The two major databases you will use for medical textbooks:
Additional medical textbooks can be found in these databases:
Looking for a quick definition of a medical term? Try out some of these dictionaries:
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th Edition has been thoroughly reviewed and updated to make this dictionary the most reliable resource available for healthcare, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. This new edition includes more than 107,000 terms and definitions, more than 5,000 new to this edition. More than 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, and rheumatology. The art program has also been extensively enhanced and now includes approximately 1,500 images and illustrations. Readers will recognize the authoritative content contained in this new edition, and want to add it to their list of must have references.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Taber's brings meanings to life. In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 24 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects today's most current and relevant information. An access code inside new, print texts unlocks a FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, the complete Taber's database for quick reference when and where you need it. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Five Stars "What every medical student, student nurse, paramedic student, and medical professional should have."--Kelly, Online Reviewer EVERYTHING A NURSING STUDENT NEEDS. "My school did not recommend this book, but I remembered this book from LPN school and how much it helped with care planning. It's much easier to carry than all the textbooks to clinicals too! LOVE this newest version too!!"--Melissa A. B., Online Reviewer Nursing school life saver. "This book has been a great for my clinical experience databases. I love how it's broken into sections for easy access and understanding. My school offers an electronic edition for free to us, but I like hard copy books."--P.M., Online Reviewer Gotta Have It! "I have thoroughly used this dictionary already in my schooling! I am sure it will help me in many days to come."--Christina M., Online Reviewer Very Informative! "Love that I have access to the online version that makes it quicker to find terms needed for class."--Kelly V., Online Reviewer Great book. "I use it for nursing school during my clinicals and it is perfect."--Online Reviewer
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations by
Medical acronyms and abbreviations offer convenience, but those countless shortcuts can often be confusing. Now a part of the popular Dorland's suite of products, this reference features thousands of terms from across various medical specialties. Its alphabetical arrangement makes for quick reference, and expanded coverage of symbols ensures they are easier to find. Effective communication plays an important role in all medical settings, so turn to this trusted volume for nearly any medical abbreviation you might encounter. Symbols section makes it easier to locate unusual or seldom-used symbols. Convenient alphabetical format allows you to find the entry you need more intuitively. More than 90,000 entries and definitions. Many new and updated entries including terminology in expanding specialties, such as Nursing; Physical, Occupational, and Speech Therapies; Transcription and Coding; Computer and Technical Fields. New section on abbreviations to avoid, including Joint Commission abbreviations that are not to be used. Incorporates updates suggested by the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP).
The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease (CWHHD) was first published by Cambridge University Press in 1993 and reprinted in 2001. Part VIII, the last section of the work, comprises a history and description of the world's major diseases of yesterday and today in chapters that are organized alphabetically from 'Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)' to 'Yellow Fever'. The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Human Disease makes this last section of CWHHD available to a wider general audience. It condenses the essays into shorter entries, information on AIDS, Alzheimer's disease, Ebola virus disease, and tuberculosis. The Dictionary also makes available three chapters from other parts of the CWHHD on 'Heart-Related Diseases', 'Cancer', and 'Genetic Disease'. This Dictionary contains contributions from over 100 medical and social scientists from all over the globe, making it a truly interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
Biostatistics
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by
Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research. The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed. Features: * Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods * Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues * Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package * Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI * Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model * Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout
Concise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals by
Concise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals focuses on conceptual knowledge and practical advice rather than mathematical details, enhancing its usefulness as a reference for medical professionals. The book defines and describes nearly 1000 commonly and not so commonly used biostatistical terms and methods arranged in alphabetical order. These range from simple terms, such as mean and median to advanced terms such as multilevel models and generalized estimating equations. Synonyms or alternative phrases for each topic covered are listed with a reference to the topic.
Making Sense of Medical Statistics by
Do you want to know what a parametric test is and when not to perform one? Do you get confused between odds ratios and relative risks? Want to understand the difference between sensitivity and specificity? Would like to find out what the fuss is about Bayes' theorem? Then this book is for you! Physicians need to understand the principles behind medical statistics. They don't need to learn the formula. The software knows it already! This book explains the fundamental concepts of medical statistics so that the learner will become confident in performing the most commonly used statistical tests. Each chapter is rich in anecdotes, illustrations, questions, and answers. Not enough? There is more material online with links to free statistical software, webpages, multimedia content, a practice dataset to get hands-on with data analysis, and a Single Best Answer questionnaire for the exam.
Medical Statistics: For Beginners by
This book deals with statistics in medicine in a simple way. The text is supported by abundant examples from medical data. This book aims to explain and simplify the process of data presentation. Further aspects addressed include how to design and conduct clinical trials, and how to write journal articles.
Medical Statistics from A to Z: A Guide for Clinicians and Medical Students by
For clinicians not well-versed in mathematical techniques, medical statistics can be baffling. Understanding these statistics is crucial for the interpretation of literature and the informed judgement of the use of therapies. From 'Abortion rate' to 'Zygosity determination', this accessible introduction to the terminology of medical statistics clearly describes, illustrates and explains over 1500 terms using non-technical language, and without any mathematical formulae! The majority of terms have been updated and revised for this new edition, and almost 150 new definitions have been added, ensuring readers are up to date with the latest practices. Entries are organised alphabetically, and related topics are clearly cross-referenced throughout, to provide fast, easy navigation. Further reading suggestions supplement most definitions, which allows readers to deepen their understanding of the subject. Enabling clinicians and medical students to grasp the meaning of any statistical terms they encounter when studying medical literature, this guide is a real lifesaver.
Medical Statistics from Scratch: an introduction for health professionals by
Correctly understanding and using medical statistics is a key skill for all medical students and health professionals. In an informal and friendly style, Medical Statistics from Scratch provides a practical foundation for everyone whose first interest is probably not medical statistics. Keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum, it clearly illustrates statistical concepts and practice with numerous real-world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature. Medical Statistics from Scratch is an ideal learning partner for all medical students and health professionals needing an accessible introduction, or a friendly refresher, to the fundamentals of medical statistics.
Statistical Literacy for Clinical Practitioners by
This textbook on statistics is written for students in medicine, epidemiology, and public health. It builds on the important role evidence-based medicine now plays in the clinical practice of physicians, physician assistants and allied health practitioners. By bringing research design and statistics to the fore, this book can integrate these skills into the curricula of professional programs. Students, particularly practitioners-in-training, will learn statistical skills that are required of today's clinicians. Practice problems at the end of each chapter and downloadable data sets provided by the authors ensure readers get practical experience that they can then apply to their own work.
Statistics at Square One by
STATISTICS AT SQUARE ONE The new edition of the popular introduction to the world of statistics for health care professionals and medical students First published nearly three decades ago, Statistics at Square One remains one of the most popular introductions to medical statistics. Now in its twelfth edition, this international bestseller continues to be a must-have resource for anyone in need of a thorough introduction to statistics in the health sciences. Clear and accessible chapters help students with no previous background in the subject understand fundamental topics including summary statistics for quantitative and binary data, diagnostic and screening tests, populations and samples, survival analysis, correlation and regression, study design, computer modeling, and more. This edition reflects contemporary understanding of medical statistics and emphasizes the importance of statistics in public health, including extensively updated coverage of diagnostic tests and new COVID-related examples. All figures and examples now include code to reproduce them in the R statistical software. New chapters cover the basics for understanding numbers and introduce the use of models in medical statistical analysis. Based on the author's many years of experience teaching medical and health science students, the latest edition of this classic textbook: Highlights the connections between different medical statistics methods Emphasizes the proper use of p-values in testing Features practical examples from recent literature Contains end-of-chapter exercises with answers, some of which are based on the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) Advanced Knowledge Test Statistics at Square One is required reading for all medical and health care practitioners and students wanting to understand the use and value of statistical analysis in the health sciences.
Study Design
The Design of Studies for Medical Research by
The same careful rigour imposed on the design of phase III randomised controlled trials is not always applied to medical research in other areas such as trials conducted at earlier stages of drug development. With the emphasis that is now placed on evidence-based medicine, such care and rigour will inevitably impact on these areas with increasing attention turned to the quality of design. This title describes what principles can be used to structure research effectively allowing for the required degree of accuracy. Written by two best selling authors, this book includes many examples from medical literature and will be of great value to all groups conducting studies at the interface of clinical and laboratory research.
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
The 'Encyclopedia of Research Design' seeks to elucidate how one makes decisions about research design, interpret data and draw valid inferences, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, and evaluate experimental design strategies and results.
Foundations of Clinical Research by
Become a successful evidence-based practitioner How do you evaluate the evidence? Is the information accurate, relevant and meaningful for clinical decision making? Did the design fit the research questions and was the analysis and interpretation of data appropriate? Here are all the materials you need to take your first steps as evidence-based practitioners...how to use the design, data and analysis of research as the foundation for effective clinical decision making. You'll find support every step of the way as you progress from the foundations of clinical research and concepts of measurement through the processes of designing studies and analyzing data to writing their own research proposal. Five Stars. "Best book I have read explaining research. Not too complicated - but very thorough."--Amazon Reviewer Simply the best. "This is such a valuable resource. Bought it for the DPT program I am enrolled in. I will keep it as an excellent resource. So well written."--Amazon Reviewer ... this is a great book." It explains concepts so well! Our professor changed to this book the next year. All the OTs and PTs in my PhD program have bought this book. This is in my keep forever collection. Everyone in my department has the book and only loans it out with strict instructions for its return."--Kelly A., Amazon Reviewer
Introduction to Health Research Methods by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research.The Third Edition has been significantly updated to include:- Expanded coverage of qualitative research methods, including new chapters on qualitative study design, data collection, and data analysis.- Additional glossary terms that clarify key terminology for all stages of the research process and a diversity of study approaches.- Enhanced explanations of how to select and implement quantitative and qualitative research and analysis methodologies. - New and updated coverage of topics such as framing research questions, developing testable hypotheses, defining specific aims, responsibly conducting research, selecting study designs, minimizing bias, applying theoretical paradigms, ensuring rigor and reproducibility, conducting quality assessment, managing grants, and more.
Essential Concepts in Clinical Research by
This practical guide speaks to two audiences: those who read and those who conduct research. Clinicians are medical detectives by training. For each patient, they assemble clinical clues to establish causes of signs and symptoms. The task involves both clinical acumen and knowledge of medical research. This book helps guide clinicians through this detective work, by enabling them to make sense of research and to review medical literature critically. It will also be invaluable to researchers who conduct clinical research, particularly randomized controlled trials. Building on previously published, peer-reviewed articles from The Lancet, this handbook is essential for busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods. Written by leaders in the field of clinical research who have published extensively with authorship of hundreds of articles in medical journals. The authorship includes one of the three authors of the CONSORT guidelines for the reporting of randomized controlled trials. The book presents the essential concepts to a wide array of topics including randomized control trials, descriptive studies, cohort studies, case-control studies, bias, and screening tests. The book utilises a readable and humorous prose style, lightening what can be a difficult area for clinical readers. Derived from decades of teaching clinical research in seminar settings the book will empower clinicians to make sense of, and critically appraise, current medical research and will enable researchers to enrich the quality of their work. For this Second Edition, the authors have revised and updated the original 16 chapters and added six new chapters. For busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods, this book provides helpful tools to derive satisfaction - indeed, fun - from clinical science.
Search for biomedical journal articles in these databases:
Review articles are good entry points to a topic that is new to a learner
In a Review Article, the author(s) sums up the research on a particular topic. There are many different types of review articles, some are very comprehensive (systematic review, scoping review, meta-analysis), meaning the writer searches for everything relevant to the topic before writing the article. Other review articles (literature review, narrative review, overview) focus on a smaller set of the relevant research on the topic, ultimately including the most important research, to give an overview of the topic.
What does a review article offer a learner?
How does one find review articles? There are special journals that only publish review articles, but many journals publish a wide variety of articles including review articles. Try the following strategies:
Databases - (use filters to limit search results to review articles):
Run a search and then filter to review articles - choices are systematic reviews, meta-analysis, and narrative reviews.
Journals that focus on review articles:
Drug Information
In ClinicalKey, use the general search box to search for a specific drug; in the list of results, choose the "Drug Monograph" result. Or go directly into the "Drug Monograph" section to find the drug of interest.
AHFS® Drug Information® 2024 by
AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available-all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses. With expanded and revised content supported by more than 97,000 references and incorporating the advice of numerous subject matter experts, AHFS DI helps you protect your patients and your practice. Updates in the new edition: Clinical perspective sections that include place of therapy discussions and recommendations from therapeutic guidelines. Expanded coverage of specialty medications used to treat a variety of complex, chronic conditions that often require special handling and administration and may require careful oversight to manage severe adverse effects and dosage adjustments. Contemporary topics such as new RSV treatments and vaccines, safety issues associated with the glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) agonists, novel orphan drugs, biosimilars, and more. Expanded content on new and emerging gene therapies. Updates to a variety of vaccine monographs including the pneumococcal, rabies, and respiratory syncytial virus vaccinesExpanded content on off-label uses and long-term clinical data, MedWatch alerts, Standardize4Safety information, REMS data, and focused FDA updates for various medications. New content on over 175 new molecular entities (NMEs) or new therapeutic biological products and substantive revisions on approximately 190 medications.
Videos
Anatomy
Interactive Resource:
Anatomy Books
| General Anatomy | Specialized Anatomy |
|---|---|
| Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy | Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text |
| Gray's Anatomy | Atlas of Pelvic Anatomy and Gynecologic Surgery |
| Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy | McMinn's Color Atlas of Lower Limb Anatomy |
| Sobotta Atlas of Anatomy | Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches |
| Sectional Anatomy by MRI and CT |
This database has the following anatomy textbooks:
Point of Care
A point-of-care tool provides a summary of evidence-based research and reference resources that a clinician can use immediately at the point-of-care with a patient. Many of these tools are considered easy to use, efficient, providing graded levels of evidence and citations back to the original research studies, systematic reviews, or clinical practice guidelines. Additionally, usually these tools are continually/periodically updated with newly published evidence.
"Along with an expansive array of point-of-care and education activities, more than 8,000 authors and editors have published nearly 10,000 peer-reviewed PubMed-indexed articles on virtually every clinical topic in health care. Within StatPearls' suite of educational resources" are practice certification exams including for USMLE Step 1, Step 2, and Step 3.
StatPearls may also be found on the NIH bookshelf where all the articles may be accessed. The difference is that you will not have the advanced navigation and educational resources described above in the StatPearls subscription database.
On the homepage of ClinicalKey, click on the link for "Clinical Overviews." Then search or browse for the disease or condition.
What is the biopsychosocial model of medical care?
George Libman Engel, M.D. (1913-1999) described his biopsychosocial model of medical care as one that offered a holistic alternative to the usual practice. He sought to "reverse the dehumanization of medicine and disempowerment of patients." He felt that "clinicians must attend simultaneously to the biological, psychological, and social dimensions of illness."
Borrell-Carrio F, Suchman AL, Epstein RM. The biopsychosocial model 25 year later: principles, practice, and scientific inquiry. Ann Fam Med. 2004;2(6):576-582. doi: 10.1370/afm.245. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1466742/
Engel's original article introducing his biopsychosocial model:
Engel GL. The need for a new medical model: a challenge for biomedicine. Science. 1977;196(4286):129-36. doi:10.1126/science.847460. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/847460/
As you seek answers to your biopsychosocial learning objectives from your PILLARS cases, here are some useful databases in which to search on your topic. If you need or want to explore additional resources, go to the full listing of UT Libraries' databases.
Finding Books and Book Chapters:
Finding Journal Articles
In Biomedical Databases:
In Social Science Databases:
In Interdisciplinary Databases:
In Newspaper Databases:
Health Equity
Also check the "Biopsychosocial Resources" tab, for e-book and journal databases in which to search on health equity topics. Run searches using terms such as health equity, health equality, health inequity, health inequality, health disparities, healthcare inequity, healthcare equality, etc. Or use terms that are more specific to your particular topic, for example: ("African American" OR Black) AND (health equity OR healthcare equity OR health inequity OR healthcare inequity).
Source: Raphael JL, Lopez MA. Disparities in child health. In Disparities in Child Health: A Solutions-Based Approach, pp. 1-10. Cham: Springer. 2018.
Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity by
In the United States, some populations suffer from far greater disparities in health than others. Those disparities are caused not only by fundamental differences in health status across segments of the population, but also because of inequities in factors that impact health status, so-called determinants of health. Only part of an individual (TM)s health status depends on his or her behavior and choice; community-wide problems like poverty, unemployment, poor education, inadequate housing, poor public transportation, interpersonal violence, and decaying neighborhoods also contribute to health inequities, as well as the historic and ongoing interplay of structures, policies, and norms that shape lives. When these factors are not optimal in a community, it does not mean they are intractable: such inequities can be mitigated by social policies that can shape health in powerful ways. Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity seeks to delineate the causes of and the solutions to health inequities in the United States. This report focuses on what communities can do to promote health equity, what actions are needed by the many and varied stakeholders that are part of communities or support them, as well as the root causes and structural barriers that need to be overcome.
Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Context, Controversies, and Solutions by
The new second edition of this forward-thinking text goes beyond the discussion of health disparities to highlight the importance of health equity. As the new title suggests, Health Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Context, Controversies, and Solutions helps the reader understand key social justice issues relevant to health disparities with an eye to creating greater health equity ' taking the reader from the classroom to the real world to implement new solutions.
Disparities in Child Health: A Solutions-Based Approach by
This forward-looking resource shines needed light on--and offers realistic solutions for eliminating--health disparities affecting one of the most vulnerable populations: children. Its multilevel framework identifies sources of pediatric health inequities in developmental, societal, familial, financial, and service delivery contexts and sets out innovations for breaking down and addressing longstanding concerns. Plentiful opportunities are described for reducing gaps and promoting equity at various service platforms, from locally-based improvements to systemwide tech upgrades, that can be used as models for revamping larger health policy. And the authors' long-term perspective emphasizes screening, wellness care, early intervention, and prevention strategies to support young patients in the transitions between childhood, adolescence, and young adulthood. Included in this compact idea book: Disparities in child health: a review Quality of care in pediatrics and health disparities: the increasing role of quality improvement science Community health worker interventions Technology-based interventions to address pediatric health disparities Place-based strategies in promoting health equity Future directions for a solutions-based approach With its clear delineation of issues and priorities, and its workable recommendations for addressing them, Disparities in Child Health is a ready source of ideas and advocacy for practitioners and researchers in pediatrics, maternal and child health, and general practice/family medicine.
The Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities by
A growing body of knowledge has revealed the profound impact of the social determinants of health--the social, political, and economic factors apart from health care that influence health. The question is no longer if social factors are important influences on health, but rather how social factors operate and how to address them most effectively, efficiently, and equitably. Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities is a comprehensive resource for students and educators to understand the wide-ranging effects of social and political factors, including racism, on individual health. Drawing on Paula Braveman's seminal work in health equity, this volume explains how upstream drivers like law and policy are at the beginning of causal chains influencing health, and in particular how systemic issues like racism are core drivers of health outcomes. Each chapter examines how different social determinants of health--such as income, education, stress, work, and racism--are impacted by upstream social factors and how those factors influence health and health disparities through complex pathways. Chapters also include approaches for future practitioners and policymakers to most effectively activate health-promoting pathways while interrupting health-damaging ones. Complete with chapter summaries and discussion questions, Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities is the definitive classroom guide to understanding and addressing social disparities in health, particularly racial and socioeconomic disparities.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
