LibGuides: Highlighting Diverse Collections Archive: Black Queer Texan Authors

From Instagram

Highlighting Diverse Collections: Pride & Juneteenth, Black Queer authors from Texas

In honor of Pride Month and Juneteenth, we’re recognizing Black Queer authors from Texas! Texans feature prominently in the UT Libraries’ Black Queer Studies Collection. We’re highlighting a few of our favorite memoirs, novels, and poetry collections by Black Queer and Trans Texans from Houston, Dallas, San Antonio and all over our great state. Plus, a few of these authors are UT alums!

You can find this post on the UT Libraries' Instagram here.

Related LibGuides

Black Queer Studies Collection
by Gina Bastone Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 1104 views this year
History of the Black Experience
by Adriana Cásarez Last Updated Nov 21, 2023 173 views this year
LGBTQ+ Studies
by Gina Bastone Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 548 views this year
Research on Black Voices & Antiracism Resources
by Adriana Cásarez Last Updated Jan 26, 2024 426 views this year
African and African Diaspora Studies
by Adriana Cásarez Last Updated Jun 20, 2024 952 views this year

Resources

How We Fight for Our Lives by Saeed Jones
ISBN: 9781501132735
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Saeed Jones is a poet-turned-memoirist from the Dallas area. How We Fight For Our Lives is his first memoir, detailing his childhood, adolescence and young adulthood as he navigated his experiences as a queer Black man.
Family Meal by Bryan Washington
ISBN: 9780593421093
Publication Date: 2023-10-10
Fiction writer Bryan Washington sets most of his work in his hometown of Houston. His novels and stories are often about queer relationships, and the city, itself, is a character in his work.
BloodFresh by Ebony Stewart
ISBN: 9781638340089
Publication Date: 2022-02-15
Austin poet and performer Ebony Stewart is known for her raw, honest poetry, and her most recent collection solidifies her reputation as one of our best local writers.
Sana Sana by Ariana Brown
ISBN: 9781732498686
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
UT alum Ariana Brown’s powerful poetry explores her experiences as a Black Mexican queer woman, often centering her hometown of San Antonio.
I Can't Date Jesus by Michael Arceneaux
ISBN: 9781501178856
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
In his hilarious first essay collection, Michael Arcenaux (also from Houston) details his experiences of being a the gay son in a devout religious family.
Freedom House by K. B. Brookins
ISBN: 9781646052639
Publication Date: 2023-06-06
KB Brookins is one of Austin’s most exciting writers! Their poetry collection Freedom House received national acclaim and examines the experiences of being Black and Trans in Texas.
The Queer Girl Is Going to Be Okay by Dale Walls
ISBN: 9781646142705
Publication Date: 2023-11-21
Recent UT Alum Dale Wells recently released this fun coming-of-age novel about a trans teen navigating high school in Houston, including (spoiler alert) applying to UT!