedical literature, with over 31 million records from over 8,500 currently published journals, including over 7 million records and more than 3,000 journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Offers extensive coverage of searchable conference abstracts dating back to 2009. It currently indexes over 6,000 conferences covering ~350,000 conference abstracts each year. Embase uses Emtree, the Elsevier Life Science thesaurus: a hierarchically structured, controlled vocabulary for biomedicine and the related life sciences. It includes a range of terms for drugs, diseases, medical devices and essential life science concepts
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Known as gold standard for systematic reviews, can search with MeSH terms, see PICOs for reviews and see results limited to controlled trials.
Updated quarterly. Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Makes up the bulk of PubMed but can be searched on its own. Citations are indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms).
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Brings the leading nursing resources together in one service to help nurses efficiently find answers to clinical questions. Offers a single destination for the clinical nurse, the nurse administrators and the nurse faculty.
It includes:
- Latest Drug Information
- Patient Education
- Professional Journals
- Reference Books
- Current News
- Clinical Practice
- Evidence-based Content
- Care Planning Tools
ClinicalKey for Nursing allows users to "Create an Account". With the Personal Account, you can do things like add contact information or customize patient handouts, access My Folder where bookmarks and searches may be saved, customize News, and receive email alerts and announcements about ClinicalKey for Nursing.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

Industry Documents Library
"A portal to millions of documents created by industries that influence public health, hosted by the UCSF Library and Center for Knowledge Management."

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Click on any Nursing journal below to view it and more in Browzine.

PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Does your topic cover nursing and mental health or other topics in psychology? Try searching this database along with PubMed/MEDLINE and/or CINAHL.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
If your topic covers nursing and aspects of human society or social problems, try this database in addition to CINAHL and/or PubMed/MEDLINE.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Does your topic cover nursing and education? Try searching this database along with PubMed/MEDLINE and/or CINAHL.
The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
If your topic is on an aspect of nursing that also includes an aspect of education, try searching this database along with PubMed/MEDLINE and/or CINAHL.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.

Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
1898 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Does your topic cover nursing and a couple other disciplines? Try searching this database from EBSCO that is truly multi-disciplinary and provides access to full-text articles.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Research topics in nursing can sometimes include aspects of communication with patients or other aspects of health promotion. If this is the case for your topics, see this database along with PubMed/MEDLINE and/or CINAHL.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back 1915. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCA's six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
if your topic covers nursing but also sports medicine, try searching this database along with PubMed/MEDLINE and/or CINAHL.
Updated monthly. Provides citations, many with abstracts, of periodical and monographic literature in the areas of sport, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Includes full text coverage for more than 415 indexed journals. Coverage is international.

ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
2008 - present. Unlimited.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, and was launched in September 2008. Visit the How To Search section for information on using the site.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
1861 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,452,088 theses and dissertations.

Sigma Repository
Shares work from nurses at any stage (student to retired) and from around the world. See research from nurses that is outside of the literature published in commercial journals. Registration/login is not required to view materials and neither is Sigma membership.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

PrePrints: Accelerating Research Tutorial
What are preprints? Are they okay to include in my research? See this short course from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) for answers to these questions and more!
NIH PrePrint Pilot
Information about preprints in PubMed that result from research funded by NIH or have an NIH-affiliated author.
PrePubMed
PrePubMed indexes preprints from arXiv q-bio, PeerJ Preprints, bioRxiv, F1000Research, preprints.org, The Winnower, Nature Precedings, and Wellcome Open Research. Articles are not stored on PrePubMed, but you will be linked to the article at the respective site.
medRxiv
PrePrint server for health sciences. Pronounced "med-archive". Founders are Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Yale University and BMJ.
PrePrints
Covers all research disciplines. Makes early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. Posts original research articles and comprehensive reviews.

UC San Francisco Library | Find Research Data

PubMed library guide and Resources

PubMed
by Lynn Bostwick Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 7924 views this year

See the library's guide to PubMed for help with searching, managing search results, exporting citations to EndNote and more!

Tailoring Your PubMed Search Experience
Helpful tutorial on searching PubMed
MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC - How are they different?
Really helpful information on the difference between searching MEDLINE and searching PubMed.