LibGuides: Medicine: Articles

Article Databases

Recommended Databases for Finding Biomedical Articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.

PubMed Tip: Find it@UT

Create and customize a My NCBI account.
1) Select My NCBI
2) Select NCBI Site Preferences
3) Under PubMed Preferences, select Outside Tool
4) Select F and scroll down to select Find it@UT
5) Scroll to the bottom of the page and SAVE
This will cause references to display the link whenever you are logged into your NCBI account.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.

ClinicalKey
Access is restricted to Dell Medical School students, staff, and faculty. To access ClinicalKey, enter "University of Texas at Austin" in the institution search box.

ALERT!!
If after logging in, you are sent through a continuing loop of being redirected to the institution login page, just click on the "ClinicalKey" logo in the upper left hand corner to get to the homepage of ClinicalKey where you can begin you searching/browsing for information. Sorry for the inconvenience!
more...less...
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of medical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey includes the full text of medical textbooks, medical journals, clinical practice guidelines, drug information and drug class overviews, procedure videos, comprehensive clinical topic summaries, patient education handouts in several languages, clinical calculators, and CME credits.

ClinicalKey personal account and app info

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Embase This link opens in a new window
1974 - present. Unlimited users.
Embase provides coverage of the biomedical literature, with over 31 million records from over 8,500 currently published journals, including over 7 million records and more than 3,000 journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Offers extensive coverage of searchable conference abstracts dating back to 2009. It currently indexes over 6,000 conferences covering ~350,000 conference abstracts each year. Embase uses Emtree, the Elsevier Life Science thesaurus: a hierarchically structured, controlled vocabulary for biomedicine and the related life sciences. It includes a range of terms for drugs, diseases, medical devices and essential life science concepts

Epistemonikos
Open access database for evidence-based clinical and health-policy decision making.
more...less...
"Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence."
"The identification of other types of evidence [besides systematic reviews] has not been completed yet, so Epistemonikos database should not be considered a comprehensive database of broad synthesis, primary studies or structured summaries."
Databases regularly screened for articles to be indexed in Epistemonikos include Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, PubMed, EMBASE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, LILACS, DARE, Campbell Collaboration, JBI, EPPI-Centre Evidence Library.

Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Search a wide variety of health and medical literature, including consumer health, healthcare administration, nursing, allied health, psychology, public health, as well as the MEDLINE database. It includes full-text access to evidence-based resources plus leading scholarly publications including The New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, The BMJ and Nature (publisher embargoes apply).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
MEDLINE (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
Corresponds in part to the following print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
1946-present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.

Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations. English abstracts available for more than 80% of the records.
TRIP This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited.
Updated monthly. Trip (Turning Research into Practice) searches evidence-based healthcare resources to support practice and care. It includes systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines, primary research from over 500 high impact journals, and patient information leaflets. Trip offers a PICO search function and aligns each result with its relevant place on the “Levels of Evidence” pyramid.

Recommended Databases for the Social Sciences

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
1966 (selected full text from 1993) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.

Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
1899 - Present. Unlimited.
Professionally indexed, the PsycTESTS® database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
Focused on a collection of instrumentation tools developed for research but not made commercially available, PsycTESTS helps researchers easily find scales and measures for their own use. PsycTESTS is an indispensable resource for researchers looking to conduct, create, or measure research in multiple fields of study.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1895 - present. Unlimited.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.

Recommended Interdisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
SAGE Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides access to over 1000 peer-reviewed, full-text journals published by SAGE and covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Many of the journals are published on behalf of scholarly and professional societies. Due to our purchase of backfile content along with SAGE Premier, many journals should be available from the first volume to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Global Index Medicus
Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Includes:
*African Index Medicus
*Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
*Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region
*Latin American and the Caribbean Literature on Health Sciences
*Western Pacific Region Index Medicus
Europe PMC
"Europe PMC is hosted by EMBL’s European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), an international, innovative and interdisciplinary research organisation which aims to make the world’s public biological data freely available to the scientific community. Europe PMC is partnered with PubMed Central (PMC), and endorsed and supported by a group of international science funders as their repository of choice."
SciELO
Database of science, technology, and medicine open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
Lancet Global Health Hub
The Lancet's global health content in one location.

PAIS This link opens in a new window
1915 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
Medic Latina This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Medic Latina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. Provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed Spanish language medical journals. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.

What are Preprints?

A preprint is the version of a research paper prior to peer review, formatting, copy editing, and acceptance by a journal for publication. Preprints are often deposited into preprint servers or online repositories where they are free for anyone to access. Preprints of medical articles may be found in the following preprint servers:

bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
Preprints in bioscience
medRxiv This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
An archive for the health sciences launched in 2019.
OSF Preprints This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
Portal to preprints in a variety of subjects
Preprints This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
Portal to preprints in a variety of subjects.
Research Square This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
A multidisciplinary preprints platform

SSRN. MedRN: The Medical Research Network
Part of the Elsevier/SSRN repository system
more...less...
The Medical Research Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in medicine in our research community, speeding up dissemination and providing the scientific community access to groundbreaking working papers, early-stage research, clinical research, and even peer reviewed or published journal articles. SSRN provides the opportunity to share different outputs of research such as preliminary or exploratory investigations, book chapters, PhD dissertations, course and teaching materials, presentations, and posters among others.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

In Web of Science, choose the Preprint Citation Index in the menu of databases.

Choose "Preprint Citation Index" in the Web of Science databases menu

Here are some platforms that not only feature preprints, but also solicit peer review from the global community of peers: