The Everything and Articles & More scopes search a large, shared index of bibliographic records (called the Central Discovery Index*) that covers many types of electronic publications, including:
The index does NOT cover print-only resources. Electronic newspaper articles will be found if you use the Newspaper Search (see below). Since this database contains many millions of bibliographic records, almost any search will retrieve a large number of results. To refine and focus your results you will need to use the Facets menu to the left to select specific resource types, date ranges, or subject headings. You can also add more keyword terms to your search to make it more specific.
All documents found in this search should be available to you electronically via the Libraries, either through our subscriptions and licenses, or as Open Access. If you want to broaden your results to include documents that are not available directly to you, click the "include results beyond UT" box at the bottom of the Facets menu.
* The Central Discovery Index (CDI) is a product of the system vendor Ex Libris, and is not created or managed by UT Libraries.
If you have a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for an article, you can search it directly in both the Everything and Articles & More scopes. If the article is indexed in the database and is available to us, it should come right up.
Newspaper articles are not always automatically included in your results when you search in Everything or Articles & More. To see newspaper articles, open the Resource Type facet menu from your results display, and click on Newspapers search at the bottom of the list. There's also a link at the bottom of the results browse list. This takes you into Newspapers search mode and will show only newspaper articles.
You may notice that some prominent newspapers are missing from your results. This is because they aren't included in the index's newspaper coverage, or we do not have subscription access to them. There is not a way to limit your results to a specific newspaper.
When searching Everything or the Articles & More scopes using either the "contains exact phrase" operator or when phrases are enclosed in quotes (ie, "life of the raccoon") cross-searching will no longer apply for these variations:
Stemming or Lemmatization – such as book vs. books and chanter vs. chante
Spelling Normalization – such as theater (American spelling) vs. theatre (British spelling)
Character Normalization (including handling of diacritics) – such as fiancé vs. fiance and 横浜 vs. 横濱
Compound Words – such as healthcare vs. health care
Synonyms – such as ordenador vs. computadora
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.