Looking for technical or practical information regarding documenting or caring for historic structures? Try some of these resources!
Resources can be found in the Library Catalog under the subject - Building, Repair, and Reconstruction or Historic buildings -- Conservation and restoration. For specific features use the more specific terms such as ceilings, windows, or wallpaper.
Below are some examples from the library which may be useful for documentation and conservation:
Practical building conservation: conservation basics by
Conservation Basics examines the evolving theories and principles that underpin building conservation in England in the 21st century, and looks at their application in practice. The process of conservation planning for the maintenance and repair of historic buildings and places is described in detail, and is illustrated through case studies. Topics include understanding and assessment, surveys and recording, ecological considerations, planning and managing maintenance and repair programs, risk management, specifying works, and contract procurement.
Conservation of Historic Buildings by
Since its publication in 1982, Sir Bernard Feilden's Conservation of Historic Buildings has become a standard text for architects and others involved in the conservation of historic structures. This third edition revises and updates the book, including added sections on conservation of Modern Movement buildings and non-destructive investigation. The result of the lifetime's experience of one of the world's leading architectural conservators, the book comprehensively surveys the fundamental principles of conservation in their application to historic buildings, and provides the basic information needed by architects, engineers and surveyors for the solution of problems of architectural conservation in almost every climatic region of the world.
Gardens and Landscapes in Historic Building Conservation by
This comprehensive guide on historic garden and landscape conservation will help landscape professionals familiarise themselves with what the conservation of historic gardens, garden structures and designed landscapes encompasses. The aim of the series is to introduce each aspect of conservation and to provide concise, basic and up-to-date knowledge within five volumes, sufficient for the professional to appreciate the subject better and to know where to seek further help. Gardens & Landscapes in Historic Building Conservation is an essential guide for everyone with an interest in the conservation of historic gardens and designed landscapes worldwide. The latest assessment of the origins, scope and impact of gardens and designed landscapes is vital reading. Covering history and theory, survey and assessment, conservation and management and the legislative framework the book considers all aspects of garden and landscape conservation and related issues. It explores the challenge of conserving these important sites and surviving physical remains and a conservation movement which must understand, protect and interpret those remains. This book demonstrates how the discipline of the history and conservation of gardens and landscapes has matured in recent decades, recognising the increased participation of professional contract and curatorial managers in the management of these sites and in conserving and interpreting landscapes. Drawing on a wide range of sources, combining academic and professional perspectives, the book provides information and advice relevant to all involved in trying to preserve one of England's greatest cultural contributions and legacy for future generations to enjoy. With chapters by all the leading players in the field and illustrated by copious examples this gives essential guidance to the management and conservation of historic gardens and designed landscapes.
Practical building conservation. Engilish Heritage. Glass and Glazing by
Glass and Glazinglooks at the conservation of one of the most important building materials, and its use in windows, roofing and walling. It considers the technological evolution of glass and glazing systems, the processes causing deterioration, and the practical application and long-term implications of common conservation materials and methods, as well as of alterations to improve performance.
Heritage Gardens by
Heritage gardens create huge management headaches. How does one preserve a garden designed for the enjoyment of the few when the advent of the many grinds it away to nothing? The answer, as presented in Heritage Gardens, is a subterfuge: preserve the illusion of the created environment as originally conceived, but adjust it using more durable materials: plants and designs which require less cultivation. Of all the problems facing the heritage industry today, the management of gardens and landscape environment create some of the greatest difficulties. This book provides some of the answers.
Practical building conservation: Metals by
Metals deals with the conservation of a group of materials that have been used in buildings for everything from structural components and fixings to weatherproofing, repairs, and decoration. It covers both the iron-based and the non-ferrous metals (such as copper, bronze and lead), in each case considering technological evolution, deterioration processes, and the practical application and long-term implications of the common conservation materials and methods.
Practical building conservation: Mortars, Renders and Plasters by
Mortars, Renders and Plastersprovides a broad perspective of contemporary conservation theory and practice not otherwise found in one publication, describing the history, physical properties, and deterioration of these important materials. Methods of assessing condition and evaluating options for treatment and repair are discussed, together with a range of practical conservation techniques and maintenance strategies.
Practical Building Conservation: Timber by
Timber deals with wide-ranging use of the material in historic buildings, from vast structural timber-frames through to high-class joinery and simple fixings. Particular attention is paid to how and why timber decays or faults occur, and the methods of assessing and dealing with this. The bulk of the book covers appropriate methods of repair and maintenance.
Practical Building Conservation: Concrete by
A great deal of research and literature has been produced on repairing concrete structures but very little aimed at conserving the character or appearance of historic examples. This volume offers guidance as to how that should be done. It includes a brief history of the use of the material and explains the criteria for listing before assessing decay mechanisms and determining appropriate repair strategies. A bibliography and case studies are also included.
Reconnecting the City by
Historic Urban Landscape is a new approach to urban heritage management, promoted by UNESCO, and currently one of the most debated issues in the international preservation community. However, few conservation practitioners have a clear understanding of what it entails, and more importantly, what it can achieve. Examples drawn from urban heritage sites worldwide - from Timbuktu to Liverpool Richly illustrated with colour photographs Addresses key issues and best practice for urban conservation
Recording Historic Structures by
This new edition of the definitive guide to recording America's built environment provides a detailed reference to the re-cording methods and techniques that are fundamental tools for examining any existing structure. Edited by the Deputy Chief of the Historic American Building Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, this revised edition includes in-formation on recent technological advances such as laser scanning, new case studies, and expanded material on the docu-mentation of historic landscapes.
Structural Aspects of Building Conservation by
This practical guide to the assessment and repair of historic buildings is invaluable for structural engineers, architects, surveyors and builders working in all aspects of building conservation. Taking a practical step-by-step approach, the authors discuss the appraisal of buildings and the differences in structural behaviour between new and existing structures. Each stage in the appraisal is explained, using examples from the authors' own work. Each major construction material is assessed in detail, with separate sections on masonry, concrete, timber and the particularly complex issues of iron and steel framed buildings. Techniques for testing the ability of a building to continue its existing use or to be converted to a new use are explained.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.