LibGuides: Chemistry: Welcome

Literature Search

Connect to SciFinder
About SciFinder
Connect to Reaxys
About Reaxys
Web of Science Search citations and articles from 10,000+ journals across all subjects.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Quick Links - Top Resources

Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD) Search organic crystal structures and crystallographic data.
CINDAS Thermophysical Properties Critically evaluated physical data for inorganic and metallic materials
Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) Structures, names and properties for 500,000+ chemicals.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Full text and interactive tables from the standard handbook of chemistry.
DIPPR Thermodynamic Properties Reliable constant and temperature-dependent data for 1800+ pure compounds.
Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Classic and authoritative reference for all aspects of applied chemistry.
NIST Chemistry WebBook Free database of thermodynamic and kinetic data on chemical compounds.
NIST-TRC Thermo Tables Reliable thermodynamic data for pure compounds. Access on-campus only.
ThermoDex Finding aid for hundreds of printed data compilations in the library.

Off-Campus Access

When you are outside the UT campus network, your browser must have a UT IP address to access the library's licensed resources. You get this via our Proxy Server.

Follow a link in the Library Catalog or any library guide or web page, or
Paste http://ezproxy.lib.utexas.edu/login?url= in front of your target URL.
Authenticate with your EID and Duo when prompted.
VPN does NOT work with proxy.

Off Campus Troubleshooting

Library Services

The circulating book and reference collections formerly housed in the Mallet Chemistry Library are now in the closed-stacks Collections Deposit Library (CDL). Use our Pick It Up service in the LIbrary Catalog to request any circulating book.