A first-stop reference source containing a wealth of basic chemical and physical data for compounds, as well as many other useful tables, constants and formulas, and definitions. A large section is a single table of thousands of inorganic compounds with basic chemical/physical data points. The print edition has an index of property tables. Published annually.
A first-stop reference source containing a wealth of basic chemical and physical data for compounds, as well as many other useful tables, constants and formulas, and definitions in the physical sciences.
Not a dictionary, but a database of about 600,000 compounds including inorganic and organometallic, with basic identification and property data, structures/formulas, and literature references. Includes the old printed Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds and Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds.
Updated semi-annually. Database of over 500,000 organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds and natural products, with structures, chemical, spectral, and physical data, and selected literature references.
Reaxys contains most of the numeric data and compound identification of inorganic and metal-organic substances from the Gmelin Handbook through 1976, plus data excerpted from selected journals since that date.
Database of millions of organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds and millions of organic reactions drawn from the chemical literature, searchable by structure, substructure, reaction scheme, identification information and property data values.
Extensive compilation of critically evaluated information on inorganics and organometallics, compiled from the literature. By the mid-1980s over 400,000 compounds were treated in more than 400 volumes. Grouped by principal element, the volumes are divided into the Main Series and Supplements. Volumes up to 1982 are in German. Some element sets have their own index volumes, and there is a series of cumulative formula indexes covering all volumes through 1987. Most of the numeric data (but not the text) from Gmelin volumes through 1976 are included in Reaxys substance records.
Entries for 2,000 common industrial chemicals, in alphabetical order, showing synonyms, molecular weight, formula and structure, CAS registry number, occurence, uses and applications, physical properties, preparation methods, reactions, and health analysis.
Temperature-dependent property tables for 1,800 inorganic and organic (C1 and C2) substances and ions, in SI units. Includes references to source literature. Chemical name and formula index begin on p.23 of v.1.
Entries arranged by principal element, then by reactant formula, then by reagent formula. A brief "conditions paragraph" of the reaction accompanies the reaction equation, followed by a source reference. Each volume has its own reagent formula and product name indexes. Dated, but useful for finding basic stoichiometric reactions from older literature that may not have been studied since.
Compendium of preparative methods for hundreds of inorganic substances; includes a section on lab apparatus and procedures. Formula and subject index in vol. 2. Later expanded as Synthetic methods of organometallic and inorganic chemistry (see below).
This irregular series contains checked synthetic procedures for inorganic and organometallic compounds. Cumulative index for vols. 1-30. See a current list of volumes with links to the tables of contents on the Wiley platform. (UT has provisional access to the ebooks but this could change.)
Authoritative review chapters surveying binding of ligands, coordination chemistry of the elements in periodic order, and applications. Indexes by subject and formula are in vol.7. These sets complement the similar Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry. In 2004 a ten-volume sequel set was issued, updating literature coverage.
Known as the "Red Book", this is IUPAC's set of rules for naming inorganic substances, including elements, ions and radicals, acids, salts, coordination compounds and organometallic compounds, and solid phases. It supersedes earlier versions from 1992 (3rd ed.) and 2000.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures. For more information, visit the SciFinder guide.
Entire books could be written about searching for metal-containing compounds in SciFinder. For starters, see our SciFinder Guide.