USGS Hydrologic Atlas 730 (Miller, 2000), describes the location, hydrologic characteristics, and geologic characteristics of the principal aquifers throughout the 50 States, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
This site offers a compilation of images from 35 years of geological field research. The photos on this site are suitable for instructional presentations and are freely available for those purposes. (Marli Miller)
The Landsat satellite record stretches from 1972 to the present. This gallery includes all Landsat images published on the Earth Observatory, Visible Earth, and Landsat Science web sites from all seven Landsat satellites. All of the images are in the public domain and may be used with attribution.
The Earth Observatory’s mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about the environment, Earth systems, and climate that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and models.
Crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. (MSA, MAC, NSF)
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, national security, and protection of the environment. Includes periodic and special publications such as the well known Minerals Yearbook.
Allows users to examine and explore minerals and microscopic features of rocks, helping them to develop classiﬁcation and identification skills without the need for high-cost microscopes and thin section preparation facilities. (Open University)
A searchable database of photographs and information about the minerals, gems and gemstones of the collection, over 6300 in all. Gem and mineral specimens, comprising over 3700 single crystals, twinned crystals, crystal clusters and crystal intergrowths, are searchable by mineral and varietal name, color, and crystal shape/habit. The 2600+ Gemstones of the collection, both faceted and in cabachon, can also be searched by mineral/variety name and color, as well as by the type and pattern of cut. Specimens are also grouped into searchable sub-collections. These include mineral psuedomorphs, quartz with inclusions, twinned crystals, synthetic gems, a thumbnail collection, and quartz gemstones cut to demonstrate the patterns in three Vargas books on faceting diagrams.
Joint open access repository of the UNESCO/IOC InternationaI Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) and the International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers (IAMSLIC) with support from the FAO Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. It is a thematic repository covering the natural marine, coastal, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments.
International marine research collaboration that explores Earth's history and dynamics using ocean-going research platforms to recover data recorded in seafloor sediments and rocks and to monitor sub-seafloor environments.
The NSGL was the digital library and official archive for NOAA’s Sea Grant documents from the 1960s through 2020, with a searchable collection of Sea Grant-funded documents from the over 30 programs and projects across the United States and Territories. This collection includes a wide variety of subjects including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law.
Search 39,000 bibliographic records from Deep Sea Drilling Project, Ocean Drilling Program, Integrated Ocean Drilling Program and International Ocean Discovery Program research 1969-present. (AGI/GeoRef)
Database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. It includes full text for EERC, SEMM, and PEER reports published at UC Berkeley, the NISEE software library, and images from EQIIS.
The PLATES program was dedicated to the research of plate tectonics and geologic reconstructions. The project was supported by a consortium of industry associates. Some of the PLATES progress reports are available in Texas ScholarWorks.
The European Network of Observatories and Research Infrastructures for Volcanology (EUROVOLC) project covers seismology, physical volcanology, geodesy, geochemistry, petrology, rock and fluid mechanics, earth observation, meteorology, social sciences and informatics.
There are 169 potentially active volcanoes in the U.S. The mission of the USGS Volcano Hazards Program is to enhance public safety and minimize social and economic disruption from volcanic unrest and eruption. We accomplish this by delivering effective forecasts, warnings, and information about volcano hazards based on scientific understanding of volcanic processes.