Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Medicine

Medical News

Medical News. August 9, 2019

Read by QxMD

We have partnered with Read by QxMD to bring you easy access to our library journal subscriptions.

This app is a literature surveillance/table of contents alert app which provides a single place to keep up with new medical and scientific research. 

  • Curate your feed by filtering for your professional specialty and your favorite journals. 
  • Save collections of articles that are important to you.
  • Browse abstracts and download full text articles available through the UT Libraries' journal subscriptions. 

The app is available via the Apple App Store and the Google Play store. The Read web app is also available for use on your computer.

Quick Set Up

Download Read by QxMD at this website: http://qx.md/read, or in the Apple or Google Play app store. A web version is also available at https://readbyqxmd.com

After installing the app on your smart device, follow these steps:

Step 1: click on settings cogwheel

 

Step 2: Click on "Institutional Access"

 

Step 3: Add your institution , i.e. University of Texas at Austin, then set up automatic login with your UT EID and password

Add your institution , i.e. University of Texas at Austin, then set up automatic login with your UT EID and password

 

Need more information?  Look at these resources:

Medical News. June 10, 2019

Medical Preprint Server Debuts

"Clinical researchers can now share initial versions of their manuscripts through a free preprint server modeled after websites where physicists and biologists post papers before they appear in a peer-reviewed journal. Today, its organizers announced that medRxiv is taking submissions and will begin to post papers later this month. Co-sponsored by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL) in New York, which created the bioRxiv preprint server in 2013, Yale University, and publisher The BMJ, the site aims to address concerns about posting draft papers on health science research involving human subjects by screening them carefully for select criteria and prominently labeling the papers as unreviewed."  Read entire article at https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2019/06/medical-preprint-server-debuts

 

Other preprint servers:

bioRXiv (biology) - https://www.biorxiv.org/

arXiv (physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering, systems science, economics) - https://arxiv.org/

PeerJ PrePrints (medicine, biology & life sciences, computer science, general bio) - https://peerj.com/preprints-search/?type=preprint

SOC ARXIV (arts and humanities, education, law, social and behavioral sciences) - https://osf.io/preprints/socarxiv

PsyArXiv (psychological sciences) - https://psyarxiv.com/

Many institutions have institutional repositories where you can submit your preprint article.  At UT, that repository is called Texas ScholarWorks - https://repositories.lib.utexas.edu/

 

What is a preprint? There are three main versions of a published scholarly article:

  1. The preprint is the non-peer-reviewed version
  2. The author's accepted manuscript is the version that has gone through peer review and is now ready for publication in a journal
  3. The publisher's version is the final version which appears in the print and/or online journal

 

What are the benefits of submitting your preprint manuscript to a preprint server?

  1. Your research becomes available more quickly
  2. Your research gets broader exposure because all preprint repositories are open-access, meaning anyone can access your article, i.e. it is not behind a subscription paywall
  3. Preprint publishing fosters open science - people who can't afford access to the official journal publication can still read your work and benefit from it
  4. Depending on your research funder/grant, this submission to a preprint server may meet your funder's mandate for open-access publishing

What are the disadvantages?

  1. There is a perception/misunderstanding that preprints are manuscripts that cannot pass peer review
  2. There is a risk that invalid findings may be disseminated by undiscriminating readers
  3. Authors worry that if their research is disseminated as a preprint, it may affect its acceptance into publication by a journal

Read the following articles for more discussion about the pros and cons:

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. ChemRxiv: Publishing in the age of preprint servers. March 2018. https://doi.org/10.17226/25050

Bourne PE, Polka JK, Vale RD, Kiley R. Ten simple rules to consider regarding preprint submission.  PLOS Computational Biology. 2017, May 4. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pcbi.100547 

 

Wait!  Will the journal publisher who publishes my final version allow me to submit my preprint manuscript to a preprint repository?

  1. Read the contract with your publisher - look for the CTA (Copyright Transfer Agreement) which should define your publisher's definition of a preprint.
  2. Or, search in SHERPA/RoMEO by journal or publisher to find out specific preprint policies.

Medical News. April 8, 2019

Need instructions on how to comply with the NIH Public Access Policy?

UT Libraries has a comprehensive guide on how to submit your final peer-reviewed journal manuscript, resulting from NIH funded research, to the PubMed Central digital archive - https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/nih-public-access .

The guide answers:

  • What is the NIH Public Access Policy?
  • Does this policy apply to my article?
  • How do I make sure my journal publisher and my signed agreement with the publisher complies with the NIH policy?
  • How do I submit an applicable paper to PubMed Central?
  • How do I use "My NCBI" to track and manage compliance with NIH Policy?
  • What is a PMCID number and when and where must I provide this number?

 

 

Medical News. February 20, 2019

The National Library of Medicine and Wellcome Trust Have Partnered to Provide Free Access to Hundreds of Years of Medical Research

Two dozen journal titles have been added to the historical biomedical journal collection available through PubMed Central (PMC) and Europe PMC.  This historical biomedical collection spans three centuries and encompasses hundreds of thousands of pages.   Newly added titles include the Glasgow Medical Journal, with coverage back to its first year in publication, 1828; Hospital, dating back to 1886; London Medical Journal, 1781-1800; and other British titles.  The National Library of Medicine engaged in a journals backfiles digitization project from 2004-2010 and is currently partnering with Wellcome Trust "to make thousands of complete back issues of historically-significant biomedical journals freely available online." See complete announcement here.

The complete journal list of PMC is available here. In addition to the journals already mentioned, here are some other historical journals found in PMC:

Medical News. January 2, 2019

Today is Public Domain Day 2019!

 

What does this mean?

This means that for the first time in twenty years, published works will enter the public domain.

What is the Public Domain?

The public domain is the term used to signify published works whose copyright has expired and thus these works can now be used without obtaining permission from  or compensating the author/creator. New editions may be spun off by anybody, derivative works may be created (think movies or plays, comic books, sequels or stories based on the original), and ownership of the original work is no longer solely in the hands of the author/creator but equally belongs to the public and ultimately to history.

Don't published works get released into the Public Domain every year?

Well the answer should be "yes," but in 1998, many corporate voices strongly advocated for longer copyrights. A new law was passed that affected all works that were due to enter the Public Domain in 1998.  The original copyright law stated that all works published before 1978 are under copyright protection for 75 years. This new law added 20  years onto the copyright of works that were published before 1978. Read more details at Smithsonian. com, "For the First Time in More Than 20 Years, Copyrighted Works Will Enter the Public Domain." 

Where can I find works that are in the Public Domain?

Here are a few websites to explore:

See the "Medical Heritage Library" collection

See the page for "Medicine." 

Medical News: December 5, 2018

Clinical Practice Guidelines can now be accessed from the ECRI Guidelines Trust website

 

ECRI Institute has committed to providing an evidence-based clinical guidelines website at no cost. ECRI Guidelines Trust "fills the void left by the de-funded National Guideline Clearinghouse to give healthcare professionals access to trustworthy guideline resources." Create a free account to access the guideline briefs.  Each guideline brief includes a TRUST scorecard; guidelines were vetted by experts and evaluated against the Institute of Medicine Standards for Developing Trustworthy Clinical Practice Guidelines. TRUST stands for Transparency and Rigor Using Standards of Trustworthiness.

 

Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on Standards for Developing Trustworthy Clinical Practice Guidelines, Graham R, Mancher M, Miller Wolman D, et al., editors. Clinical Practice Guidelines We Can Trust. Washington, DC: National Academies; 2011 Press.  https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK209538/

Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. Report Brief: Clinical practice guidelines we can trust. Washington, DC: Institute of Medicine of the National Academies; 2011. https://www.nap.edu/resource/13058/Clinical-Practice-Guidelines-2011-Report-Brief.pdf 

Article of the Week

Each week, a new article is featured to highlight either a Dell Medical School author, a topic of importance to the mission and vision of the Dell Medical School, or to spark debate and/or discussion on the present and future of medical education, practice, or research. 

Find the current article of the week and the archive here.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.