Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains over 4 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. See also the GeoRef Serials List. (AGI; Engineering Village platform)
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
This special database highlights references to geoscience publications which have recently been added to the GeoRef production system. Each weekend, completed references are removed from the Preview database and transferred to GeoRef.
The Science Citation Index segment of the Core database covers more than 12,000 journals in across STEM, including selective but solid coverage of the earth science and environmental journal literature. Note: Does not include reports, government publications, maps, or other formats.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Better for quick lookups than in-depth literature searching. Coverage is digital-only, wide, but indeterminate. Advanced searching features are minimal. By connecting via UT proxy you will have live links to our licensed content.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
The primary database for chemical sciences contains comprehensive coverage of geochemistry and related topics. Registration required.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.
Bibliographic and full text access to the Department of Energy (DOE) tech reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
Updated regularly. Provides bibliographic and full text access to the Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
USDA's index database has some coverage of soil science and hydrology.
Updated daily. Contains bibliographic citations with some abstracts covering agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics and rural sociology. Includes journal articles, books, state extension and experiment station publications and USDA documents.
This complex aggregation of databases and full text from ProQuest includes Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts and the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database, among many other things.
Provides full-text titles on the Natural Sciences and Technology from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
A platform with hundreds of selected e-books from various society publishers. UT Austin does not have access to all titles on this platform because of availability on other platforms such as AAPG and Lyell.
GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections launched in 2014, and is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences, complementing the journal holdings in the GeoScience World journals platform. It includes more than 1,000 earth science titles from 10 leading society publishers
Special Note on UT Holdings: Since the UT Libraries already license materials from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and The Geological Society of London, and some Geological Society of America items, our license is restricted to approximately 700 titles of the original 1000 in this database. For materials that will not open here, try the original publisher’s database entry.
The AAPG search interface is poorly designed and requires persistence. When browsing for specific series volumes, look under the Browse heading for "AAPG Special Volumes" to see a list of various series and titles therein. Titles available on this platform are not reliably represented in the Library Catalog.
Contains a variety of source materials and book series published by global and regional oil and gas professional societies. AAPG makes available its own bulletins, meeting abstracts, and special publications for download as full-text PDFs. Subjects include petroleum geology and related fields, such as structural geology, organic petrology, and sedimentary research. Some international coverage.
Includes access to Journal of Geophysical Research (JGR).
Provides full text access to the journals published by the American Geophysical Union (AGU), an organization known for peer-reviewed scientific journals geared towards earth and space science research. Coverage includes titles such as the Journal of Geophysical Research (7 parts), Tectonics, Water Resources Research, Reviews of Geophysics, Global Biogeochemical Cycles, and Paleoceanography.
Full text access to the publications of the Geological Society of London. Includes the full content of the Society's journals, Special Publications and key book series.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to the publications of the Geological Society of London. Includes the full content of the Society's journals, Special Publications and key book series.
Features Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Geological Society’s prestigious Special Publications, and the Engineering Geology Special Publications and Memoir book series.
14,000 peer-reviewed articles
230,000 pages of Earth science content
Selected open access articles
Free public access to abstracts and specially created extracts
Full electronic functionality
Fully searchable content throughout
Active reference linking via CrossRef, GeoRef and ISI
Free full text linking to many other key Earth science journals, including GeoScienceWorld
EarthDoc is the full text content platform of the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers. Includes all papers published in the five EAGE journals plus papers from numerous EAGE and co-sponsored conferences. EAGE content covers geophysics, petroleum exploration, geology, reservoir engineering, mining and mineral exploration, civil engineering, tunneling and environmental topics.
"EarthDoc is the full text content platform of the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers. Includes all papers published in the five EAGE journals plus papers from numerous EAGE and co-sponsored conferences. EAGE content covers geophysics, petroleum exploration, geology, reservoir engineering, mining and mineral exploration, civil engineering, tunneling and environmental topics.
Full text scans of over 600 public domain publications related to the landscapes and geology of Texas.
Provides full text access to the publications related to the landscape of Texas. These public domain documents have been made available through the combined efforts of the TX Treasures program of the Texas State Library, the University of Texas Libraries - Digital Library Services Division: Digitization Center, and the Walter Fund of the UT Geology Foundation.
TDR serves as a platform for publishing and archiving the University's research data. It was established to help UT-Austin's research community meet data sharing requirements, to facilitate data citation, to promote collaboration, to enable reproducibility, and to encourage reuse.
The Earth and Space Science Open Archive (ESSOAr) is a community server established to accelerate the open discovery and dissemination of Earth and space science early research outputs, including preprints and posters presented at major scientific meetings. (AGU)