Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

History

American Studies

American Studies

American Studies focuses on the cultural, social, and intellectual aspects of the United States of America. The majority of these collection materials can be located on campus, including the Briscoe Center for American Studies, Lyndon Baine Johnson Library, the UT-Libraries, and more. The collections focus on American events, including LGBTQ thoughts and cultures, American social and religious thought, cultural geography, political theory, documentary film, women’s and gender studies, American literature, public memory, psychology, history of childhood, beauty culture and consumerism, food studies, photography, technology, design, law, tourism, material culture, animal studies, alcohol and drugs, popular culture, history of education, American radicalism, social movements, transnationalism, and race and ethnicity, and more. 

U.S. Legislative & Executive Publications

Full text of the following publications are included in our subscription to ProQuest Congressional:

Congressional Hearings (1824 through 2016)

Published hearings are the official record of committee hearings proceedings. Hearings, which are usually open to the public, are held to enable committees to gather opinions and information to help Members make decisions regarding proposed legislation or to help them fulfill their oversight and investigation responsibilities.

Congressional Bills (1789 through 2016)

All versions of all Bills and Resolutions.

Congressional Committee Prints (1830 to present) 

Congressional committee prints are publications issued by congressional committees on topics related to their legislative or research activities. The subjects of the committee prints vary greatly, due to the different concerns and actions of each individual committee.

Congressional Record (1789 to 1997)

Includes the Congressional Record and its three predecessors: the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). These publications serve as the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. A complete run of the Congressional Record is in:

Congressional Reports and Documents (Serial Set) (full text 1789 to 1969, indexing to present)

Our access to ProQuest Congressional includes full text of the Serial Set (House and Senate Reports and Documents) through 1969. Serial Set documents for 1817-1980 are available in the separate Serial Set database.  

Serial Set documents for 1980-1995 are in print format in PCL, 5th floor, section K and those for 1995-present are available on the Federal Digital System site from the Government Printing Office.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916 to present)

Includes reports of the CRS (1970 to present) and the earlier Legislative Reference Division or LRS (1916-1969). The CRS is the public policy research arm of the United States Congress. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS works exclusively and directly for Members of Congress, their Committees and staff on a confidential, nonpartisan basis.

Unpublished Hearings (1824 to latest available)

Senate unpublished hearings can be released after 20 years and House unpublished hearings can be released after 30 years, but all hearings can be held 50 years or more for national security or privacy reasons.

18th and 19th Century Imprints and Periodicals

Loading ...

Recommended Resources

Loading ...

Primary Sources on Campus

 

The American Story: Read it, hear it, touch it, live it.

The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History is a history research center with few peers. Our archival, artifact, and library collections contain historical treasures documenting key themes in Texas and U.S. history. These treasures echo with stories of the people, places, events, and ideas that have shaped our nation's history.

Witness The Garden, an intricately stitched and inspired 1938 quilt by the legendary Pine Eisfeller. Lt. Col. Jose Enrique de la Pena's chilling and controversial account of David Crockett's execution at the Alamo. The weathered prison diary of Stephen F. Austin. The papers of distinguished news journalist Walter Cronkite. Unpublished 1935 recordings of the inimitable blues singer, Huddie "Leadbelly" Ledbetter. And the riveting personal papers of civil rights activist James Farmer, whose "Freedom Rides" played a key role in the civil rights movement.

Our mission is to bring history to life. We preserve and make available resources that exist at no other research center—enhanced by the expertise of archivists and historians who are knowledgeable, passionate, and eager to assist anyone who wishes to research our collections.

The Briscoe Center is a passageway to the past, where history lives for researchers, students, scholars, and lifelong learners.

Research

Jump to: How to Research at the LBJ Library | Archival Collections, Finding Aids, and Guides | Online Collections | Did you know? | More Online Resources | Contact

The LBJ Presidential Library is one of 14 presidential libraries administered by the National Archives and Records Administration.

When the LBJ Presidential Library was dedicated in May 1971, President Johnson proclaimed to the assembled crowd, "It's all here, the story of our time—with the bark off. There is no record of a mistake, or an unpleasantness or a criticism, that is not included in the files here."

Today, the library houses more than 45 million pages; an extensive audiovisual collection, including more than 650,000 photos and 5,000 hours of recordings; and, approximately 2,000 oral history interviews. The papers of Lyndon B. Johnson, which form the core of the library's holdings, include the White House files of his presidency (1963-1969), and papers from his service as a U.S. Congressman (1937-1949), U.S. Senator (1949-1961), and Vice President (1961-1963).

Keeping in the spirit of the words spoken by President Johnson at the library's dedication, our processed collections–textual and audiovisual—are available for in-person research at the library. A portion of those collections have been digitized (see Online Collections below).

More Government Information at UT

Internet Sources

Loading ...

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.