LibGuides: Chemistry: Analytical Chemistry

CRC handbook of organic analytical reagents.
Publication Date: 2nd ed., 1992
Information on preparation, properties, and analytical applications of organic reagents.
Dean's analytical chemistry handbook.
Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2004
Also available in print.
Ewing's analytical instrumentation handbook.
Publication Date: 4th ed., 2019
Guide to analytical methods and techniques and the instruments involved, including mass measurement, spectrochemical and electrochemical instrumentation, and chromatographic methods.
Handbook of acid-base indicators.
Publication Date: 2008
Information on over 200 water- and solvent-based indicators, arranged alphabetically. Data include structure, names, registry number, pH range, color change, pKa, solubility, UV λ-max, applications, and references.
Handbook of basic tables for chemical analysis.
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2011
Tables of data for instrumental techniques, including GC, HPLC, TLC, spectrophotometry, and spectroscopy.
Handbook of tables for organic compound identification. (Rappoport)
Publication Date: 1967
Tables of melting and boiling points of organic derivatives, organized by functional group, then by solid or liquid, then by increasing melting point. Name index. Known by its editor, Rappoport.
Handbook of water analysis.
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2014
Analytical techniques for all types of water: surface fresh water, seawater, and groundwater.
Reagent chemicals.
Publication Date: 11th ed., 2015
American Chemical Society standards on reagent purity and testing.
Sigma-Aldrich handbook of stains, dyes, and indicators.
Publication Date: 1990
525 compounds listed by name; entries include description and use, grade, CAS registry number, Colour Index number, formula, mol. wt., mp, bp, appearance, solubilities, preparation, synonyms, spectra, structure, and references. Indexed by name, registry number, CI number, and λ-max.

Compendium of analytical nomenclature.
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 1998
IUPAC's "Orange Book," defining the terminology of analytical chemistry. Also available in print.
Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry.
Publication Date: 2000
Extensive compilation of articles on all types of chemical analysis and instrumentation for all types of analytes and matrices. Divided into 5 volumes on Theory and Instrumentation, and 10 volumes on applications. Index in v.15.
Encyclopedia of analytical science.
Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2005; 3rd ed. 2019
Reference work covering all facets of analytical science in three broad areas: techniques (e.g. mass spectrometry, chromatography, etc.), areas of application (e.g. forensic, environmental, clinical); and analytes. Index in volume 10.
Encyclopedia of industrial chemical analysis.
Publication Date: 1966-74
Vols. 1-3 are devoted to general techniques common to many industrial products; vols. 4-19 cover analysis of specific materials. Vol. 20 is the index to vols. 4-19. Dated, but still useful for wet methods.
Encyclopedia of separation science.
Publication Date: 2000
Articles on the processes of any scale by which the components of a mixture are separated without substantial chemical modification. Covers areas such as affinity, centrifugation, chromatography, crystallization, distillation, electrophoresis, extraction, flotation, ion exchange, mass spectrometry, membranes and particle size. Index in volume 10.

The term "standard methods" usually refers to procedures that are developed and published by organizations or government agencies to ensure consistent analysis, assay, and testing of specific types of materials. This is particularly important for regulatory and legal issues related to food and drug products and environmental pollutants.

Approved methods of the American Association of Cereal Chemists
Publication Date: 8th ed., 1983
Methods approved by the AACC for testing grain and cereal products. The current online edition is available only to subscribers but provides free summaries and searching.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Electronic full-text of products from the ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) and from associated organizations. Includes:
- ASTM standards. Electronic full-text of current and historical ASTM standards. ASTM standards include test methods, specifications, accepted practice, and accepted terminology for materials, products, systems and services.
- ASTM symposia papers; also collected into STP (Selected Technical Papers) volumes.
- ASTM manuals collecting specialized information on technical topics
- ASTM journal content if in UT-Austin’s subscriptions
- API (American Petroleum Institute) current standards, including Manuals, Bulletins, Specifications, Technical Reports, Recommended Practices, Standards, Research Studies, Discussion Papers, and other API technical materials
.

NOTE: ASTM Compass should work on all updated browsers, but Firefox and Safari seem to work best for off campus users

Official methods of analysis of AOAC International.
Publication Date: 20th ed., 2016
Compilation of analytical methods approved and adopted by the Association of Official Analytical Chemists. Covers agricultural materials, foodstuffs, food and beverage products, drugs, cosmetics, etc.
Official methods and recommended practices of the AOCS.
Publication Date: 6th ed., 2012
The American Oil Chemists' Society compilation of methods for sampling and analysis of commercial oils, soaps, oilseeds, and related products. Free searching of the current edition can help identify method numbers to look up in print.
Food chemicals codex.
Publication Date: 6th ed., 2008
Purity requirements and assay tests for over 1,000 chemicals used in food products in the U.S. Prepared by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP).

NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods
NMAM is a collection of methods for sampling and analysis of contaminants in workplace air, surfaces, and in the blood and urine of workers who are occupationally exposed. These methods have been developed or adapted by NIOSH or its partners and have been evaluated according to established experimental protocols and performance criteria. NMAM also includes chapters on quality assurance, sampling, portable instrumentation, etc.
OECD Guidelines for the Testing of Chemicals
Standard methods for assessing the potential effects of chemicals on human health and the environment. Search for "guidelines testing chemicals" to pull up the various parts. (OECD iLibrary)

Official and standardized methods of analysis.
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 1994
Royal Society of Chemistry's (UK) accepted methods of determination for many industrial products, wastes, agricultural materials, and drugs.
Standard methods for the analysis of oils, fats and derivatives.
Publication Date: 7th ed., 1987
IUPAC-approved determination methods for oleaginous seeds and fruits, oils and fats, glycerines, and alkaline soaps.
Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater.
Compendium prepared by the American Public Health Association, the American Water Works Association, and the Water Pollution Control Association, of approved regulatory methods for determining physical properties, metals, inorganic non-metallics, organics, radioactivity, toxicity, and biological constituents in water. New editions appear about every 5 years.
Standard methods of chemical analysis.
Publication Date: 6th ed., 1962-66
Vol. 1 contains methods of determination for the elements; vol. 2 covers industrial and natural products and non-instrumental methods; vol. 3 covers instrumental methods. Each volume has its own index. Dated but useful for wet-lab methods.

United States Pharmacopeia and the National Formulary (USP-NF) This link opens in a new window
Official standards for drugs marketed in the U.S. Each monograph includes the name of the ingredient or preparation; the definition; packaging, storage, and labeling requirements; and the specification. The specification consists of a series of tests, procedures for the tests, and acceptance criteria. These tests and procedures require the use of official USP Reference Standards. Medicinal ingredients and products will have the stipulated strength, quality, and purity if they conform to the requirements of the monograph. Tests and procedures referred to in multiple monographs are described in detail in the USP-NF general chapters.
Requires user to create a free account
Contains pharmacopeial standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. It is a combination of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) with monographs for drug substances & preparations and the National Formulary (NF) with monographs for excipients. Dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP.

EPA logo Finding specific reports, regulations, and methods originating in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency can be very challenging. EPA methods may be "published" as printed or microfiche government documents; some may be republished commercially in book form. Some are available only for sale from the NTIS. The EPA has scanned many older documents and made them freely available on the Web, but they can be hard to locate, even with EPA's own search engine. Multiple and conflicting systems of report numbering may be used at any given time. Revisions and supplements are common. A method number (e.g. 200.7) sometimes isn't very useful by itself. An EPA document number (e.g. 600/4-91-010), a title, and a date are better starting points. If you have a method title, be sure to search the library catalog to see if the library has a copy in print or microfiche. Consult a librarian for further assistance.

National Environmental Methods Index
NEMI is a searchable database that allows scientists and managers to find and compare analytical and field methods for all phases of environmental monitoring. A joint effort of the EPA, USGS, and NWQMC.
EPA Methods
EPA offices and laboratories, and outside organizations, have developed approved methods for measuring the concentration of a substance or pollutant.

Guide to environmental analytical methods.
Publication Date: 5th ed., 2003
Tabular comparison guide to the complex array of U.S. EPA methods, including CLP SOW (inorganics and organics); 200 Series (water and wastes); 500 Series (organics in drinking water); 600 Series 40 CFR Pt.136; SW-846 (solid waste) and Water Environment Federation Standard Methods.

Chromatographic retention indices.
Publication Date: 1992
Text and tables of retention indices for the identification of organic compounds.
Dictionary of chromatography.
Publication Date: 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of chromatography.
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2010
Articles on chromatographic techniques and applications for biotechnology, pharmacy, polymers, food additives and nutrients, pathology, toxicology, fuels, pollutants, nuclear chemistry, etc.
HPLC methods for pharmaceutical analysis.
Publication Date: 1997
Abstracted and evaluated procedures for analysis of medical and veterinary drugs, arranged alphabetically.

For sources of printed and online spectra, see this Guide:

Spectra and Spectral Data
by David Flaxbart Last Updated Jul 30, 2024 18203 views this year

Textbooks on analytical methods and theory can be found at the Reserves Desk in the PMA Library. Popular titles with recent editions include:

Harris, Quantitative Chemical Analysis.
Skoog, Holler, Crouch. Principles of Instrumental Analysis.
Skoog, West, Holler, Crouch. Fundamentals of Analytical Chemistry.

Browsing the chemistry collection (PCL 6AA) under the following classifications can also be useful:

QD 71-78: General analytical chemistry and textbooks
QD 79: Specific methods including chromatography
QD 81-87: Qualitative analysis
QD 95-96: Spectrum analysis/Spectroscopy
QD 101-117: Quantitative analysis including electrochemical analysis
QD 130-142: Technical analysis (metals, special substances, water, etc.)
QD 271-272: Organic analysis
QP 519: Biochemical analysis

Searching the Literature

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive system for searching the chemical literature.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.