For week 2 of the COVID-19 elective, you will be researching a particular country and its response to the pandemic. This guide provides various useful resources for your research. This website only contains a selection of resources, but you will also likely discover others that provide you with useful information.
Explore UT LIbraries' collection:
1. Databases - Using the menus at the top of the databases' homepage to filter by subject area or by type of resources. Especially useful ones include:
2. Books - Use the UT Libraries catalog to search for books. Use the left panel of the results page to filter to eBooks.
3. Google - use site searching to find good quality resources - i.e. site:.edu, site:.gov, site:.int, site:.org, for example. Or if you are looking for newspaper articles, you can just do a regular search in order to get the .com websites.
4. Google Scholar - search for scholarly articles and preprints. Set up Google Scholar with the "View it@ UT" button. See instructions on the UT Libraries Google Scholar guide.
Library guides by UT Librarians containing links to helpful resources for country research:
Websites
Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health by
The Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health is the ultimate resource on the subject of public health and epidemiology. The sixth edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, offering a global and comprehensive perspective on wide-ranging public health needs and priorities in modern health care. The sixth edition, available both in print and online, retains its approach of dividing the complex, dynamic subject of public health into three topics. 'The Scope of Public Health' discusses the development of the discipline, determinants of health and disease, public health policies, and law and ethics. Next, the textbook focuses on 'The Methods of Public Health,' including the main science behind the discipline - epidemiology. Finally, 'The Practice of Public Health' examines specific public health problems and the options for prevention and control. As well as identifying these issues by system or disease, there is also an awareness of the unique needs of particular population groups. New topics in this edition include: Climate change, genetic testing and epidemiology; new methods for measuring the burden of disease; life course approaches to epidemiology, behavioural economics; and physical activity, health and wellbeing. Two new editors, Quarraisha Abdool Karim (South Africa) and Chorh Chuan Tan (Singapore), join the established editor team of Roger Detels (USA), and Martin Gulliford (UK), representing a truly global outlook. The contributors are experts who have been drawn from around the world, offering perspectives from vastly different health systems with ranging public health needs and priorities. The Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health remains the most comprehensive, accessible text in the field, and is an essential reference for students and practitioners in public health and epidemiology.
Global Health: Diseases, Programs, Systems and Policies by
Global Health: Diseases, Programs, Systems, and Policies, Fourth Edition brings together contributions from the world's leading authorities into a single comprehensive text. It thoroughly examines the wide range of global health challenges facing low- and middle-income countries today and the various approaches nations adopt to deal with them. These challenges include measurement of health status, infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, nutrition, reproductive health, global environmental health, and complex emergencies. The book also explores the financing and management of emerging health systems as well as the roles of nation states, international agencies, the private sector, and nongovernmental organizations in promoting health. Designed for graduate-level students, this text provides an expansive view of today's issues and challenges in global health and be an invaluable resource in the years to come. Updated throughout to reflect new and emerging issues, the Fourth Edition offers: * Five new chapters: Global Health, Human Rights and Ethics; Public Health Infrastructure; Innovation, Technology, and Design; International Trade and Health; and Global Health Governance and Diplomacy * Contributions from leading experts in their fields in both new and existing chapters *Case studies throughout the text provide concrete examples of key points and concepts in each chapter.
World Health Systems by
Your all-in-one companion for health personnel World Health Systems details different health systems, including their related health insurance and drug supply systems, in various parts of the world with both macro- and micro- perspectives. The book is arranged in five parts: the first part presents, from multidisciplinary perspectives, outlines of various health systems throughout the world, as well as current trends in the development and reform of world health systems. The second and third parts expound on the health systems in developed countries, discussing the government's role in the health service market and basic policies on medication administration and expenses, before analyzing the health systems of Britain, Canada, Australia, Sweden, Germany, France, Japan, Poland, USA, Singapore, Hongkong (China), and Taiwan (China). The fourth and fifth parts discuss health systems in less developed countries and areas, typically the BRICS and other countries in Asia (Thailand, Vietnam, the Philippines, Armenia, and Kyrghyzstan), Africa (Egypt, Morocco), Europe (Hungary, Czech Republic, and Bulgaria) and South America (Cuba, Chile, and Mexico), summarizing their past experiences, while making assessments of their current efforts to shed light on future developments. Details a variety of health systems throughout the world Compares their fundamental features and characteristics Discusses their respective strengths and shortcomings Provides insight from an author who holds multiple impressive titles in the health sector Public health professionals and academics alike will want to add World Health Systems to their library.
Find pages about each country on the United States CDC website:
Find pages about each country and region on the WHO website. Click on "Countries" and look at regional or specific country pages.
Public Health Disasters: A Global Ethical Framework by
This book presents the first critical examination of the overlapping ethical and pragmatic issues surrounding disasters, global bioethics, and public health ethics. These issues are elucidated under the rubric: Public health disasters. Drawing on an approach that reckons with microbial, existential and anthropological realities, the book develops a relational framework that can help address the local and transnational dynamics of the ethical issues engendered by public health disasters. The book also charts some of the critical roles that relevant local and transnational stakeholders may play in translating the proposed global ethical framework from the sphere of concept to the arena of action. This title is of immense benefit for bioethics scholars, public and global health policy experts, as well as graduate students working in the area of global health, public health ethics and disaster bioethics.
Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics by
The Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics caters to the need for a comprehensive overview and systematic treatment of all pertinent new topics and issues in the emerging global bioethics debate. It provides descriptions and analysis of a vast range of important new issues from a truly global perspective and with a cross-cultural approach.
Public Health Ethics and Social Determinants of Health by
This progressive resource places concepts of social determinants of health in the larger contexts of contemporary health ethics and the evolution of social reform. It provides needed analysis of the larger causes behind the immediate causes of illness and epidemics, particularly injustice, systemic inequities, and the cumulative effect of compound disadvantages. This moral approach to collective and individual responsibilities--on the part of practitioners as well as the public--supports a sound blueprint for finding answers to longstanding global and local concerns. Readers are challenged to recognize the critical role of social determinants to their perception of health issues, controversies, and possibilities as the book: · Details the epidemiologic evidence regarding social determinants of health. · Key ethical implications of the evidence regarding social determinants of health. · Considers the role of risky health behaviors in determining population health outcomes. · Addresses ethical questions of priority-setting at the policy and practice levels. · Translates social determinants of health into health policy goals. Half textbook, half monograph, Public Health Ethics and the Social Determinants of Health Is geared toward students in MPH programs as well as public health professionals in diverse contexts such as local health departments and non-profit organizations. It informs public health scientists and scholars, and can also serve as an introductory text for students in public health ethics, or as part of a general applied ethics course.
Managing the Global Health Response to Epidemics by
Recent epidemics have prompted large-scale international interventions, aimed at mitigating the spread of disease in a globalized world. During a crisis, however, global health actions - including planning and organizing, communicating about risk, and cost-benefit evaluations - aren't usually part of a single, integrated global response. Arguing that an uncoordinated approach can be challenged by local conditions and expectations, generating a wide range of resistance and difficulties, this volume provides important insights for future outbreak management and global health governance. Drawing on experiences with A(H1N1) and Ebola virus disease, the book is divided into three parts looking at how responses to global health crises have developed, lessons learned from particular pandemics and the ethical implications of our management of them. Individual chapters focus on, among other issues, financing, cost-benefit analysis, matrix management, risk communication and organizational strategies. Taking a social science perspective, this valuable book outlines the current state of global health emergency responses and explores ways in which they can be improved. It is a useful read for academics and practitioners interested in global health, the sociology of health and illness, health economics and emergency management.
Global Pandemic Threats: a Reference Handbook by
This book offers an accessible reference on epidemic and pandemic diseases that provides background information and history, explains why pandemics are a newly emerging threat, identifies the difficulties in coping with them, and provides hope in the form of modern medicine. * Provides readers an understanding and appreciation of the extent of the devastation of pandemic diseases of the past centuries * Shows how the pioneers of modern medicine conquered contagious diseases of the past that had been scourges in human history * Documents and explains the development of newly emerging viral diseases that have the potential of becoming pandemic outbreaks that kill millions * Employs primary documents ranging from data from reports from the CDC and WHO to firsthand accounts of past pandemics and their deadly impact
Security and Public Health: Pandemics and Politics in the Contemporary world by
For most Western governments, defending against the threat of infectious disease is now an accepted security priority. Deciding what resources and policies to put in place to protect populations from pandemics, however, involves difficult political choices. How can we get these decisions right? And what are we prepared to sacrifice to achieve better health security? In this book, Simon Rushton explores the politics of pandemics in the contemporary world. Looking back over three decades of public health, he traces national and international efforts to tackle infectious disease, focusing in-depth on three core areas in which securitization has been particularly successful: rapidly spreading pandemic diseases, HIV/AIDS and man-made pathogenic threats, such as biological weapons. Three central problems raised by common responses to disease as a security threat are then examined: the impact upon individuals and civil liberties; the tendency to treat the symptoms and not the underlying causes of disease outbreaks; and the limited range of diseases deemed worthy of global attention and action. Arguing against a tendency to treat global health security as a technical challenge, the book stresses the need for a vibrant, and even confrontational, political engagement around the implications of securitizing public health.
Pandemics and Polarization: Implications of Partisan Budgeting for Responding to Public Health Emergencies by
Partisan divisions over policy in the U.S. Congress and rising disease threats put millions of Americans at risk. The Zika public health emergency is used to illustrate the key functions of coordination, providing countermeasures, and engaging in disease surveillance which the government must engage in during such an emergency. The author looks at how the standoff over Zika funding negatively affected the government's response within federal agencies, as well as at the state and local level. Also examined in the book are serious threats still on the horizon that are expected to require strong government action in the future. Possible policies to avoid future gridlock are considered.
Pandemics, Publics, and Politics by
Pandemics are potentially very destructive phenomena, and for that reason, they both fascinate and frighten us. And because they are shot through with uncertainty, they often become sites of contestation and conflict. This book presents research on the 2009 pandemic and other public health crises in an attempt to describe and analyze the distinctive challenges that such diseases pose today. Thanks to vaccines, more reliable provision of medical services, more effective means of communication, and a more educated public, some argue we will not see a new Black Plague - or even Spanish Flu - in our time. Today we face new challenges, however, which can both enable diseases to reach pandemic scales and affect our ability to enact an appropriate response. Those include fragmentation of media, tribalization of "knowledge regimes," the increasingly troubled status of scientific and political expertise, growing cross-continental mobility, as well as the globalization and commercialization of pandemic response systems. These distinctive complexities make the need to stage public action in response to pandemics and other public health crises a crucial problem, on which thousands of human lives hinge. This volume consists of a handful of social science and humanities studies of precisely such complexities, and thus offers a much-needed supplement to existing research on pandemics and pandemic response.
UT Library Guides
UT LIbraries' Databases
Global Health News
News from Specific Countries
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
