Looking for a different psychiatry journal? Enter a keyword or journal title here:
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by
The DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Based closely on the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, it offers a rich selection of perspectives in an easy-to-use format. The author, an expert on psychiatric diagnosis and assessment, recognizes that psychological distress cannot be reduced to a rubric. The clinician must have empathy, listening skills, the ability to identify symptoms and contextualize them, and a familiarity with the body of knowledge represented by DSM-5®. The handbook brings these critical skills together in a well-written, accessible, and reader-friendly volume that is grounded in the latest research and standard of practice. The handbook offers an assortment of approaches to differential diagnosis, and a number of features designed to benefit clinicians in the exam room, including: * A six-step framework for diagnosing patients that proceeds from determining if the symptom is real to establishing the boundary between disorder and normality, with intermediary steps to rule out substance etiology and medical conditions, as well as to determine the primary disorder and to differentiate adjustment disorders from other mental disorders.* Twenty-nine symptom-oriented decision trees that provide detailed decision points to facilitate the process of generating the differential diagnosis based on the presenting symptoms and eliminate formulating premature conclusions.* Sixty-six differential diagnosis tables, one for each of the most important DSM-5® disorders, cross-referenced with the terminal branches of the decision trees presented in the handbook to provide a head-to-head comparison of each disorder, highlighting similarities and differences.* The DSM-5® classification, to facilitate coding and to provide an overview of all of the DSM-5® diagnoses that must be considered in formulating a differential diagnosis.* Alphabetical indexes of the decision trees and differential diagnosis tables to help readers readily locate desired material. DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing DSM-5® disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the differential diagnosis of individual patients. The handbook is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5® collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession.
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by
DSM-5® Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5®, bringing DSM-5® alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5® and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: * All cases are original and previously unpublished, making for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the disorder described in the case. For ease in identifying specific cases, case titles are clinically relevant, based on the primary complaint, and identify the DSM-5® diagnosis described.* Each case adheres to a consistent format developed by the editors to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Features may include history of present illness, family psychiatric history, medical history, mental status exam results, DSM-5® diagnostic features, lab and physical findings, and a summary.* A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment. This approach is especially helpful since few cases in real-life are unambiguous.* Easy-to-use appendixes enable readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5® diagnosis.* The book is designed to serve as a companion text in a variety of contexts -- from abnormal psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs. In addition, those studying for specialty examinations will find reviewing the cases very useful. Fascinating, practical, and instructive, DSM-5® Clinical Cases succeeds in bringing the DSM-5® to the examining room.
Integrating Behavioral Health and Primary Care by
Integrated care incorporates behavioral and physical health services into primary care and specialty medical environments. Integrated care models are patient-centered; delivered by teams of medical professionals, utilize care coordination, and a population-based approach. This book is practical, office-based, and comfortably accessible to students, residents, faculty, and all mental health professionals, primary care and medical specialists. We examine and recommend applying collaborative care and other existing models of integrated care based on existing literature. When there is no literature supporting a specific approach, our experts offer their ideas and take an aspirational approach about how to manage and treat specific behavioral disorder or problems We assume the use of integrated team staffing including a primary care or specialist provider(s), front desk staff, medical assistant(s), nurse(s), nurse practitioners, behavioral health specialist(s), health coaches, consulting psychiatrist, and care coordinator(s)/manager(s).
Looking for a different psychiatry book? Enter a keyword or book title here:
Additional resources may be found in the Clinical Practices Guidelines section of the Dell Medical School Library website.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
