This library contains a comprehensive searchable database of reporting guidelines for study types. In addition, you will find examples of good research reporting and a collection of guides, books, courses, presentations, and other resources to guide you in your scientific writing.
Brief Guidelines for Methods and Statistics in Medical Research by Jamalludin Bin Ab RahmanThis book serves as a practical guide to methods and statistics in medical research. It includes step-by-step instructions on using SPSS software for statistical analysis, as well as relevant examples to help those readers who are new to research in health and medical fields. Simple texts and diagrams are provided to help explain the concepts covered, and print screens for the statistical steps and the SPSS outputs are provided, together with interpretations and examples of how to report on findings. Brief Guidelines for Methods and Statistics in Medical Research offers a valuable quick reference guide for healthcare students and practitioners conducting research in health related fields, written in an accessible style.
Publication Date: 2015
The Design of Studies for Medical Research by David Machin; Michael J. CampbellThe same careful rigour imposed on the design of phase III randomised controlled trials is not always applied to medical research in other areas such as trials conducted at earlier stages of drug development. With the emphasis that is now placed on evidence-based medicine, such care and rigour will inevitably impact on these areas with increasing attention turned to the quality of design. This title describes what principles can be used to structure research effectively allowing for the required degree of accuracy. Written by two best selling authors, this book includes many examples from medical literature and will be of great value to all groups conducting studies at the interface of clinical and laboratory research.
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Research Design by Neil J. SalkindThe 'Encyclopedia of Research Design' seeks to elucidate how one makes decisions about research design, interpret data and draw valid inferences, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, and evaluate experimental design strategies and results.
Publication Date: 2010
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by J. Glenn Forister; J. Dennis BlessingIntroduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.
Publication Date: 2019
Research Methods for Medical Graduates by Abhaya IndrayanThis book discusses the why and how of each step of data-based medical research that can provide basic information to emerging researchers and medical graduate students who write theses or publish articles. The chapters are arranged in the sequence of steps for data-based research. The research steps are comprehensively covered from the selection of the topic to the final publication. Reporting methods such as CONSORT, STARD, and SAMPL guidelines are also covered. Each chapter has separately earmarked examples from the contemporary literature that illustrate the different research methods. Key Features Discusses all the steps of data-based medical research Examines the topics in depth by way of examples from contemporary literature Features notable information in boxes for special attention .
Publication Date: 2019
What are the five main study types in medical writing?
Randomized controlledtrials (RCTs) provide reliable answers as to howhow effective a treatment is by comparing its effects with no treatment or a different form of treatment by randomly assigning participants to one of two or more groups.
Cohort studies involve "two (or more) groups that are exposed to different things are compared with each other."
Case-control studies "compare people who have a certain medical condition with people who do not have the medical condition, but who are otherwise as similar as possible."
Cross-sectional studies involve a random sample of people that are surveyed, and this is usually a quick and inexpensive type of study.
Qualitative studies are "based on information collected by talking to people who have a particular medical condition and people close to them;" written documents and/or observations can be used as well." 1
1. InformedHealth.org [Internet]. Cologne, Germany: Institute for Quality and Efficiency in Health Care (IQWiG); 2006-. What types of studies are there? 2016 Jun 15 [Updated 2016 Sep 8]. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK390304/