Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A collection of over 80 leading medical textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, patient education materials, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests and an integrated drug database. AccessMedicine also features self-assessment tools, Lange Case Files series, and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review. Featured textbooks include: Harrison’s Online, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Brings the leading nursing resources together in one service to help nurses efficiently find answers to clinical questions. Offers a single destination for the clinical nurse, the nurse administrators and the nurse faculty.
DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Unlimited users.
A complete and in-depth book collection, MEDICINEnetBASE offers authoritative and practical references on topics ranging from cardiology and clinical neuroscience to dermatology and gastroenterology. The resources cover the science behind the latest development and their practical application as well as future trends in treatment and diagnosis.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
1 user.
Provides medical books and reference works, with a large collection in the field of oncology.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
25 users.
Updated regularly. Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbook and includes Board Vitals. Stat!Ref is now part of TDS Health.
Unlimited users.
Selected titles. Includes former CRC titles. Allows downloading of the entire book or reading online. By checking the "Full Access Content Only" box during your search, you can identify titles owned by the Libraries relevant to the search. Some titles may have DRM restrictions.
Use the Login link at the top right and then choose the Shibboleth option and find the UT Austin option and login
If you are getting a page not found error when trying to download then please clear your browser cookies and cache or try using private browsing/incognito.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Systematic Reviews in Health Research
by
Systematic Reviews in Health Research Explore the cutting-edge of systematic reviews in healthcare In this Third Edition of the classic Systematic Reviews textbook, now titled Systematic Reviews in Health Research, a team of distinguished researchers deliver a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the rapidly evolving area of systematic reviews and meta-analysis. The book demonstrates why systematic reviews--when conducted properly--provide the highest quality evidence on clinical and public health interventions and shows how they contribute to inference in many other contexts. The new edition reflects the broad role of systematic reviews, including: Twelve new chapters, covering additional study designs, methods and software, for example, on genetic association studies, prediction models, prevalence studies, network and dose-response meta-analysis Thorough update of 15 chapters focusing on systematic reviews of interventions Access to a companion website offering supplementary materials and practical exercises (www.systematic-reviews3.org) A key text for health researchers, Systematic Reviews in Health Research is also an indispensable resource for practitioners, students, and instructors in the health sciences needing to understand research synthesis.
Piecing Together Systematic Reviews and Other Evidence Syntheses
by
Systematic reviews and other evidence syntheses have a vital role in summarizing the literature, exploring gaps in research, prioritizing new research, and providing literature to support decision-making and evidence-based practices. Librarians adapt their practices as members of the higher education and research community. If they consult and teach with researchers, faculty, and students, review methods will likely be a part of their work. Piecing Together Systematic Reviews and Other Evidence Syntheses: A Guide for Librarians aims to be the definitive text on systematic reviews for librarians, information professionals, and expert searchers. Starting with an introduction to evidence syntheses, the book follows the acronym PIECCESS, a framework for the 8 phases which flow through 8 processes. The 8 phases are (1) Proposal of scope; (2) Protocol registration; (3) Preliminary findings; (4) Paper completion; (5) Preserve project; (6) Promote to stakeholders; (7) Impact compilation; (8) Updating the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. r the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses.
A Step-by-Step Guide to Conducting an Integrative Review
by
This book provides guidance to readers for how to conduct an integrative review. Over the decades, with the expansion of evidence-based practice (EBP), the evolution of methods used in reviews has resulted in a wide spectrum of review types. Due to the overlapping characteristics of the various review methods, confusion exists related to terminology, descriptions and methods of each type. To fill this gap, this book examines components necessary to conduct a rigorous integrative review from formulating questions through dissemination of the results of the review. Each chapter focuses on one component or step in this process and is written in a straightforward and readable manner. An integrative review is considered by many as an actual research study, hence it should be approached following established research methods involving well‐defined steps. The integrative review is often compared with the systematic review. Both are used in healthcare research and follow a systematic process in reviewing literature and developing recommendations, but there are important differences that are addressed in the book. Evidence-based practice (EBP) demands high quality, rigorous evidence for nurse clinicians to make informed decisions with and for their patients. In nursing education, the integrative review is a frequent capstone project for graduate students and forms the basis for many doctoral projects. The Integrative review process should be valid, reliable and transparent and this book provides clear guidelines for writing an integrative review for students, educators, clinicians, and researchers. This book is a useful addition to courses for both undergraduate and graduate level writers of integrative reviews. In academia, a likely adoption would be in graduate research and research methods courses, and baccalaureate honor courses.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.