A free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Formerly named Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA).
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
The Building Technology Heritage Library (BTHL) is primarily a collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides. Trade catalogs are an important primary source to document past design and construction practices. These materials can aid in the preservation and conservation of older structures as well as other research goals.
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
1934 (with selective coverage back to 1741) - current. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
Provides photographs, drawings and technical product information from thousands of builds featured in the journal DETAIL as well as its supplements Structure, Detail Green, and Detail Inside. Each project is accompanied by DETAIL project documents, which can be downloaded as PDFs. Search filters include building type, material, construction and location, year of construction and more. Note: The UT Libraries have access to Detail Inspiration only. Other pages from the site could be unavailable.
Some files updated annually. DYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology.
To access the database, check the box marked "IP".
There is no way to limit results to English language.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.
Engineering Workbench includes the International Code Council (ICC) building codes, which promote safety and fire prevention. These codes are used throughout the U.S. to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools.
The ICC was founded in 1994 by the Building Officials and Code Administrators International, Inc. (BOCA), International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO), and Southern Building Code Congress International, Inc. (SBCCI).
Fifty states and the District of Columbia have adopted the I-Codes at the state or jurisdictional level.
Indexes scholarly literature on Western art and is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
The database will grow by 18,000 records per year, ensuring unbroken coverage of journals that were indexed in BHA and IBA prior to 2010. The initial data set created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-2009 covers scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years, and in some cases the new ProQuest indexing will also cover retrospective years in order to fill gaps in coverage.
Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
Updated quarterly. Provides a current bibliography for over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) used for research and teaching on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
To access the database, choose the "Enter databases" button and then the "GO" button.
Updated daily. A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts that exist in digital form. Includes texts, audio, moving images, software, and archived web pages. Internet Archive's Wayback Machine has archived over 150 billion web pages from 1996 to the current year.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Updated regularly. Engineering Workbench provides electronic full-text access of current NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) standards. The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards that are intended to minimize the risk and effects of fire.
NFPA standards and codes establish criteria for building, processing, design, service and installation in the United States, as well as many other countries. More than 200 volunteer committees create the codes and standards, which are accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
Updated daily. Provides an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals as well as a catalogue of the books and audio visual materials held in the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Library, including the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, and the RIBA Library Drawings Collection. Also includes a biographical database of architects. It covers a wide spectrum of subjects, ranging from prehistory to the present, which are international in scope. In addition to architectural theory, practice and history there is material on allied subjects such as building and construction, civil engineering, structural engineering, landscape architecture, interior design and decoration, the decorative arts, town and country planning, and construction law.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.
Books: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These books are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
The "world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines, with over 3 million downloadable pages - all free to access."
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Journals
Remember not all relevant material is accessible online! If you are looking for journal articles and the full-text is not available, you can request a scan of an article.
Listed below are some journals you might want to look at:
The "world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines, with over 4 million downloadable pages - all free to access."
The Modernist Journals Project is a multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published. With magazines at its core, the MJP also offers a range of genres that extends to the digital publication of books directly connected to modernist periodicals and other supporting materials for periodical study.
