Medical Writing A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by Robert B. TaylorThis book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Publication Date: 2018
How to Write Better Medical Papers by Michael HannaThis book guides medical researchers through all stages of transforming their data and ideas into a published paper. Many researchers in medicine struggle to get their research written and published. One reason for this is that most medical researchers have not received much instruction in the subjects needed to write and publish scientific papers: research methodology, ethics, statistics, data visualization, writing, revising, and the practicalities of publishing. This book tackles all the major scientific issues that routinely lead to manuscripts getting rejected from the journals. The section “Preparing” covers the range of methodological, ethical, and practical aspects that researchers need to address before starting to write their paper. The section “Analyzing” reviews commonplace problems in the statistical analysis and presentation, and how to resolve those problems. The section “Drafting” describes what to write in the various parts of a paper (the Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, Abstract, etc.) The section “Revising” explains and illustrates how to improve the writing style of any manuscript. The section “Publishing” discusses how to navigate the peer review process and all other practical aspects of the publishing phase. The entire book draws on the author’s decade of experience as an independent medical writer and research consultant. More importantly, the book is grounded in the existing scientific and scholarly literature, with extensive references and an annotated bibliography. After reading this book, medical researchers will know how to write better quality medical papers, so they can publish their work in better journals with less time and struggle.
Scientific and Medical Communication by Scott A. MogullScientific and Medical Communication: A Guide for Effective Practice prepares readers to effectively communicate in professional scientific communities. The material in this book is firmly grounded in more than 500 published research findings and editorials by scientific writers, authors, and journal editors. Thus, this text provides the broadest and most comprehensive analysis of scientific writing. In addition, carefully selected and thoroughly annotated examples from the scientific and medical literature demonstrate the recommendations covered in the text. These real-world examples were carefully selected so that the scientific content can be understood by those without a detailed background in any particular scientific or medical field--thus clearly illustrating the content organization and writing style. This text will prepare individuals to write and edit scientific manuscripts, conference abstracts, posters, and press releases according to journal and professional standards. Readers will also learn to conduct effective searches of the scientific and medical literature, as well as proper citation practices.
Publication Date: 2017
Journal article writing and publication : your guide to mastering clinical health care reporting standards by Sharon A. GutmanThe ability to demonstrate that a specific health care profession provides valuable and effective services that meet society's health needs is a major objective for all health care academicians and researchers. Such skills are critical to ensure service reimbursement from an increasingly small pool of health care dollars. Demonstrating clinical effectiveness depends on the reporting of written research results through journal publication so that the health care community and larger society will be able to access and read evidence supporting health care services. Today, several clinical reporting standard guidelines have been created by researchers to enhance the ability of readers to evaluate the quality and value of studies. Journal Article Writing and Publication is the first text to compile those clinical research reporting standards in one source and helps educators and novice researchers to better understand the skills needed for journal publication. Health care researchers must begin using these reporting standards in order to write manuscripts that are both correctly formatted and transparently convey all critical study strengths and limitations. Educators must teach these reporting standards to students who must evaluate research reports as consumers and possible future contributors to the literature through their own writing. Journal Article Writing and Publication by Dr. Sharon A. Gutman (a former editor of the American Journal of Occupational Therapy) provides specific guidelines, based on the most commonly accepted reporting standards, for the preparation and writing of general research studies, intervention effectiveness studies, instrument development and testing studies, and case reports. A section is devoted to helping authors understand the rules governing the reporting of statistical data in text and tables. Separate sections help authors understand the manuscript preparation and submission process, the revision process, and the etiquette guiding communication with editors and reviewers. Guidelines for the preparation of scholarly discussion papers and editorials are also provided. Journal Article Writing and Publication also features a section that aims to help doctoral students and newly minted faculty turn academic work and dissertations into publishable journal articles. Suggestions are provided to help clinicians turn clinical data into research databases that could serve as the foundation for pilot studies. Finally, information is provided to help authors better understand the ethical considerations of publication including plagiarism, dual submissions, inappropriate authorship, copyright, and conflict of interest.
Publication Date: 2017
The Biomedical Writer: what you need to succeed in academic medicine by Yellowlees Douglas; Maria B. GrantCo-authored by a leading ophthalmology researcher and a professor with fifteen years of experience teaching writing in the biomedical sciences, The Biomedical Writer addresses ways to use psychology and neuroscience to equip researchers and clinicians with an understanding of how effects like priming, primacy, recency, framing, and apparent paradoxes can make or break your articles and grant proposals. The Biomedical Writer covers everything from making sentences readable, effective, and memorable to working with collaborators under unforgiving deadlines. Going far beyond the basic structure and content of manuscripts and proposals, this guide to writing in biomedicine also focuses on topics that include handling negative results and the most important and neglected step in submitting manuscripts to journals.
Publication Date: 2018
How to Publish in Biomedicine: 500 Tips for Success by John Dixon; Louise Alder; Jane FraserGetting published is crucial for success in biomedicine. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced writer, you will find this book has fresh, practical tips on everyday issues. Based on the authors' successful training courses and extensive experience of healthcare communications, this book will answer your questions and help you to avoid the most frequent problems and pitfalls. The book is designed to be very practical, and to be used when you are actually writing. It does not need to be read straight through from beginning to end before you get started. Instead, just dip into any chapter and you will find a range of tips relevant to the material you are working on right now.
Publication Date: 2017
Medical and Scientific Publishing: Author, Editor, and Reviewer Perspectives by Jasna Markovac (Editor); Molly Kleinman (Editor); Michael Englesbe (Editor)Very few doctors and scientists receive any sort of systematic training in publishing, editing, and reviewing scholarly articles, despite the central importance of that work for scientific research and for their careers. Medical and Scientific Publishing will help fill the gap and help readers to: Understand processes of scientific and medical publishing Understand the role of an academic in medical publishing Become a better scientific communicator Develop skills to effectively serve as the editor of a medical journal Medical and Scientific Publishing is based on a successful course at the University of Michigan Medical School for third and fourth year medical students. The course teaches students not just how to write scientific and medical articles, but addresses key issues surrounding copyright, ethics, open access and much more. Students will build a strong foundation on how to do peer review and how to be authors and editors which are important skills in building a professional career. Covers a full range of essential information - explanation of publishing licenses, copyright and permissions, how to do peer review, how to write effectively, how journal publishing works, and much more Emphasizes rigor, quality, and scientific integrity in writing, editing, and publishing Focuses on authorship and editorial skills by experienced authors and publishers
Publication Date: 2018
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare: Getting it Right by Karen Holland (Editor); Roger Watson (Editor)Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable guide to 'getting it right', focusing on all aspects of writing for publication. It will help the reader to develop skills in writing articles, book reviews and other forms of publications, and can also be used as an aide-mémoire for editors and journal or book reviewers. It explores: How to get started How to write various forms of publication including abstracts, papers, book reviews, journal articles and books Good practice in reviewing The editorial process Ethical and legal aspects of publishing Offering guidance, tips, examples and activities, this practical how-to book written by experts in the field is essential reading for all nurses and healthcare professionals.
Publication Date: 2012
Introduction to Health Research Methods by Kathryn H. JacobsenDesigned to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research.The Third Edition has been significantly updated to include:- Expanded coverage of qualitative research methods, including new chapters on qualitative study design, data collection, and data analysis.- Additional glossary terms that clarify key terminology for all stages of the research process and a diversity of study approaches.- Enhanced explanations of how to select and implement quantitative and qualitative research and analysis methodologies. - New and updated coverage of topics such as framing research questions, developing testable hypotheses, defining specific aims, responsibly conducting research, selecting study designs, minimizing bias, applying theoretical paradigms, ensuring rigor and reproducibility, conducting quality assessment, managing grants, and more.
Publication Date: 2020
Reporting and Publishing Research in the Biomedical Sciences by Peush Sahni (Editor); Rakesh Aggarwal (Editor)This book eases the task of converting research work into a manuscript, and covers the recent developments in publishing that often stump budding researchers. Few researchers in the biomedical sciences are trained in the essential skills of reporting their results, and they seek help in writing a paper that will be acceptable for publication in the 'right' journal, and in presenting their results 'effectively' at a meeting. As well as covering the basic aspects of preparing manuscripts for publication, the book discusses best practices and issues relating to the publication of biomedical research, including topics such as peer-review, authorship, plagiarism, conflicts of interest, publication misconduct, electronic publishing and open-access journals. With more than two decades of experience in conducting workshops on writing scientific papers, the editors have brought together the expertise of 29 authors from seven countries to produce this one-stop guide to publishing research in biomedical sciences. This book is intended for young researchers who are beginning their careers and wish to hone their skills and understand the rigors of research writing and publishing.