Chemistry

Companion set to Pearson's Handbook (below), containing 2-D and 3-D drawings of structure types, histograms of surrounding atoms, and coordination polyhedrons.

Atomic position and substrate lattice information on 600 surface structures from the NIST Surface Structure Database.

Vol. 1= tetragonal, hexagonal, trigonal, orthorhombic systems; v. 2= monoclinic; v. 3= anorthic. Part 1 of each volume contains tables of classification angles, refractive indices, densities and melting points; part 2 contains the crystal descriptions. Based largely on Groth's Chemische Kristallographie.

Series covers all crystallographic phases, excluding proteins. Entries are ordered within each system according to transformed values of a/b, c/a, or a, and include unit cell dimensions, space group, Z, densities, morphological and optical properties, and bibliographic information. Vols 1 and 3 cover organic and organometallic compounds for the literature up to 1984; vols 2 and 4 cover inorganics through 1969. Each volume has name and/or formula indexes.

Considered a classic work in its field, this monograph contains descriptions of atomic positions and x-ray measurements of various crystal types, with literature references. Vols. 1-4: elements and inorganics; vol. 5: aliphatic compounds; vol. 6: benzene derivatives.

This classic handbook provides crystallographic data for thousands of minerals, arranged systematically.

Gmelin included information on crystal structure and properties of inorganic and organometallic compounds. Volumes are arranged by primary element. Consult the formula indexes to locate specific compounds.

This set of handbooks, published for the International Union of Crystallography, provides authoritative reference text and tables. The latest edition of each volume is shelved in the reference collection.

Volume A: Space-group symmetry.
Volume A1: Symmetry relations between space groups.
Volume B: Reciprocal space.
Volume C: Mathematical, chemical, and physical tables.
Volume D: Physical properties.
Volume E: Subperiodic groups.
Volume F: Crystallography of biological macromolecules.
Volume G: Definition and exchange of crystallographic data.
Volume H: Powder diffraction.

This major handbook is a large compilation of numerical data in the physical sciences. Vol. I, Part 4 of the 6th edition base set and Group III of the New Series cover structure and properties of condensed matter. Consult the brief index as a shortcut into the volumes, or use the cumulative formula index to find specific systems.

Structure data of organic crystals: III/5,10
Structure data of elements and intermetallic phases: III/6,14
Structure data of inorganic compounds: III/7
Epitaxy data of inorganic and organic crystals: III/8

Classified bibliography of published literature (1935-83) on organic, organometallic, and metal complex crystal structures. Compiled by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Center (CCDC); this set was the basis for the Cambridge Structural Database.

50,000 phase entries providing unit cell dimensions, space group, and references. With 7 indexes, including Pearson symbol, space group number, structure type, and mineral name. 1st ed. in Chemistry Reference.

Symmetry tables for 75 point groups up to rotation axes of order ten.

Numeric X-ray diffraction data for solids. Library owns sets 1-30 for inorganic and organic solids. These copies are now obsolete and users should consult the digital PDF products if possible (see Digital Tools tab).

Originally titled Strukturbericht (vols. 1-7), this annual series indexed structure determinations from the literature. In 1965 the series split into Sections A (metals and inorganics) and B (organics). Reports give name, formula, unit cell and space group data, analysis details, atomic positions, and structure description. Each volume has name and formula indexes, and there are cumulative indexes for 1913-73 and 1913-80 (Sect. A only). Section A was the basis for the Inorganic Crystal Structure Database; section B has been incorporated into the Cambridge Structural Database.

Main table is divided into inorganic (by periodic group) and organic (by empirical formula) sections, giving bond lengths and angles and distances, symmetry, and structural diagrams. Classified name index in supplement covers both volumes.

"Standardized data and crystal chemical characterization of inorganic structure types." TYPIX is a critical compilation of crystallographic data for 3206 compounds representing structure types found among inorganic compounds. The purpose of this 4-volume set is to clarify and classify published data for intermetallic and other inorganic structures. Literature coverage through 1993.