This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.
Amethyst Galleries' Mineral Gallery describes over 600 mineral species and 5,000 specimens, together with several ways of accessing these descriptions. The descriptions include searchable mineralogical data, plus other information of interest to students and rock hounds. This site displays thousands of images of previously sold mineral specimens as a service to rockhounds, students and educators. Search Minerals by Name, Class, and Groupings.
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Updated regularly. Provides online access to a primary source for terminology in the field of the geosciences. Access to more than 39,000 glossary entries contained in the Fifth Edition of the print Glossary. In addition to the 13,000 updated entries that appeared in the Fifth Edition, more than 1100 changes, deletions and additions have been made to the online version since the publication of the print edition
Searchable using terms, words within terms or definitions, categories and Spanish-language equivalents. Boolean operators (and/or/not) are available for each search field. Search fields may also be combined or may be browsed using a pop-up word wheel.
Mindat.org has been running since October 2000 with the aim of building and sharing information about minerals, their properties and where they are found. It is now the world's largest public database of mineral information with an army of worldwide volunteers adding and verifying new information daily.
The Mineralogy Database contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library. Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There also are extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information.