LibGuides: Medicine: Point-of-Care Tools

Point-of-Care Tools

UpToDate
This point-of-care tool is only available to students, faculty, and staff of Dell Medical School. For those in other health professions programs at UT Austin, use one of the other tools listed on this page.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
See QUICK MEDICAL DIAGNOSIS AND TREATMENT (QMDT) in the Quick Reference menu.
Updated regularly. A collection of over 80 leading medical textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, patient education materials, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests and an integrated drug database. AccessMedicine also features self-assessment tools, Lange Case Files series, and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review. Featured textbooks include: Harrison’s Online, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Create a free My Access account while logged in to access content without additional logins required. My Access also enables creation and saving of practice tests, saving and downloading images.

AHRQ. Evidence-Based Practice Center Reports
more...less...
"These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics."
ClinicalKey
Access is restricted to Dell Medical School students, staff, and faculty. To access ClinicalKey, view the following login instructions:
more...less...
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of medical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey includes the full text of medical textbooks, medical journals, clinical practice guidelines, drug information and drug class overviews, procedure videos, comprehensive clinical topic summaries, patient education handouts in several languages, clinical calculators, and CME credits.

ClinicalKey Login Instructions

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Evidence-based point-of-care information for clinicians, organized by disease state. DynaMed Plus includes ICD9/ICD10 codes, images, Micromedex drug content, and access from electronic health records. A mobile app is available to users who sign up for a personal account.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 25 users.
EE+ is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professional’s clinical workflows. This clinical was developed for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals on the front line of patient care. EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that accurately grades each recommendation’s merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature.

Merck Manual, Professional Edition
more...less...
This manual is "the product of a collaboration between hundreds of medical experts worldwide, an independent editorial board of peer reviewers, and our editorial staff of physicians and professional medical writers. For over 100 years, we have had complete editorial independence to present the best current thinking regarding medical diagnosis and treatment." Content is added/updated continually.

StatPearls This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
StatPearls from STAT!Ref is a high-quality, effective and powerful board review tool that can be used anytime and anywhere via a phone, tablet or computer. Currently the Library has access to the following:
- Family Medicine
- Critical Care Nursing
- NCLEX RN
- NAPLEX for the Pharmacy program
- USMLE Step exams
Open the database and follow the instructions to register. Users may register using @austin.utexas.edu, @mail.nur.utexas.edu, or @utexas.edu email accounts.

"Along with an expansive array of point-of-care and education activities, more than 8,000 authors and editors have published nearly 10,000 peer-reviewed PubMed-indexed articles on virtually every clinical topic in health care."

StatPearls may also be found on the NIH bookshelf where all the articles may be accessed. The difference is that you will not have the advanced navigation and educational resources described above in the StatPearls subscription database.

Lange Current Diagnosis & Treatment Series

These books are available in the AccessMedicine database in the following clinical areas:

Cardiology "Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Cardiology is designed to be a quick reference source in the clinic or on the ward for the experienced physician. Cardiology fellows will find that it is an excellent review for Board examinations. Also, students and residents will find it useful to review the essentials of specific conditions and to check the current references included in each section for further study."
Emergency Medicine "Current Emergency Diagnosis & Treatment, eighth edition, is designed to present concise, easy-to-read, practical information on the diagnosis and treatment of a wide spectrum of conditions that present to the emergency department. The chapters emphasize the immediate management of life-threatening problems then present the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders."
Family Medicine "The Fifth Edition of Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Family Medicine is a comprehensive, single source reference for practicing family physicians and trainees delivering primary care in a continuity environment for all patients across the lifespan. The text is organized according to the developmental lifespan beginning with infancy, childhood, and adolescence, including a focus on the reproductive years, and progressing through adulthood and the mature, senior years."
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy "The third edition of Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy has information about disorders that includes, but is not limited to, Barrett esophagus, eosinophilic esophagitis, esophageal motility disorders, inflammatory bowel disease, acute pancreatitis (revised Atlanta Guidelines), autoimmune pancreatitis, chronic hepatitis B, chronic hepatitis C (there is now an effective treatment), and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease."
Geriatrics "Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics provides a framework for using the functional and cognitive status, prognosis, and social context of patients to guide diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions. In this edition, authors apply the principles of geriatric medicine, in different care settings to address common clinical scenarios and common geriatric conditions encountered by clinicians in the care of older adults."
Nephrology & Hypertension "Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Nephrology & Hypertension is a concise yet comprehensive source of up-to-date information. For medical students, it can serve as an authoritative introduction to the specialty of nephrology and an excellent resource for reference and review. Residents in internal medicine (and other specialties) and most especially, nephrology fellows in training, will appreciate the detailed descriptions of diseases and diagnostic and therapeutic procedures..."
Obstetrics & Gynecology "Not only is the book designed for medical students and residents, but the practicing physician will find this a practical guide to management of common and uncommon conditions. From the preface of the 11th edition, “this is a single source reference for practitioners focusing on practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management.” This book covers more than 1000 diseases in a comprehensive fashion."
Occupational & Environmental Medicine "The Fifth Edition of Current Occupational & Environmental Medicine continues to serve as a concise yet comprehensive resource for health care professionals in all specialties who diagnose and treat occupational and environmental injuries and illnesses."
Orthopedics "Current Diagnosis and Treatment in Orthopedics is the Fifth Edition of the Orthopaedic Surgery contribution to the Lange Current Series of books. It is intended to fill a need for a ready source of up-to-date information on disorders and diseases treated by orthopedic surgeons and related physicians."
Otolaryngology "Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery is a unique subspecialty in medicine that deals with medical and surgical management of disorders affecting the ear, nose, throat, and the neck; the care of the senses including smell, taste, balance, and hearing falls under its domain. As a specialty, it interfaces with other medical and surgical subspecialties including allergy and immunology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, gerontology, hematology, neurology, neurosurgery, oncology, ophthalmology, pediatrics, plastic and reconstructive surgery, pulmonology, radiation oncology, rehabilitation medicine, rheumatology, and thoracic surgery among others. Further, the specialty encompasses the care of the young and the old, man and woman, as well as benign and malignant diseases."
Pediatrics "The 25th edition of Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics (CDTP) features practical, up-to-date, well-referenced information on the care of children from birth through infancy and adolescence. CDTP emphasizes the clinical aspects of pediatric care while also covering important underlying principles. CDTP provides a guide to diagnosis, understanding, and treatment of the medical problems of all pediatric patients in an easy-to-use and readable format."
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation "This text offers insight into the complex specialty of physical medicine and rehabilitation. The field is diverse and dynamic. The book presents a practical approach to the PM&R patient, discusses common pathologies seen, and reviews complications that may present. We emphasize the clinical aspects of PM&R relying on evidence-based medicine. Diagnostic and therapeutic procedures performed by the physiatrist are reviewed, such as electrodiagnostics, musculoskeletal ultrasound, and spine and joint injections."
Primary Care "urrent Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2020 is intended for all clinicians interested in updated, evidence-based guidelines for primary care topics in both the ambulatory and hospital settings. This handy reference consolidates information from nationally recognized medical associations and government agencies into concise recommendations and guidelines of virtually all ambulatory care topics. This book is organized into topics related to disease screening, disease prevention, and disease management, and further subdivided into organ systems, for quick reference to the evaluation and treatment of the most common primary care disorders."
Psychiatry
Rheumatology "Among the new chapters in the third edition are those addressing IgG4-related disease, Whipple disease, and Paget disease. In acknowledgment of the growing attention to the lung in rheumatic diseases, we have added chapters on interstitial lung disease and pulmonary hypertension. As a nod to the increasing utility of imaging in the practice of rheumatology, we have added thorough chapters on both musculoskeletal magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and ultrasound."
Sexually Transmitted Diseases "Leading experts in medicine, surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, and pediatrics have joined together to create this first edition to further the appropriate and timely diagnosis and treatment of sexually transmitted diseases. Highlights of this edition include current U.S. STD and HIV screening guidelines, syndromic-based evaluations and rapid point-of-care tests, new evidence of the role of certain infections like Mycoplasma genitalium, and the renewed recognition of old diseases like lymphogranuloma venereum. Attention should be paid to chapters that focus on preventionrisk-reduction counseling and partner notificationwhich can enable the clinician to serve in his or her larger role as a potential agent of individual change and public health advocate. Lastly, recognizing the unique role of behavior and development in the risk and management of STDs, we have included specific chapters dedicated to special populations."
Surgery "Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Surgery is a ready source of information about diseases managed by surgeons. Like other books in this Lange series, it emphasizes quick recall of major diagnostic features and brief descriptions of disease processes, followed by approaches for definitive diagnosis and treatment. Epidemiology, pathophysiology, and pathology are discussed to the extent that they contribute to the ultimate purpose of the book, which is guidance for patient care. About one-third of the book is focused on general medical and surgical topics important in the management of all patients."

Conn's Current Therapy 2023 by Rick D. Kellerman (Editor); David P. Rakel (Editor) Trusted by clinicians for more than 75 years, Conn's Current Therapy presents today's evidence-based information along with the personal experience and discernment of expert physicians. The 2023 edition is an excellent resource for a wide range of healthcare professionals, including primary care, subspecialists, and allied health, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format. Nearly 350 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art content in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options.   Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions.   Includes new chapters on leg edema and venous stasis, multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C), monoclonal antibodies, and genetic testing.  Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice.    Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors and two new associate editors, Drs. Joel J. Heidelbaugh and Ernestine M. Lee, who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment.   Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs.   Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 
ISBN: 9780443105616
Publication Date: 2022-12-22