LibGuides: Highlighting Diverse Collections Archive: International Human Rights Day

Resources

Freedom's Charter. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights. With an Introd. by E. Roosevelt Volume 76 of Headline series Author Otto Frederick Nolde Publisher Foreign Policy Association, 1949 Length 61 pages Export Citation by Otto Frederick Nolde
O. Frederick Nolde’s (dean of the Graduate School of the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia and director of the Commission of the Churches on International Affairs in 1949) essay is prefaced by a brief introduction from Eleanor Roosevelt and followed by the full text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Nolde was present for much of the discussion that saw the creation of the UDHR.
Human Rights; a Documentary on the United Nations Declaration of Human Rights by Roosevelt, Eleanor, Langer, Howard
Released in 1959, this audio documentary follows the creation of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights with a particular focus on former first lady Eleanor Roosevelt, her role, and her reflections on the establishment of the UN Human Rights Commission.

Song of Human Rights
The United States National Commission for UNESCO asked American composer Howard Hanson to compose a work to celebrate the anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. He set portions of the Declaration itself to music for chorus and orchestra.
Lectures on Universal Declaration of Human Rights
This volume is a collection of lectures by high profile Indian intellectuals of the mid-20th century reflecting on the UDHR.

A Muslim Commentary on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights by Sultanhussein Tabandeh of Gunabad [translated from the Persian by F. J. Goulding]
Sultanhussein Tabandeh of Gunabad, Iran, wrote this work for the celebration of the 20th anniversary of the UDHR. Tabandeh was the leader of the Ni’matullahi Sultanalishahi Sufi order. This work was apparently distributed to attendees at the 1968 Tehran International Conference on Human Rights.
Declaración universal de derechos humanos: ilustrada con dibujos de niños de escuelas y colegios / textos by Rodrigo Soto
This colorful volume features the UDHR in Spanish illustrated by and for children.
Remarks by First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton in Commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of the United Nations General Assembly Adoption and Proclamation of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights: December 10, 1997 by Clinton, Hillary Rodham
Held at the Briscoe Center for American History, this volume contains the speech that former First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton delivered for the 50th anniversary of the UDHR.
Cultural Heritage and Human Rights by Helaine Silverman (Editor); D. Fairchild Ruggles (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387713120
Publication Date: 2007-11-28
Silverman and Ruggles’ volume addresses the question: is there a universal right to the free expression and preservation of cultural heritage, and if so, where is that right articulated and can it be protected? The authors explore how cultural heritage preservation is necessary for the preservation of identity—identity that is often threatened in war, when the erasure of cultural heritage is wielded as a powerful tool of dominance and control.
Expurgated by Kermaire, Christine
UT Libraries is fortunate to hold this artistic interpretation and celebration of the UDHR by Christine Kermaire. Visit the Fine Arts Library to find this piece, which consists of the UDHR is printed with edible coloring on edible paper that opens into the shape of a pyramid.

From Instagram

Human Rights Day, celebrated every December 10, commemorates the day that the United Nations adopted the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). Coming up on its 75th anniversary celebration, the UDHR has captured the attention of scholars and artists around the world. The UT Libraries’ collections contain some of the most intriguing examples of their engagement, including the long-standing Human Rights Documentation Initiative.

The United Nations is celebrating the 75th anniversary with the theme “Dignity, Freedom, and Justice for All.” Check out the UN’s Human Rights Day website for more information.

You can find this post on the UT Libraries' Instagram here.

Highlighting Diverse Collections Archive

International Human Rights Day

Resources

From Instagram

Related Guides