How to Write Technical Reports Understandable Structure, Good Design, Convincing Presentation by 
Technical Writing by
Technical Writing: A Practical Guide for Engineers, Scientists, and Nontechnical Professionals, Second Edition enables readers to write, edit, and publish materials of a technical nature, including books, articles, reports, and electronic media. Written by a renowned engineer and widely published technical author, this guide complements traditional writer's reference manuals on technical writing through presentation of first-hand examples that help readers understand practical considerations in writing and producing technical content. These examples illustrate how a publication originates as well as various challenges and solutions. The second edition contains new material in every chapter including new topics, additional examples, insights, tips and tricks, new vignettes and more exercises. Appendices have been added for writing checklists and writing samples. The references and glossary have been updated and expanded.　 In addition, a focus on writing for the nontechnical persons working in the technology world and the nonnative English speaker has been incorporated. Written in an informal, conversational style, unlike traditional college writing texts, the book also contains many interesting vignettes and personal stories　to add interest to　otherwise stodgy lessons.
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by
Helps both engineers and students improve their writing skills by learning to analyze target audience, tone, and purpose in order to effectively write technical documents This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields is broken up into two sections: "Writing in Engineering Organizations" and "What Can You Do With Writing?" The first section helps readers approach their writing in a logical and persuasive way as well as analyze their purpose for writing. The second section demonstrates how to distinguish rhetorical situations and the generic forms to inform, train, persuade, and collaborate. The emergence of the global workplace has brought with it an increasingly important role for effective technical communication. Engineers more often need to work in cross-functional teams with people in different disciplines, in different countries, and in different parts of the world. Engineers must know how to communicate in a rapidly evolving global environment, as both practitioners of global English and developers of technical documents. Effective communication is critical in these settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields Addresses the increasing demand for technical writing courses geared toward engineers Allows readers to perfect their writing skills in order to present knowledge and ideas to clients, government, and general public Covers topics most important to the working engineer, and includes sample documents Includes a companion website that offers engineering documents based on real projects The IEEE Guide to Engineering Communication is a handbook developed specifically for engineers and engineering students. Using an argumentation framework, the handbook presents information about forms of engineering communication in a clear and accessible format. This book introduces both forms that are characteristic of the engineering workplace and principles of logic and rhetoric that underlie these forms. As a result, students and practicing engineers can improve their writing in any situation they encounter, because they can use these principles to analyze audience, purpose, tone, and form.
Better Physician Writing and Speaking Skills by
This book covers the theory and practice of writing and speaking in professional settings for practitioners, educators and researchers in healthcare. A thought-provoking work, written by John J. Gartland, MD, Medical Editor at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia and past president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, it will stimulate readers and change their perspectives on all forms of communication with their patients and colleagues. Uniquely, it also shows how to prepare an interesting, well-organized and well-written grant proposal to maximize the chances of obtaining funding. An essential resource for physicians and residents in all specialties, medical students, and educators and researchers, particularly those applying for research grants or wanting to publish articles. "Developing acceptable writing and speaking skills should be major goals for all physicians to attain because the very nature of the medical profession is such that few physicians can escape the need to speak and write in their professional careers. I share with you concepts and strategies about medical writing, medical speaking, and patient communication skills that have worked well for me over a long medical career. My hope is that these suggested communication and writing strategies will work as well for you as they have for me." - John Gartland, in the foreword.
A Concise Guide to Communication in Science and Engineering by
Success in scientific and engineering research depends on effective writing and presentation. The purpose of this guide is to help the reader achieve that goal. It enables students and researchers to write and present material to a professional modern standard, efficiently and painlessly, and with maximum impact. The approach is not prescriptive. Rather, the emphasis is on a logical approach to communication, informed by what needs to be achieved, what works in practice, and what interferes with success. Over 400 examples of good and bad writing and graphing are presented. Each is from a published research article and is accompanied by analysis, comment, and correction where needed. Journal reviewers' critiques of submitted manuscripts are included to illustrate common pitfalls. Above all, this is a "how-to" book, comprehensive but concise, suitable for continuous study or quick reference. Checklists at the end of each chapter enable the reader to test the readiness of a dissertation, journal submission, or conference presentation for assessment or review. Although oriented towards engineering and the physical and life sciences, it is also relevant to other areas, including behavioural and clinical sciences and medicine.
The Craft of Scientific Writing by
The Craft of Scientific Writing is designed to help scientists and engineers - both professionals already active in the disciplines as well as students preparing to enter the professions - write about their work clearly and effectively. Written for use as a text in courses on scientific writing, the book includes many useful suggestions about approaching a wide variety of writing tasks from journal papers to grant proposals and from emails to formal reports, as well as a concise guide to style and usage appropriate for scientific writing. Also useful for self-study, the book will be an important reference for all scientists and engineers who need to write about their work. With this new and updated fourth edition, while most technical writing texts have gotten larger over the years, this one has streamlined, to provide busy readers with the essence of what distinguishes the style of the best scientific documents. With this new edition, readers will learn not just how to organize information, but how to emphasize the key details of that information. Also, readers will not just learn how to cast their ideas into precise and clear sentences, but how to connect these sentences in an energetic fashion. In the section on language, the new edition goes into much depth about how to make connections between ideas: an important issue that few technical writing texts address. Moreover, the new edition integrates the discussion of illustrations with language because those two aspects of style are so intertwined. Finally, the new edition does a better job of explaining how to make the process of writing more efficient. From a review of the first edition: "A refreshing addition to a genre dominated by English teacher-style textbooks. Instead of listing rules that constrain writers, the book uses examples to lay out the path to successful communication ... Especially helpful (and entertaining) is the chapter on the writing process. Anyone who has spent more time avoiding a writing task than actually doing it will appreciate Alley's tips." -Dr. Ellen Ochoa, Deputy Director of Flight Crew Operations, Johnson Space Center
What is a technical report?
Technical reports detail the process, progress, and/or results of technical research. They typically contain a "cover and title page, abstract, table of contents, summary, introduction, body, results, conclusions and recommendations, nomenclature, references, and appendix." 1
1. Gary Blake and Robert W. Bly. The Elements of Technical Writing, pgs. 119-121. New York: Macmillan Publishers, 1993. ISBN 0020130856. https://search.lib.utexas.edu/permalink/01UTAU_INST/be14ds/alma991001209789706011
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.