LibGuides: Geology: Full Text & Data Sources

Sources of Full Text in Geosciences

USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to about 60 journals from a variety of geoscience publishers.
Updated weekly. Provides full text access to over 30 core journals from a variety of geoscience publishers.
GeoScienceWorld Books This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,000 earth science titles from ~30 society publishers. Note: UT Austin doesn't have access to every title in this collection. Some titles may be available on other platforms as well.
GeoScienceWorld Book Collections launched in 2014, and is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher book platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences, complementing the journal holdings in the GeoScience World journals platform. It includes more than 1,000 earth science titles from 10 leading society publishers
Special Note on UT Holdings: Since the UT Libraries already license materials from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and The Geological Society of London, and some Geological Society of America items, our license is restricted to approximately 700 titles of the original 1000 in this database. For materials that will not open here, try the original publisher’s database entry.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) Datapages This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of source materials and book series published by global and regional oil and gas professional societies. AAPG makes available its own bulletins, meeting abstracts, and special publications. The interface is not particularly user-friendly or intuitive.
AGU (American Geophysical Union) Journals This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes titles such as the Journal of Geophysical Research (7 parts), Tectonics, Water Resources Research, Reviews of Geophysics, Global Biogeochemical Cycles, and Paleoceanography.
Lyell Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to the publications of the Geological Society of London. Includes the full content of the Society's journals, Special Publications and key book series.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to the publications of the Geological Society of London. Includes the full content of the Society's journals, Special Publications and key book series.
- Features Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Geological Society’s prestigious Special Publications, and the Engineering Geology Special Publications and Memoir book series.
- 14,000 peer-reviewed articles
- 230,000 pages of Earth science content
- Selected open access articles
- Free public access to abstracts and specially created extracts
- Full electronic functionality
- Fully searchable content throughout
- Active reference linking via CrossRef, GeoRef and ISI
- Free full text linking to many other key Earth science journals, including GeoScienceWorld
SEG Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The SEG (Society of Exploration Geophysicists) Digital Library contains full text journal papers, meeting abstracts, and eBooks dealing with applied geophysics topics.
The SEG (Society of Exploration Geophysicists) Digital Library contains full text journal papers, meeting abstracts, and books dealing with applied geophysics topics. Journals included are:
- Geophysics
- Interpretation
- The Leading Edge
- Journal of Environmental and Engineering Geophysics
- Exploration Geophysics (Australia)
- SAGEEP Proceedings
- SEG Expanded Abstracts
- ASEG Extended Abstracts
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Geophysics
Earth scientists, engineers and applied mathematicians from a wide range of disciplines will find this resource of high utility.
Virtual Landscapes of Texas This link opens in a new window
Scanned full text of over 600 reports and monographs related to early geological studies of Texas.
Provides full text access to the publications related to the landscape of Texas. These public domain documents have been made available through the combined efforts of the TX Treasures program of the Texas State Library, the University of Texas Libraries - Digital Library Services Division: Digitization Center, and the Walter Fund of the UT Geology Foundation.

Preprints & Text Repositories

Texas ScholarWorks
UT Austin's institutional repository provides open, online access to the products of the University's research and scholarship, including electronic theses and dissertations.
EarthArXiv
Preprints in the earth sciences.
Earth-Prints
Open archive created and maintained by Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia in Italy.
ESSOAr
The Earth and Space Science Open Archive (ESSOAr) is a community server established to accelerate the open discovery and dissemination of Earth and space science early research outputs, including preprints and posters presented at major scientific meetings. (AGU)
PaleoRxiv
Preprints in paleontology.

Data Repositories

Texas Data Repository
TDR serves as a platform for publishing and archiving the University's research data. It was established to help UT-Austin's research community meet data sharing requirements, to facilitate data citation, to promote collaboration, to enable reproducibility, and to encourage reuse.
USGS ScienceBase
A USGS Trusted Digital Repository providing access to scientific data products and resources.
DataONE
DataONE is a community driven program providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
EarthChem
EarthChem provides open data services to the geochemical, petrological, mineralogical, and related communities. Services include data preservation, discovery, access, and visualization.
GDEX - Geoscience Data Exchange
GDEX's mission is to provide data preservation and FAIR, public access to data and other digital research assets related to the Earth and its atmosphere, oceans, and space environment. Managed by National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR).
GEOSCAN
Bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan).
GSA Data Repository
Now hosted on Figshare.
National Geoscience Data Centre (UK)
Data repository of the British Geological Survey.
Open GeoScience
Free service of the British Geological Survey where you can view maps and download data, scans, photos and other information.
PANGAEA
Information system for open archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.