Updated regularly. A collection of over 80 leading medical textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, patient education materials, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests and an integrated drug database. AccessMedicine also features self-assessment tools, Lange Case Files series, and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review. Featured textbooks include: Harrison’s Online, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Create a free My Access account while logged in to access content without additional logins or VPN required. My Access also enables creation and saving of practice tests, saving and downloading images.
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
Updated regularly. Collection of over 3600 books and reference works published by the Taylor & Francis group, covering biology, healthcare, biomedical engineering, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and more.
Dates of coverage vary. User restrictions vary by book.
Provides access to ebooks.
Users need to login via EID in order to use Ebook Central even if they are on campus.
Ebook Central can be accessed using a standard Internet browser. The Safari browser is recommended for Mac users. Ebook Central provides ebooks in Adobe PDF format, so in order to view Ebook Central ebooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer. Ebook Central works best with Acrobat Reader version 9 or later.
The eBook Collection provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
The eBook Collection can be accessed using a standard Internet browser; however, some access problems have been reported by patrons using Firefox. If you are having trouble seeing books and are using the most current version of Firefox, try using Chrome or Internet Explorer. EBSCO provides ebooks in Adobe PDF format, so in order to view eBooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer.
Mac users may want to download the Schubert|it PDF Browser Plugin, a third-party plugin that supports in-browser viewing of PDF files. You may also need an EBSCO account which is free.
A complete and in-depth eBook collection, MEDICINEnetBASE offers authoritative and practical references on topics ranging from cardiology and clinical neuroscience to dermatology and gastroenterology. The resources cover the science behind the latest development and their practical application as well as future trends in treatment and diagnosis.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and ""Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect. Email alerts are available if you register.
Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and selected ebooks published by Springer-Verlag.
Printed versions of University of Texas at Austin-owned ebooks can be purchased for $24.95 by persons with a .utexas email address. The Springer website for an ebook eligible for this purchase will display a message “BUY A PRINT COPY (USD 24.95)” or ""MyCopy Softcover Edition 24.95.""
Includes the former CRC titles. Allows downloading of the entire ebook or reading online. By checking the "Full Access Content Only" box during your search, you can identify titles owned by the Libraries relevant to the search. Some titles may have DRM restrictions.
Books that are free to read online or download. Subject categories include health & medicine, behavioral & social sciences, biology & life sciences, and more.
Looking for a quick definition of a medical term? Try out some of these dictionaries:
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Thomas Lathrop StedmanStedman's Medical Dictionary is the most reliable resource available for healthcare, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. This new edition includes more than 107,000 terms and definitions, more than 5,000 new to this edition. More than 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, and rheumatology. The art program has also been extensively enhanced and now includes approximately 1,500 images and illustrations. Readers will recognize the authoritative content contained in this new edition, and want to add it to their list of must have references.
Publication Date: 2016
Black's Medical Dictionary by Harvey MarcovitchBlack's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.
Publication Date: 2017
Webster's New World Medical Dictionary by MedicineNet.comWhen your doctor uses terms like intraductal carcinoma or akathisia, do you understand and can you ask the right questions? If you, like most Americans, are taking a more active role in your family’s healthcare, the fully revised and updated Webster’s New World™ Medical Dictionary, Third Edition will help you understand and communicate your medical needs when it matters the most. Written by doctors and the experts at WebMD, this edition includes 8500 entries, including 500 new terms, a vitamin appendix, and a companion website to give you access to medical language.
Publication Date: 2009
Medical Dictionary (Diccionario Médico) by Glenn T. RogersThe single best dictionary for communicating with Spanish-speaking patients! The book that breaks the language barrier between healthcare professionals and Spanish-speaking patients! This pocket-sized book contains virtually all health-related terms likely to occur in a conversation between a health worker and a Spanish-speaking patient, including common colloquialisms and slang terms not found in similar dictionaries. You will have instant access to more than 20,000 words and terms used in medicine, nursing, and dentistry, along with tips, a pronunciation guide, abbreviations, and sample dialogues. The fourth edition includes expanded sample dialogue on history taking and performing a physical examination. Here's why this is the single-best Spanish-English dictionary: The most useful terms - Updated to include the latest terminology as well as medical colloquialisms and hard-to-translate phrases - covers general medicine,psychiatry, nursing, dentistry, physical therapy, social work, and more - lists over 700 drug names The most accurate translations - All technical terms have been verified through word frequency analyses on large databases of medical literature in Spanish and English The most scholarly - Lists parts of speech; indications of gender; and irregular plurals, preterites, and past participles - provides useful example phrases
Publication Date: 2014
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations by DorlandMedical acronyms and abbreviations offer convenience, but those countless shortcuts can often be confusing. Now a part of the popular Dorland's suite of products, this reference features thousands of terms from across various medical specialties. Its alphabetical arrangement makes for quick reference, and expanded coverage of symbols ensures they are easier to find. Effective communication plays an important role in all medical settings, so turn to this trusted volume for nearly any medical abbreviation you might encounter. Symbols section makes it easier to locate unusual or seldom-used symbols. Convenient alphabetical format allows you to find the entry you need more intuitively. More than 90,000 entries and definitions. Many new and updated entries including terminology in expanding specialties, such as Nursing; Physical, Occupational, and Speech Therapies; Transcription and Coding; Computer and Technical Fields. New section on abbreviations to avoid, including Joint Commission abbreviations that are not to be used. Incorporates updates suggested by the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP).
Publication Date: 2015
The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by Kenneth F. KipleThe Cambridge World History of Human Disease (CWHHD) was first published by Cambridge University Press in 1993 and reprinted in 2001. Part VIII, the last section of the work, comprises a history and description of the world's major diseases of yesterday and today in chapters that are organized alphabetically from 'Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)' to 'Yellow Fever'. The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Human Disease makes this last section of CWHHD available to a wider general audience. It condenses the essays into shorter entries, information on AIDS, Alzheimer's disease, Ebola virus disease, and tuberculosis. The Dictionary also makes available three chapters from other parts of the CWHHD on 'Heart-Related Diseases', 'Cancer', and 'Genetic Disease'. This Dictionary contains contributions from over 100 medical and social scientists from all over the globe, making it a truly interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
Publication Date: 2003-06-02
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by VENESMust-know, rarely memorized information. Appendices for normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and complementary and alternative medicine as well as nursing-focused resources. Full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders photographs focus on the distinguishing features of diseases and disorders. The tools for success. Patient Care Statements--Quick-reference summaries detail assessment, treatment, and patient teaching requirements. Caution/Safety Statements--An easy-to-find icon highlights information critical to safe patient care. Disease/Disorder Entries--Concise descriptions summarize diagnosis, signs and symptoms, etiology, treatments, and prognosis. NANDA-I (2015-2017)--The complete list of all of the nursing diagnoses makes reference quick and easy.
Publication Date: 2017
Medical Statistics: An A-Z Companion by Filomena Pereira-MaxwellThis invaluable, jargon-free guide to essential medical terminology in an accessible A-Z format is ideal for medical, allied health and biomedical science students and researchers, clinicians and health care practitioners. Avoiding the complex language that is so often a feature of statistics and research methodology, this text provides clear and succinct explanations, clarifying meaning and showing the interdependencies between important concepts. This edition includes enhanced explanations of statistical concepts and methods--including more illustrative content--for greater accessibility. The book makes frequent use of examples from the medical literature, with reference to landmark studies, ensuring clinical relevance. It remains an ideal aid to accompany the reading and critical appraisal of medical and health care literature, now widely recognized to be a practical lifelong skill required by all health professionals throughout undergraduate and postgraduate studies and during clinical practice.
Publication Date: 2018
Concise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals by Abhaya Indrayan; Martin P. HoltConcise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals focuses on conceptual knowledge and practical advice rather than mathematical details, enhancing its usefulness as a reference for medical professionals. The book defines and describes nearly 1000 commonly and not so commonly used biostatistical terms and methods arranged in alphabetical order. These range from simple terms, such as mean and median to advanced terms such as multilevel models and generalized estimating equations. Synonyms or alternative phrases for each topic covered are listed with a reference to the topic.