"Drugs" tab opens up a database of information for drugs from A to Z.
Updated regularly. A collection of over 80 leading medical textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, patient education materials, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests and an integrated drug database. AccessMedicine also features self-assessment tools, Lange Case Files series, and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review. Featured textbooks include: Harrison’s Online, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Create a free My Access account while logged in to access content without additional logins or VPN required. My Access also enables creation and saving of practice tests, saving and downloading images.
Updated regularly. Provides an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across over 20 pharmacy and medical online references. Includes functional calculators, lab test information, and an integrated drug database.
Users will need to create a free personal account to access the self-assessment tools, create cases & my care plans, and save images. To create a free account, click on the "University of Texas at Austin""drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the Access Pharmacy home page. Click "Login or Create a Free Personal Account." At the bottom of the pop-up window, click on "Create a Free Access Profile" and follow the directions to set up your account.
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of medical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey includes the full text of medical textbooks, medical journals, clinical practice guidelines, drug information and drug class overviews, procedure videos, comprehensive clinical topic summaries, patient education handouts in several languages, clinical calculators, and CME credits.
Updated daily. A drug information application that provides peer reviewed, clinically-relevant information on drugs available in the United States, including off-label uses and dosages, herbal supplements, nutritional products, and new and investigational drugs. Features include drug interaction reports and drug identification searching.
Access to this resource is funded by the College of Pharmacy.
Provides concise synopses for FDA-approved drugs, including prescription and nonprescription. Summary information includes dosing & indications; contraindications & warnings; drug interactions; adverse effects; name info; mechanism of action & pharmacokinetics; administration & monitoring; how supplied; toxicology; clinical teaching; and images & imprints.
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users. Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Firefox, and Safari.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to point-of-care information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
Provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
All of these titles can be found in the UT Libraries Collection.
AHFS Drug Information 2022 by ASHPAHFS Drug Information® 2022 contains the most dependable drug information available-all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses. With expanded and revised content supported by more than 97,000 references and incorporating the advice of numerous subject matter experts, AHFS DI helps you protect your patients and your practice. Updates in the new edition: The latest information on COVID-19 vaccines and COVID-19 monoclonal antibodies available under FDA Emergency Use Authorizations (EUAs), including clinical considerations from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and National Institutes of Health (NIH). Information on patient selection and appropriate use of corticosteroids in the management of COVID-19 based on recent guidelines from NIH and the World Health Organization (WHO). Contemporary issues such as anticoagulant reversal strategies and use of direct oral anticoagulants versus warfarin for treatment of venous thromboembolism or atrial fibrillation. Current best practices such as reversal of neuromuscular blocking agents for prevention of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade. Newly published information on breakthrough oncology drugs approved as part of the FDA's accelerated approval program. Expanded content on off-label uses, real-world data, and long-term clinical data. Updated information on pharmacogenomic considerations based on recommendations from the Clinical Pharmacogenetics Implementation Consortium (CPIC). Addition of 51 new molecular entities (NMEs) or new therapeutic biological products approved since January 2021.
Publication Date: 2022-02-28
Medications & Mothers' Milk: A Manual of Lactational Pharmacology by Hale, ThomasWritten by a world-renowned expert in perinatal pharmacology, this essential reference contains current, complete, and evidence-based information on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. Because so many women ingest medications while breastfeeding, one of the most common questions encountered in pediatrics is: Which drugs are safe and which are hazardous for the infant? This 2019 edition has been extensively revised, and now includes 39 completely new and 331 updated medications, and state-of-the-art coverage of multiple diseases, vaccines, and syndromes. It addresses the use of radiopharmaceuticals, chemotherapeutic agents, and vaccines in breastfeeding mothers, and covers adult concerns, methods of reducing risk to infants, and infant monitoring. New to the 2019 Edition: An updated design for easier access to information Drug names in running heads for easier reference The latest information on the impact of prescription medications, over-the-counter drugs, herbs, and street drugs Updates to existing drug monographs Key Features: Evidence-based, current information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines and syndromes Dr. Hale’s renowned “Lactation Risk Categories” Adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives Key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference Succinct information about evaluation of the infant Common abbreviations and drugs listed in alphabetical order
Publication Date: 2019
Neonatal Formulary by Sean B. AinsworthNeonatal Formulary is a unique publication that provides comprehensive guidance on the safe use of all the drugs prescribed during pregnancy and commonly given to babies during labour, delivery, and the first year of life. This new edition provides improved and detailed coverage of the many drugs that are given to women during pregnancy and during lactation where the baby's welfare must be borne in mind as well as that of the mother. Thus the whole 'pregnancy through to parenthood' journey is treated as a continuous event with information about drug use and the effects of drugs at all stages of the development from fetus to infant. Containing far more detail than is available in the British National Formulary for Children and with a companion website featuring updates related to specific drugs and dosing, Neonatal Formulary is an essential guide for neonatologists, neonatal nurses, hospital pharmacists, obstetric staff, advanced nurse practitioners and for all health care professionals caring for pregnant women and their infants in the first year of life. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Publication Date: 2015
DailyMedDailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements. The drug labeling information on this Web site is the most recent submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and currently in use; it may include, for example, strengthened warnings undergoing FDA review or minor editorial changes. These labels have been reformatted to make them easier to read.
Drugs.com - Pro EditionAlthough this free website has commercial ads (probably a main source of funding), it sources information from four independent leading medical information suppliers Wolters Kluwer Health, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum, and Micromedex, as well as from the FDA, the Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and Harvard Health Publications. This website gives drug facts including an interaction checker, prescribing data, a symptom checker, lists of side effects, and pill identifier. There is also a mobile app available.
Epocrates OnlineDrug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic and OTC drugs, including adult and pediatric dosing information; black box warnings, contraindications, adverse reactions and drug interactions; safety monitoring; pharmacology; manufacturer information; and DEA/FDA status. This free resource is provided by Athena Health Inc.