Critical Appraisal from Papers to Patient Care by
Having an understanding of critical appraisal and evidence-based medicine is a prerequisite to being an effective clinician. However, critical appraisal is often taught by people not involved in day-to-day clinical care, meaning the clinical relevance is not always brought to the fore. This book takes a different approach. It is written by clinicians, for clinicians. It takes the reader step by step through the process so that any journal article can be easily read, evidence evaluated and the results - and their reliability - truly understood. By integrating this with knowledge of local skills and resources and patient preference, the reader will be able to apply the best possible care that his or her patients deserve. This accessible book is suitable for undergraduates and postgraduates of all medical specialties, nursing, paramedics, pharmacists and all allied health professions. It is the ideal reference for anyone needing help writing a clinical topic review, reviewing a paper in a journal club or preparing for a critical appraisal exam. But most importantly, it is essential for those who wish to practice medicine in the best possible way for their patients, using the best evidence, tailored to the individual.
Critical reading making sense of papers in life sciences and medicine by
Textbooks are designed to teach, explain and make complex information easily understood and assimilated. Research papers do the reader no such favours. Being able to understand and use primary research is an essential tool in any scientific career. This book teaches these valuable skills simply and clearly, saving hours in the long run. Critical Readingexplains how to: approach every paper methodically spot work aimed to support a pet theory gain confidence in questioning what you read be alert to bias use abstracts intelligently identify suspect experimental methods assess quantitative methodology interpret results with confidence draw inferences from published work. Using extracts from published Papers in Focus, this book imparts valuable know-how to students and researchers from any biomedical or biological discipline. The text is easily read and understood and the use of key points, summaries and reference reinforces good technique. ces from published work. Using extracts from published Papers in Focus, this book imparts valuable know-how to students and researchers from any biomedical or biological discipline. The text is easily read and understood and the use of key points, summaries and reference reinforces good technique.
Critical Thinking and the Process of Evidence-Based Practice by
In Critical Thinking and the Process of Evidence-Based Practice, Eileen Gambrill provides a detailed description of the process of evidence-based practice (EBP), designed to help individual practitioners and their clients make informed decisions. This book clearly distinguishes EBP from thepromotion of EBPs, and discusses the origins of the process as well as related controversies and implementation obstacles. Ethical obligations to involve clients as informed participants are emphasized including attention to the close connection between evidentiary and ethical issues. The textfeatures chapters covering clinical expertise, argumentation, avoidance of biases and fallacies, and common organizational and personal obstacles in optimizing quality of services. It serves as a valuable resource to professionals and students in the helping professions.
Fundamentals of Evidence Based Medicine by
This is a basic book on evidence-based medicine (EBM). It starts with an introduction to the topic. It outlines the relationship between EBM and research and quality of care. Then It goes on to cover the most commonly used modules of EBM, i.e. therapy, diagnosis, prognosis and meta-analysis. Each module starts with an introduction to fundamental concepts, and description of the related research process, and then follows the critical appraisal of related type of research artcle. At the end, it covers the different systems of grading of level of evidence and strength of recommendations. The book also has three examples of critical appraisal on diagnosis, therapy, and meta-analysis.​
How to Read a Paper by
How to Read a Paper describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications. The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level. Changes for the 4th edition The fourth edition will include two new chapters on important developments in health care research and delivery, but otherwise retains its original style, size, and scope. New chapter on quality improvement - describing papers on quality improvement projects using ebm methods; this will extend the readership to non clinical health care professionals working in hospitals and family practice, and to nurse specialists and practice nurses working in this field New chapter on complex interventions - how to set up research projects involving both qualitative and quantitative methodology (known as mixed methods) Thorough revision and updating of existing chapters and references New illustrations - diagrammatic representations of ebm concepts
Painless Evidence-Based Medicine by
This updated edition of Painless Evidence-Based Medicine presents basic concepts and application of research statistics in simple and practical manner creating an introductory approach to the complex and technical subject of evidence-based medicine from experienced teachers. A simplified introductory approach to the complex and technical subject of evidence-based medicine from experienced teachers Approaches learning from the vantage point of clinical questions on therapy, diagnosis, prognosis or harm rather than the framework of study designs Provides tables and boxed case studies throughout highlighting key topics, or difficult issues, in an easy to read manner Emphasizes applicability of EBM, encouraging readers to dissect the evidence and how results can be applied to individual patients with different circumstances, varying values and preferences New to the Second Edition are chapters on health screening, clinical practice guidelines, and major updates incorporating recommended trial criteria
The Philosophy of Evidence-Based Medicine by
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) has become a required element of clinical practice, but it is critical for the healthcare community to understand the ongoing controversy surrounding EBM. Seeking to address questions raised by critics, The Philosophy of Evidence-based Medicine challenges the over dependency of EBM on randomized controlled trials. This book also explores EBM methodology and its relationship with other approaches used in medicine.
Pocket Evidence Based Medicine by
This concise, easy-to-read pocket guide offers medical trainees, researchers, and clinicians at every level the perfect resource on Evidence Based Medicine (EBM). Based on the author's many years of experience teaching EBM to medical students and medical residents at Columbia University, this handy title addresses not only all the basic concepts and issues in EBM, but also takes an example-based approach and is replete with numerous illustrations. This brief book provides readers with all the tools needed to tell the good from the bad in healthcare research. It discusses every type of study design, from the assessment of diagnostic tests to clinical trials and meta-analysis. The work also introduces readers to novel methods, such as the Bayesian analysis of clinical trials. In addition, to help readers better retain the information, the guide includes thought-provoking review questions and answers in an appendix. In all, Pocket Evidence-Based Medicine: A Survival Guide for Clinicians and Students is an ideal resource for anyone who encounters statistics in their studies or career, including clinicians, researchers, trainees in medicine and graduate students in a wide range of other disciplines
Searching Skills Toolkit by
Searching Skills Toolkit is an expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals. This second edition has been expanded with new chapters on searching for sources to support evidence-based management decision making and how to better enable your patients to make informed choices. It has also been fully updated to include new web sources, open source reference management software, and new training resources and exercises. Searching Skills Toolkit is an ideal reference for doctors, nurses, allied health professionals, managers and decision makers, researchers and students.
Teaching Evidence-Based Medicine by
Practicing evidence-based medicine is widely regarded both as best clinical practice, and as the cornerstone of meeting the ACGME competencies in Practice-Based Learning and Improvement. Training programs recognize the need to teach the skills of EBM and yet struggle with readily available content and guidance on putting together a curriculum. Time frames for delivering curricula in residency can be very tight, often restricted to scattered one hour conferences. This book provides a modular curriculum structure for instructors, with each topic area taking up one section, or one hour of instructional time. Developed over the past 14 years as an introductory course for interns in the internal medicine residency program at Duke, the curriculum will cover core content areas in evidence-based medicine and best teaching practices for them and skills such as literature searching and applying evidence to patients. Most importantly, it will center on actual patient questions and use current literature as examples that instructors can use as teaching exercises. There will also be ample diagrams that have been shown to be effective with learners and each module will include a video tutorial of a sample teaching session, including visual aids and small group teaching techniques. The curriculum can be implemented in any time frame necessary, compressed or longitudinal, to a variety of learners. This is an ideal guide for residency program directors and core faculty, either within internal medicine or more broadly in family medicine, pediatrics, surgery, OB-gyn, as well as medical school faculty for use with students.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature by
The #1 guide to the principles and clinical applications of evidence-based medicine has just gotten better A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE for 2011 No other resource helps you to put key evidence-based medicine protocols into daily clinical practice better than "Users' Guides to the Medical Literature." An instant classic in its first edition, this detailed, yet highly readable reference demystifies the statistical, analytical, and clinical principles of evidence-based medicine, giving you a hands-on, practical resource that no other text can match. Here, you'll learn how to distinguish solid medical evidence from poor medical evidence, devise the best search strategies for each clinical question, critically appraise the medical literature, and optimally tailor evidence-based medicine for each patient. The new second edition of this landmark resource is now completely revised and refreshed throughout, with expanded coverage of both basic and advanced issues in using evidence-based medicine in clinical practice. FEATURES: Completely revised and updated to reflect the enormous expansion in medical research and evidence-based resources since the first edition Innovative organization guides you from the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in every day patient care situations Abundant and current real-world examples drawn from the medical literature are woven throughout, and include important related principles and pitfalls in using medical literature in patient care decisions Practical focus on the key issues in evidence-based practice: What are the results? Are the results valid? How to I apply to results to the care of my patients? More than 60 internationally recognized editors and contributors from the U.S., Canada, South America, Europe, and Asia -- the best of the best in the discipline NEW coverage on how to: --Avoid being misled by biased presentations of research findings --Interpret the significance of clinical trials that are discontinued early --Influence clinician behavior to improve patient care --Apply key strategies for teaching evidence-based medicine Also look for JAMAevidence.com, a new interactive database for the best practice of evidence based medicine.
Additional Evidence Based Medicine tutorials and guides
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice tutorial, developed by Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives and UNC Health Sciences Library
Evidence-Based Medicine guide, created by the Lamar Soutter Library at the University of Massachusetts Medical School
Evidence-Based Medicine: A Guide, created by the Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences, Tulane University
Evidence Based Practice, created by the TMC (Texas Medical Center) Library
Evidence-Based Medicine, created by the University Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Understanding Health Research: A Tool for Making Sense of Health Studies, developed by the Public Health Sciences Unit of the University of Glasgow
Evidence-Based Medicine: Teaching Materials, created by Dartmouth Library
Mind the Gap, from the National Institutes of Health VideoCasting and Podcasting
Evidence Based Medicine organizations
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, University of Oxford
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.