Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries


EBM Cycle

EBM Cycle

The EBM cycle consists of 5 steps:

EBM Cycle: Assess, Ask, Acquire, Appraise, Apply


Some sources also reference an additional step in the EBM cycle. According to Melynk et al., step zero is "cultivating a spirit of inquiry." 1  Whether you are seeking answers to a particular patient problem or questioning a common practice in the hospital or clinical setting, ongoing curiosity and a desire to improve care are attitudes that propel practitioners along the EBM cycle.


1. Melnyk BM, Fineout-Overholt E, Stillwell SB, Williamson KM. Igniting a spirit of inquiry: An essential foundation for evidence-based practice. 2009;109(11):49-52.


Next: Ask the Question 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.