LibGuides: Medicine: Mobile Apps

Mobile Apps

All apps are available through your preferred App Store.

Subscription Mobile Apps

*Available through UT Libraries Subscription

AccessMedicine
The AccessMedicine® app delivers invaluable point of care solutions for clinical practice which include: Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Differential Diagnosis Tool, Diagnostic Tests.

For download and continued use of the app, users must have an active MyAccess acount and sign in every 90 days through our institution, either on-site or through VPN. Create your free MyAccess account using these steps:

Navigate to the AccessMedicine homepage.
Click on the “University of Texas at Austin” drop-down box in the upper right-hand corner of any page.
Click on “Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile”.
A new window will appear. Click on the “Create a Free MyAccess Profile” button.
Fill in the registration form.
To keep your MyAccess Account active, you must sign in every 90 days.

Once the MyAccess account is set up you can download the AccessMedicine app for free from the App Store or Google Play. Use your MyAccess account credentials to sign in.

ClinicalKey
Access is restricted to Dell Medical School students, staff, and faculty. To access ClinicalKey, view the following login instructions:
more...less...
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of medical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey includes the full text of medical textbooks, medical journals, clinical practice guidelines, drug information and drug class overviews, procedure videos, comprehensive clinical topic summaries, patient education handouts in several languages, clinical calculators, and CME credits.

ClinicalKey Login Instructions

DynaMed
Evidence-based point-of-care information for clinicians, organized by disease state. DynaMed Plus includes ICD9/ICD10 codes, images, Micromedex drug content, and access from electronic health records. A mobile app is available to users who sign up for a personal account.
Stat!Ref
Access the full library of healthcare resources including medical textbooks, medical dictionaries, medical calculators, point of care tools, Pharmacology World videos, Drug Points system.

Web of Science MyRA
The My Research Assistant App allows you to search, save and share articles from Web of Science™.

Looking for additional medical apps not featured here? Check out iMedical Apps, a medical app review site

with thousands of reviews by trusted medical professionals.

All apps are available through your preferred App Store.

Open Resource Apps

*Additional purchases may be necessary to view full content.

ACP Clinical Guidelines
Users can conveniently access clinical recommendations and rationale, summary tables, algorithms, and high value care advice for all currently active guidelines in an easy-to-read and interactive mobile format.
Calculate by QxMD
A clinical calculator and decision support tool that converts recent research publications into practical handheld tools which impact clinical practice either by simplifying diagnosis, clarifying treatment options or displaying prognosis. It is comprised of more than 400 unique calculators and decision support tools.
Epocrates
A highly reviewed medical reference app whose free version includes: Drug Information, Interaction Check, Pill ID, Clinical Guidelines, Formulary and Calculators. For premium content, you can subscribe for $16.99/month and gain access to Disease Information, Infectious Disease Treatment, Alternative Medicines, Labs and Diagnostic Info and ICD-10 Codes.
Evernote
A helpful notes organizer app that acts as a note pad, to-do list and planner. You can attach docs, PDFs, photos, and audio. The app can also be synced across all devices (only 2 for the free version) allowing access from anywhere. *For added features, you can purchase the premium plan for $7.99/month.
MediBabble
A free, professional-grade medical translation tool. MediBabble is a robust history-taking and examination application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and overall quality of care for non-English speaking patients.
Medical Dictionary by Farlex
A free medical dictionary that offers concise and easily accessible information for users searching for descriptions of over-the-counter or prescription medications, medical abbreviations, test procedures, medical research topics, or illnesses. Draws from: "The American Heritage® Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Second Edition" and "The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine,Second Edition."
Medscape
Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.
Touch Surgery
This app provides educational surgical simulations featuring over 200 procedures in 17 specialties. Learn and rehearse for surgery anytime in an immersive and interactive environment.

Looking for additional medical apps not featured here? Check out iMedical Apps, a medical app review site

with thousands of reviews by trusted medical professionals.

For more information regarding PubMed, please visit the UT Libraries PubMed LibGuide.

All apps are available through your preferred App Store.

PubMed Mobile Apps

*Some purchase may be necessary to view full content.

PubMed Hub
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. PubMed Hub is the mobile component of PubMed and allows users to save their searches, add to favorites, share articles to email or social media, also add your own published articles to your profile and more.
Prime: PubMed Journals & Tools
The free Prime app connects you to the most up-to-date journal citations and abstracts from the complete PubMed database. In addition to the ability to perform powerful searches and link to the publisher’s full text articles, Prime also provides a number of exclusive tools like Grapherence®: an interactive search tool that graphically represents the influence and interrelationships among journal articles and how they are related to each other.
PubMed on Tap
PubMed On Tap searches PubMed and PubMed Central to find, display, and import reference information and pdfs of the full article (if you have access privileges). You can search your personal reference library, organize your references in groups (static and smart), and email references from your device to yourself or others in a form suitable for reading or importing into desktop reference management applications. Many features are optimized for reference retrieval and management (advanced boolean searches, search for Full Text or Free Full text, recall recent searches, etc.).

Available only on the App Store for ioS for $2.99.

All apps are available through your preferred App Store.

Medical Journal Mobile Apps

*Available through UT Libraries Subscription

Read by QxMD
Read by QxMD seamlessly integrates with your institution to allow for automatic one-tap access to full text articles.
Annals of Internal Medicine
The Annals of Internal Medicine app gives you easy access to the latest articles from Annals of Internal Medicine. The app is free to download. ALL USERS can view free articles and subscribers can log in to view subscriber only content.

Available at App Store or Google Play

JN Listen
Stay current on key topics in clinical medicine – and earn CME on your time – with engaging podcasts based on peer-reviewed articles published in JAMA.
The New England Journal of Medicine
The NEJM has been mobile-optimized and can be accessed using any mobile device through the website itself.
The NEJM Image Challenge App can be bought and downloaded for $9.99. The app randomly selects from over 400 challenging clinical photos published weekly in the NEJM Images in Clinical Medicine series. Choose an image and answer multiple-choice questions.
more...less...
*Please note that the NEJM iPad app and the Kindle app have been discontinued and can no longer be downloaded.

Looking for additional medical apps not featured here? Check out iMedical Apps, a medical app review site

with thousands of reviews by trusted medical professionals.

Acknowledgment

The Mobile Apps section was created and developed by UT iSchool graduate student Lindsay Wendlandt, in Spring 2021 as part of her Capstone Project.