Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Geosciences

Stuff about Geosciences

Virtual Field Trip Guides

Virtual Field Trip Guides

This section contains links to interesting geological phenomena organized by regions of the United States and Canada. The U.S. is separated into regions relevant to the provided resources (see interactive map below for reference). Global Resources comprises other international guides, collections, and geologic resources.

Regions

Includes: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Washington D.C., Vermont

Maine

Field Trip to the Pineo Ridge Moraine/Delta Complex, Eastern Maine

Maryland

Geologic Walking Tour of Building Stones of Downtown Baltimore

Geology of the Sideling Hill Road Cut
Maryland Geological Survey.

Tour Maryland Geology

Massachusetts

Boston Rocks! An Exploration into the Geology, Land Use and Engineering of the Boston Area

New York

Landslide Susceptibility in the Tully Valley Area, Finger Lakes Region, New York
U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 94-615.

St. Lawrence University Geology Club 1997 Spring Field Trip
Niagara Falls region of New York.

Washington, D.C.

Stones of our Capital. U.S. Geological Survey

Includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia

Alabama

Wetumpka Impact Crater Page

Carolinas

Carolina Geological Society Field Trip Guidebooks
1952-present guidebooks available to download.

Florida

Summary of Findings of the West-Central Florida Coastal Studies Project
Barrier Island studies.U.S. Geological Survey Open File Report 01-303.

Kentucky

Selected Structural Features and Associated Dolostone Occurrences in the Vicinity of the Kentucky River Fault System (PDF)

Virtual Field Trips
Kentucky Geological Survey, University of Kentucky.  

Louisiana

Chenier Plain Field Trip, Southwest Louisiana (PDF)
Lafayette Geological Society Field Trip May 28, 2009.

Hurricane Katrina -What Happened?
A Field Trip: The Geology of the Katrina Disaster in New Orleans.

Tennessee

Geologic Story of the Ocoee River. U.S. Geological Survey General Interest Publication
The Ocoee River Gorge along US Highway 64 in S.E. Tennessee.

Includes: Arizona, California, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Texas, Utah

Arizona

Field trip guide to selected studies of the Southwest Mineral and Environmental Investigations Project in Southeastern Arizona
U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 99-544.

Grand Canyon Explorer: The Geology of the Grand Canyon

Guidebook to the Geology of Barringer Meteorite Crater, Arizona (a.k.a. Meteor Crater) From the Lunar and Planetary Institute

Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument
Near Flagstaff, Arizona.

California

Big Sur
Cal Poly- Pomona Geology Club, Spring 2003 Field Trip.

California Geotour: Online Geologic Field Trip Guides
California Geological Survey.

Death Valley Field Trip, 2004 (PDF)
Cal Poly Geology Club. 

Death Valley National Park Virtual Geology Field Trip
U.S. Geological Survey. California. Arranged by Precambrian, Paleozoic, Mesozoic, Cenozoic, and present.

Description: Lassen Peak Volcano, California

Geology and Coastal Hazards in the Northern Monterey Bay, California
U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 00-438.

Geology and Natural History of the San Francisco Bay Area: A Field-Trip Guidebook
U.S. Geological Survey Bulletin 2188.

Geology Field Trip of San Diego County: Coast to Mountains

Geology of California's Golden Gate: A Virtual Field Trip

Geology of Mojave National Preserve

Western Sierra Nevada/ Foothills Metamorphic Belt
2005 Field Trip. Cal Poly Geology Club.

Peninsula Geological Society, Mt. Shasta and the Klamath Mountains Field Trip Photo Album and Guidebook

Peninsula Geological Society, Spring Field Trip 2000, Salina/Nacimiento Amalgamated Terrane, Big Sur Coast, Central California

Quaternary and Late Pliocene Geology of the Death Valley Region: Recent Observations on Tectonics, Stratigraphy, and Lake Cycles (Guidebook for the 2001 Pacific Friends of the Pleistocene Fieldtrip)
U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 01-0051.

Quaternary Stratigraphy, Drainage-Basin Development, and Geomorphology of the Lake Manix Basin, Mojave Desert
Guidebook for Fall Field Trip, Friends of the Pleistocene, Pacific Cell, October 4-7, 2007.

San Andreas Fault and the San Francisco Bay Area
California.

Walking tour of the Calaveras Fault in Hollister, California
South of the San Francisco Bay area.

Colorado

Colorado Front Range Self-Guided Geology Field Trip (PDF)
By Uwe Richard Kackstaetter.

Colorado Geological Survey Field Trips
PDFs to past field trip and conference guides.

Colorado Geology Photojournals: A Tribute to Colorado's Physical Past and Present

Dash with the Dinosaurs: A Mountain Bike Trek to the Purgatoire River Dinosaur Trackway and the Cretaceous & Tertiary Boundary Impact Layer of Southeastern Colorado (PDF)
La Junta and Trinidad, Colorado.

Field Trip Guidebook on the Geology and Geologic Hazards of the Glenwood Springs Area, Colorado (PDF)

Flood Hazards of Manitou Springs, Colorado

Front Range Geologic Hazards Field Trip (PDF)
Colorado Geological Survey.

Geology of Colorado National Monument (PDF)
Southwestern Colorado.

Geology of the Colorado Plateau (PDF)
By Annabelle Foos, Geology Department, University of Akron.

Geology, Water Quality, and Avalanche Hazards of the Ouray-Silverton Area, Southwest Colorado (PDF)
Earth Science Week Field Trip, October 9, 2000. 

Geology of the Moab Region (Arches, Dead Horse Point and Canyonlands) (PDF)

Geology of Zion National Park, Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park and Snow Canyon State Park

Indian Peaks, Colorado Front Range. Altitudinal Variation of Vegetation and Glacial Geomorphology

Laramide Structures along the Northeastern Flank of the Colorado Front Range (PDF)
Colorado Geological Survey.

Log for Joint SEPM-Colorado Scientific Society Field Trip, September 20-21, 1986: Late Paleozoic Sedimentation and Laramide Tectonics of the Sangre de Cristo Range, from Westcliffe to Crestone, Colorado
U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 01-249.

Mineral Resources of Jefferson County (PDF) 

Symposium on the Geology of the Front Range: In honor of William A. Braddock (PDF)
Colorado Scientific Society, University of Colorado at Boulder, Colorado Geological Survey.

New Mexico

Carlsbad Caverns
National Park, New Mexico.

Carrizozo Malpais
Basaltic lava flow in New Mexico.

Geologic Walking tour of Carlsbad Cavern (PDF)
New Mexico Geological Society.‚Äč

Virtual Field Trip to the Basalts of the Zuni-Bandera Malpais
El Malpais National Monument, New Mexico.

Virtual Geologic Tour of New Mexico
New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources.

Walnut Canyon (Carlsbad Caverns), New Mexico
Geologic Road Log.

Nevada

Earth Science Week 1999: Field Trip #1 for Families and Rockhounds, Turbulent TImes in the Truckee Meadows (PDF)
Near Reno, Nevada.

Earth Science Week 2000: Geology along America's Loneliest Highway
A field trip for families and rockhounds. U.S. Highway 50: geology between Carson City and Sand Mountain, Nevada.

Earth Science Week 2001 Field Trip #1: Peavine Peak - Geology, Plants, and Mining History (PDF)
A field trip for families and rockhounds. Near Reno, Nevada.

Earth Science Week 2001 Field Trip #2: Fossils and Ancient Lakes (PDF)
A field trip for families and rockhounds. Western Nevada.

Earth Science Week Field Trip #2, October 16, 1999: What's Shakin' in the Neighborhood? Road Log (PDF)
Faulting and earthquakes.

Exploring East of the Summit: a Field Trip Guide to Steamboat Springs, Lake Tahoe, and the Comstock Area (PDF)
Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology. Click on Free Downloads tab.

Great Basin Paleozoic Carbonate Platform: Facies, Facies Transitions, Depositional Models, Platform Architecture, Sequence Stratigraphy, and Predictive Mineral Host Models (PDF) 
Field Trip Guidebook - Metallogeny of the Great Basin Project, August 17-22, 2003. U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 2004-1078.

Texas

Balcones Escarpment
Multidisciplinary information about geology, hydrology, biology, and culture surrounding the region.

Big Bend National Park Virtual Field Trip
Texas A&M Department of Geology.

Coal Geology of the Paleocene-Eocene Calvert Bluff Formation (Wilcox Group) and the Eocene Manning Formation (Jackson Group) in East-Central Texas: 1995 Field Trip for The Society for Organic Petrology, U.S.
Geological Survey Open-File Report 95-595.

El Paso, Texas - Carlsbad, New Mexico Geologic Road Log

Geologic Wonders of Texas

Llano Uplift Mineral - Fossil Locations and Road Logs

Permian Reef Complex (Delaware Basin) of West Texas

Stone City Member: Main Glauconite Bed Study Guide
Houston Geological Society. Texas Gulf Coast Plain.

Tertiary Coals in South Texas
Anomalous Cannel-Like Coals of Webb County (Claiborne Group, Eocene) and Lignites of Atascosa County (Jackson Group, Eocene) - Geologic Setting, Character, Source-rock and Coal-bed Methane Potential. 1999 AAPG Annual Convention Energy Minerals Division Field Trip # 15. U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 99-301.

University of North Texas: GEOG 1610: Structural Geology and Landforms of Dallas County
Includes Taylor Marl, Austin Chalk, Eagle Ford Shale, and Woodbine Sandstone.

Walking the Forty Acres: Building Stones - Precambrian to Pleistocene
University of Texas at Austin campus.

Walking the Forty Acres: Waller Creek Wilderness Trails and Adjuncts
University of Texas at Austin campus.

Utah

Building Stones of Downtown Salt Lake City: A Walking Tour
Utah Geological Survey. Public Information Series #60.

Bryce Canyon National Park

Bryce Canyon National Park and the Grand Staircase (PDF)

Geologic Guides
Utah Geological Survey.

Geology of Capitol Reef National Park (PDF)

Geology of Grand Canyon National Park, North Rim (PDF) 
By Annabelle Foos, Geology Department, University of Akron.

Slides of the Fluorspor, Beryllium, and Uranium Deposits at Spor Mountain, Utah

Region

AGS Field Trips
Austin Geological Society has a bibliography of their published guides.

Dark Canyon - Sitting Bull Falls - Rocky Arroyo Geologic Road Log
Texas and New Mexico.

Geology of Dinosaur National Monument (PDF)
Utah and Colorado.

Geology of Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument (PDF)

Grand Staircase
Guide to the region from the Grand Canyon to Bryce Canyon.

Introduction and Virtual Geologic Field Trip to the Permian Reef Complex, Guadalupe and Delaware Mountains, New Mexico-West Texas

McKittrick Canyon (Guadalupe Mountains National Park) Geologic Road Log
Texas and New Mexico.

Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists
Links to their photos and field trips.

Singing and Booming Sand Dunes of California and Nevada

Includes: Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming

Idaho

Craters of the Moon National Monument
Basaltic lava field.

Geology 101 Field Trip, Fall 1995
Geology of Latah County, including Moscow, Idaho.

Mineralogy of Latah County, Idaho

Montana

Glacier National Park Virtual Field Trip
Alpine glacial landscapes. 

Oregon

Description: Newberry Volcano and Caldera, Oregon

Mount Hood, Oregon
History, construction of cone, glaciation, eruptive history, historical activity.

Report: Geologic History of Mount Hood Volcano, Oregon - A Field-Trip Guidebook
U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 97-263.

Washington

Geology of North Cascades National Park: Virtual Field Trips
North Cascade Highway (State Route 20), Baker Lake road, and Mount Baker Highway (State Route 542). 

Indian Heaven Volcanic Field
Volcanic field midway between Mount St. Helens and Mount Adams.

Mount Rainier, Washington
Eruptive history, road log.

Mount St. Helens, Washington
Eruptive history and volcanic activity.

Wyoming

Grand Teton National Park

Region

Craton to Accreted Terranes: An Overview of Pacific Northwest Geology
Department of Geological Sciences, The University of Alabama. Spring 2010 Regional Geology Field Trip May 2010.

Guides to Some Volcanic Terranes in Washington, Idaho, Oregon, and Northern California
Report: Guide to Geologic Field Trip Between Lewiston, Idaho, and Kimberly, Oregon, Emphasizing the Columbia River Basalt Group

Report: Road Guide to Volcanic Deposits of Mount St. Helens and Vicinity
Online version of U.S. Geological Survey Bulletin 1859. Southwest Washington - Northwest Oregon.

Includes: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin

Illinois

Field Trips - La Salle Anticline

Geological Field Trips - Kankakee Area LaSalle Anticline and Sandwich Fault
Field trips by Ellin Beltz.

Geology along Chicago's Michigan Avenue
Field trips by Ellin Beltz.

Southern Illinois Field Trip
Field trips by Ellin Beltz.

Thornton Quarry Field Trips
Field trips by Ellin Beltz. 

Indiana

First Annual Report of the Geological Survey of Indiana, Made During the Year 1869
Brought to you Indiana University.

Kansas

Guidebook - Geology of Northeastern Kansas
GeoKansas, Kansas Geological Survey.

Nebraska

Department of Geography and Geology, University of Nebraska at Omaha, 1999 Lake Superior Field Trip - Part 1

South Dakota

Geology of South Dakota

Geology of the Black Hills (PDF)

Wind Cave National Park, South Dakota

Region

Geology of the Fargo-Moorhead Region: North Dakota - Minnesota
Red River Valley.

Virtual Silurian Reef
Milwaukee Public Library distance-learning project. Wisconsin and Illinois. 

Alaska Volcano Observatory
List of volcanoes by region and major volcanic areas.   

Glacier Bay
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center's Scientific Visualization Studio. Includes Quicktime animations.

Pleistocene Gubik Formation, Skull Cliff, Alaska
Pleistocene sedimentary rocks on the coast of the Chukchi Sea in Northern Alaska.

Canada's Digital Collections
Archived at Library and Archives Canada.

Crowsnest Pass: A Virtual Field Trip
Crowsnest Pass on Highway 3 (Crowsnest Trail) west of Lethbridge, Alberta.

Cypress Hills, Alberta
Virtual Field Trip, Southeastern Alberta.

Fossils of the Fundy Coast
Canada's Digital Collections Program.

Fundy National Park of Canada
Parks Canada.

Geological Survey of Canada (Open File 2161, Field Trip 6)
Taken from a Field Trip Guidebook (8th IAGOD Symposium) on Geology and Ore Deposits of the Timmins District, Ontario.

Kananaskis Country. University of Calgary

Milk River, Alberta
Virtual Field Trip.

Oldman River, Alberta

Sable Island
Canada's Digital Collections Program.

Virtual Fieldtrip of Lethbridge
Alberta.

Virtual Field Trip of the Castle Crown Wilderness
Southwestern Alberta.

Virtual Field Trip of the Landscapes of Nova Scotia

Walking Tour of Rocks, Minerals and Building Stones of Prince Street, Truro
Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources, Mineral Resources Branch, Information Circular ME 21, 1988.

Walking Tour of Rocks, Minerals and Landforms of Victoria Park, Truro
Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources, Mineral Resources Branch, Information Circular ME 11, 1987.  

Waterton Lakes National Parks of Canada
Natural Wonders and Cultural Treasures.

Waterton Lakes Virtual Field Trip
Southern Alberta.

Includes broad digital collections, resources, and other international field trip guides.

 

Deep Earth Academy. Consortium for Ocean Leadership
“Our approach includes use of authentic data, inquiry-centered activities and interdisciplinary explorations drawing from the adventures of the JOIDES Resolution ship and the earlier ocean drilling ship; the Glomar Challenger.”

Digital Collections
The Science & Technology section includes Guidebooks for field trips by the New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference (NEIGC). University of New Hampshire Library.

Excursion to the Yunnan Province, Republic of China

Galapagos Geology on the Web
Department of Geological Sciences at Cornell University.

Geologic Guidebooks of North America
Database maintained by the GeoRef Information Services.

Geology of National Parks
3D and Photographic Tours Featuring U.S. Park Geology and Natural History.

Geology: Rocks of Northern Ireland

How to Observe Landscapes
Examples from Arizona Geology by Stephen J. Reynolds.

London's Geology: Walks
UCL Earth Sciences. Includes cemeteries and British Library.

Tour of Park Geology
Listing of Park Geology Tours provided by U.S. National Park Service.

Virtual Field Trips: Moine Thrust Belt, Pakistan Himalayas, Internal Alps, Dead Sea Fault System, Norway
Earth Sciences, University of Leeds.

Virtual Geosciences Professor
John C. Butler.

Virtual Volcano Fieldtrips
Oregon State University.

Volcano World, Volcano Table
Oregon State University.

Loading

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.