LibGuides: Medicine: Health and Medical Law

Health and Medical Law

Legal Databases

Additional legal databases can be found on the UT Libraries list of databases.

Some legal databases such as Westlaw are only available to non-law students, staff, and faculty, as well as the general public, by visiting the University of Texas Tarlton Law Library. See the list of databases to which the Tarlton Law Library subscribes here. For visitor information and policies, contact the Law Library at 512-471-7726.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides a collection of legal periodicals, reproducing the original image of each article. Includes over 1,200 law review journals containing more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes.
Coverage begins from the first issue of each journal to roughly one year prior to the current year.
All journal content is in PDF format, so the pages appear just as they do in the printed version of the journal. Additionally, charts, graphs, photographs and similar non-text items are reproduced as they originally appeared in print.
Also provides access to the following:
- Federal Register
- Statutes at Large (the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress, browseable by volume, popular name or treaty)
- U.S. Supreme Court Library
Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.

Restricted to current UT students, faculty and staff. Not available to Official UT Retirees
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
1965 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Offers full text for nearly 250 international law journals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.